Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
582 324 56
Connect ID #
582 324 56
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

JL Audio M400/4

4-channel marine amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98271

JL Audio M400/4

JL Audio M400/4

4-channel marine amplifier — 75 watts RMS x 4

MFR # 98271

36 reviews
View this product

JL Audio M400/4

Edward from Laurel Hollow, NY on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this unit from the Scratch and Dent section and it was perfect. Very happy with the unit.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Columbia, SC on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install and exactly the performance you expect from JL Audio

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Jl amp

Alvaro from Homestead, FL on 9/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small and slim!

Pros: Minimal space

Cons: Color

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good amp, good service

Ed from Alexandria, VA on 6/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the amplifier as well as the service i received from both Crutchfield and JL (trouble-shooting my old amp). Install in the boat was easy and sounds great as expected.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

John from Longwood, FL on 5/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

We installed this with a fusion head unit and M3 6.5's. On a sportsman masters 205. Amazing sounds with out a sub. This amp woke these speakers up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Hollywood, FL on 10/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very reliable and my go to for small installs that want big bang for there bucks.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Size matters

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 10/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Powerful amp wrapped into a small package

Pros: Small in size

Cons: Too much amp for 4 JL M3 6"

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Aiea, HI on 8/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid little amp. Good sound and power for its ratings.

Pros:

Cons: None,so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Owensville, IN on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with the amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great all around amp! Cant go wrong it!

Drew from Indiana on 5/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was blown away when I first hooked this amp up in my boat! I adjusted the gain halfway and it was so loud I had to turn it back down to only a quarter turn. I left it there all summer and it was plenty loud with crisp, clear sound. I ran 4 channels for the speakers for most of the summer and then decided to run 3 channels with a subwoofer the last couple of weeks. I was not disappointed. The only thing that could make this amp better would be, if they included the wired remote to adjust the gain. Its a real pain in the butt to take off the plate with the allen wrench to adjust it a little bit. But That is the only thing I am not a fan of and I am just a little picky when it comes to easy access and accessibility. Besides that, the amp works just as it was intended and has plenty of power for what I need. I am looking forward to another awesome summer on the boat with this bad amp powering my system! 10/10 Will buy again!

Pros: Small and compact, yet still powerful.

Cons: Need to use an allen wrench to remove plate to adjust the gain.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Wade from Chesapeake, VA on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Super clean sound that you would expect from JL and couldn't be easier to install. Very pleased and can't wait to crank it up on the River this summer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Salisbury, MA on 4/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice amp

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Orange Beach, AL on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Pinckney, MI on 9/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound is great. Replaced Polk Audio PA660's. The JL's are much better quality and sound. I'm looking to buy another in spring 2021.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Defective

Crutchfield customer from Galt, CA on 9/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I must have gotten a defective amp. One of the speaker clips that compresses the speaker wire to hold it in kept falling off so I had to completely removed the amp to put it back in. The second time trying to tighten the speaker wire the clip fell out again. Without the clip there's no way to keep the speaker wire in place. Will be contacting Crutchfield to get a replacement or refund.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/16/2020
This customer contacted our Customer Support team and we sent out a replacement right away. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Rockaway, NJ on 8/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed this amp with 4 M3 speakers on my boat and the sound is awesome!

Pros: Great sound and easy install

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Company

Crutchfield customer from Miami, FL on 8/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm fortune to have found such a great company that provides great products with exceptional customer service. Couldn't be more pleased. Thank you.

Pros: Product and Customer service

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Mukwonago, WI on 5/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems nice quality but have not yet installed. Expecting great things however hopefully my dreams become reality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Signal Mountain, TN on 8/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great unit. Very impressed with the sound quality and build quality.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Angleton, TX on 7/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just installed this along with 4 of their speakers. Loved the way you tuned the amp to the head unit

Pros: Quality product excellent sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Summerville, SC on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This amp is awesome! I hooked up to JL 8.8's with this amp and it's sounds great and clear!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio Marine Amps are the best in the business!!!

Brian from Murfreesboro, TN on 4/8/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Let me first off and say that Crutchfield is awesome!. I originally bought 2, Fusion marine amplifiers for my set-up. When I got them in the mail, I realized they were way more powerful than my Fusion 6" speakers could handle. Talked with Crutchfield and explained my situation and requirements. No problem, they emailed me a return label within minutes and by the end of the day, they went ahead and sent me 2 of these amps. Customer service is outstanding!!! I installed these amps. Each amp is powering 4 Fusion MS-FR6022 speakers. I will tell you the sound quality is amazing. These amps push my speakers nice and loud, with no distortion. I blasted my music for hours and still had plenty of battery left over. Prior to my system redo, I had 2 Rockford Fosgate M400-4D (which I did not buy from here) and they were garbage. Within months, both of them started to have channels go out. Sound quality diminished. I cannot even begin to tell you the difference between Rockford Fosgate and JL Audio. Yes, you will pay for the Jl Audios, but save yourself a ton of problems and headaches in the future. I have no doubt that if I have any problem with these amps, between Crutchfield and JL Audio, it will be taken care of. Thank you again

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Product...DUH ITS JL!

Andrew from Lexington, SC on 9/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Big things definitely come in small packages when it comes to this M400/4. I'm powering 4 JL M7.7's on my side by side and this amp rocks those speakers and has handled att the abuse of the trails and mud. I will most definitely be purchasing another in the future for the wife's rig.

Pros: Love the compact size of this amp. Great power and easily adjustable.

Cons: I wish it had the pig tail like it little brother the M280/4

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Can't be Topped for Marine Application

John from Orange, CT on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clearest Amp I have ever owned! I have never skimped on my amps but this Marine amp is the best I have ever heard teamed with JL speakers, Blows my old Wetsounds system away.

Pros: Huge output at a low voltage input. Construction Quality is great, very impressive. Plainly explained, well illustrated directions.

Cons: You get what you pay for, do it one cry once and enjoy the best for life!

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Michael from Ste Genevieve, MO on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very powerful and compact. Easy to install! I replaced my old M4300's with 2 new technology M400/4's

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Plenty of power

Brad from Canyon Lake, TX on 5/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

JL quality. Compact and performs well. Paired with M700/5 with remote bass control. Marine rating definitely needed for the boat. Powering 4 tower speakers bridges off the M400/4. Have to turn down the gain, they are so loud!

Pros: Compact and quality

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Crutchfield customer from Wimberley, TX on 5/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice Amp sounds good, best of all has a small footprint for boat mounting

Pros: Small size,with plenty of power

Cons: Not waterproof

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Les C from Prior Lake, MN on 5/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Small, compact, powerful, good design

Pros: Small and compact but still has all the power you need

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great sound through all volume ranges

Doug from Petaluma, CA on 4/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought the JL Audio M400/4 amp for my 2017 Harley Davidson Road king with a full fairing, I replaced a Rockford Fosgate PBR300/4Amp that was clipping and I was not happy with it's performance. Memo a sales associate with Crutchfield recommended it to me. I rewired the complete radio system with my new amp, It performs beautifully at all volume ranges. It is truly worth the time and money to use this amp. If you want a great sound I highly recommend this for your Harley.

Pros: Outstanding performance clean installation WOW!

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Powerful little amp.

Bill from Chambersburg, PA on 7/9/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This a smokin little amp ! Incredibly small yet powerful, very flexible in the way amp can be set up. Clean detailed music when matched to quality speakers like JL MX series marine. Amp seems expensive but worth the price in terms of quality and music reproduction.

Pros: Sound quality and flexibility.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4

Stephen from Taylorsville, NC on 7/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only had my new system a week but WOW, sounds great. JL is a leader in marine sound technology and the best part ,made in USA. I'm going to add their 8'' subwoffer to my system.

Pros: Extremely well made and out performs my expectation .

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

JL Audio M400/4 INCREDIBLE CLARITY

Joe from Lenoir city, TN on 3/6/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation, the unit will handle just about any input signal including line out from the stereo unit. The wire terminations are very secure and solid all included tools (allen wrench) are provided to terminate wires and secure them. Great clarity and very easy to set up for all audio sources, as long as you have a multi-meter to read the AC voltage.

Pros: Easy of installation Easy to configure Very well thought out design

Cons: None so far but had the unit only a couple of weeks.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great amp for rzr1000 xp4

Crutchfield customer from Scottsdale, az on 5/16/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great amp for my rzr. Small with lots of power. Easy to install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding couldn't be happier

Fourwinns from Wichita Falls TX on 4/17/2015

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this item as scratch and dent.. I couldn't find a scratch not dent on the amp. Wired 4 JL MX650's to my head unit first and was disappointed (obviously) then plugged in the speaker wire I had run for the amp. 100x better clearer and LOUD! I probably have the perfect amp for those particular four speakers but the difference was incredible, not to mention the sound is amazing. I highly recommend ALL JL AUDIO MARINE products they're in my opinion the best you can get.

Pros: Good power, no noise, great sound

Cons: Haven't found any cons so far

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Awesome tiny-mite!

Chris from Katy, TX on 3/13/2014

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Powering two jl 7.7 coax's and two channels bridged to power the 10" open baffle sub in our little ski boat and it plays detailed, soft and load, and it puts out clean undistorted full range watts!

Pros: Small easy to hide

Cons: Forget it's there!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

M400/4 amp

Oz from Frankfort, Ky. on 9/8/2012

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed JL amp for my boat , sounds great and after 5 hours of playing music, the amp wasn`t hot. Will tell family and friends.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound