Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
582 324 56
Connect ID #
582 324 56
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # WHEVO42BLK

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Bookshelf speakers (Black)

MFR # WHEVO42BLK

88 reviews
View this product

Honest review

Stephen from Gurley, AL on 12/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased these due to Pursuit Perfect Systems review, and he was not wrong in giving this "Best Bookshelf". Day 1: My wife wanted a better sound for doing yoga, what wife wants, wife gets. The speakers arrived, and I chose to pair them with the Bluesound PowerNode. A bit apprehensive since I have never heard either, albeit excellent reviews. Installed everything, fired it up, and yes, good sound. Day 2: I was not a believer in "burn-in" until I was. Day 1 my wife was very happy, day 2, I was impressed. The sound was starting to mature, got more bass, more sound stage, and a bit more color than the somewhat bland initial impression. Day 3: HOLY MOSES!!!! These just open up, go for their own joyride, and take you along for the experience. When I said I was impressed, that was an understatement. Are these a floor standing tower sound quality?, Yes... Depends on the environment, but hands down excellent. There are a few songs on Qobuz that make me wonder as to why they sound a bit muddy, but truly, who cares when I can stream from a different source and hear a song as it should be. Absolutely give these a 10 out of 10 for being far better than what you would expect for size and price.

Pros: Everything

Cons: not really a con, but I may get a subwoofer. Worst case scenario, I get a sub :-)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Vintage meets modern.

William from Corona, California on 12/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can I give 6 stars? My listening room is small and I only use them for 2 channel stereo listening. They are powered by a Pioneer SX- 1010 receiver made in 1975. They sound absolutely wonderful. Plenty of bass and not fatiguing for long listening sessions. Vintage meets modern, what a great combination.

Pros: Great value for the price. Excellent build quality. Easy to listen to for long periods of time.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Matthew from Leander, TX on 12/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound great! Solid build quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Keepers

Robert from Meredith, NH on 12/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First off, scratch and dent? Go for it. I still can't find anything wrong with these speakers, my guess is that someone before me did not give them time to burn in. These initially sounded like they were still in the cloth bags when I first fired them up..oh no, what I have I done? I know these are known for a more laid back sound but not THAT laid back.well that was almost a week ago and that time has made a significant and positive difference! I'm sitting here listening to Tedeschi Trucks Band Layla revisited on CD and it sounds fantastic. I've seen this band many, many times so I know what they should sound like. I'm using a Marantz 6006 powered by NAD D3045 in a medium size room with less than ideal acoustics. The speakers are on Sanus 22" stands which I recommend, I use just a tiny bit of toe in. I have a sub that I have not even turned on yet as I want to appreciate these on their own for awhile before I start messing with stuff. I like these speakers exponentially more than when I first heard them. Criticisms? Not many. For those into hip hop, metal and super loud hard rock YMMV. I listen at a fairly loud level and these are about perfect for the volume I like. These speakers can reward the listener with almost euphoric sounds with good modern recordings and speaker placement but the price for that can be some really dull and unpleasant ( by my standards ) experience with crappy recordings. So be it. These are keepers!

Pros: -Non fatiguing for long sessions. -Heavy duty, solid construction -These work absolutely fine with my 60w NAD 3045 but not sure I'd want any less power driving them. My guess is that 80-100w of quality power would be ideal. - just flat out like the overall sound

Cons: -There is a " burn in" period. -They may sound different than what you are used to (don't be too quick to judge ). - the high quality sound reproduction will not only delight your ears with good recordings it will also reproduce crappy sound if that's what you feed it.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Music to my ears..

Paul from Auburn, MA on 11/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After watching some reviews on YouTube saying you really have to work on the placement of these speakers I was somewhat concerned. One reviewer even made it sound like if you were not at the correct height you'd miss out on the sound altogether as the tweeter and soft dome mid range beam. While you do need to play with the placement a little to get the best sound where you listen , it's not that difficult. They sound amazing. Very clear separation of instruments and vocals that provide an all encompassing presentation. All three drivers blend together to provide a deep and full bodied sound that just pulls you in! The quality of the build from Wharfedale is top notch! These are LARGE bookshelf speakers. Once you have them in place they end up looking like they belong there. Can't say enough about Crutchfield...with the 60 days to try in your home policy you can't go wrong. Everyone likes a different sound so if something doesn't work for you after purchasing and listening send them back and continue your quest for the sound that keeps you wanting to listen to more and more!

Pros: Amazing sound Instrument separation Clear vocals Beautiful build

Cons: None that I can think of as of yet.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Customer service

Thomas from Stuart, FL on 10/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I cannot comment on how the gear performs. We were having our winter residence remodeled, and the new sound system was a part of that remodel. I did an enormous amount of research, and also spoke with my rep at Crutchfield, Zac. He and I spoke, discussed alternatives, and I was reassured by the Crutchfield return policy. Zac was knowledgeable, not simply an order taker. The service was exceptional. Zac made it easy.

Pros: Sixty day return policy. Great assistance from Zac. No hype or pressure.

Cons: The equipment was not free.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Chris from Home on 10/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound great! The sound has an overall warmer tone but the clarity is still amazing. The only thing I can gripe about is the packaging is really lacking for the weight of these things. Top and bottom is really well protected but nothing at all for the whole face of the speakers. Mine showed up with a giant hole in the box but luckily it was right between them so it didn't hurt anything.

Pros: Clarity, looks, imaging

Cons: They are tall so it can be a little tricky getting them at the right height

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Open and smooth sounding

Richard from HUMBLE, TX on 10/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great body to the sound and wonderful range of the spectrum. These speakers reproduce faithfully the recorded sound and will deliver the best efforts of the musicians and recording engineers. I'm using them as my front speakers in a 5.1 setup with an Anthem A/V receiver as sound processing and amplifying (100 wpc). I have a 2 channel system but wanted this for the video surround sound and music listening both. I spent quite a bit of time choosing these but always leaned toward them because of the advanced design of the tweeter. Consulting with Tom helped as he confirmed my inclination that these would be a very good choice. I'm very satisfied with this purchase.

Pros: Design, quality of drivers, attractive enclosure and finish, and a tremendous value.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great price and dicount shipping option

Gary from Maribel, WI on 9/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Saved $20 off sale price by delaying shipping one day. Speakers were delivered one day early. Box was damaged but did not damage speakers. This is a heavy awkward box, should be shipped as single speakers. I have not hooked them up yet, they look fantastic.

Pros: Great value on sale. Nice discount on shipping options.

Cons: Heavy awkward shipping box.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

John from St Petersburg, FL on 9/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wharfdale Evo 4.2 When placing it correctly in your listening area you will have one of the finest speakers at this price point. A very fun speaker to listen to your favorite albums.

Pros: Great fit and finish .

Cons: Room placement

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Churubusco

Bill from Churubusco on 8/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Wharfedales arrived this morning. I took my RP-160's off the stands and put the EVO's in their place. Turned on the system to my wife's favorite jazz channel and started to listen. The streaming jazz sounded great right away with the sax a little bit front and to the left. The bass (I use a sub) was balanced and tight. Next up was the Eagles and it was noticeably clearer than the Klipsch bookshelves. The last test of the day was a movie on Prime. I wanted a speaker that put the dialog a bit front and easier to understand and the Wharfedale delivered. Not crazy forward but forward nonetheless and very understandable. The Klipsch are good speakers but the Whardedale is better. Of course you pay for the upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Nemo from Virginia on 8/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

EVO4.2 represents what I love about Wharfedale. The Air Motion Transformer tweeters in the EVO series provide a smooth yet detailed high frequency response while the midrange and woofer excel in their roles. Bass with this speaker is is full and clear, and I've found that for most music a subwoofer is unnecessary in my 12' x 20' living room. With only 50w per channel with my Rotel A11 Tribute, I'm able to achieve plenty of volume. Stereo imaging was fantastic, and I was able to easily immerse myself in the music. My only word of caution is that these speakers are large and quite heavy. I recommend 24" speaker stands for placement of the tweeter at ear level. Porting around the bottom of the speaker makes placement near walls more forgiving.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

PSB300 sounds much better than the pricy Wharfedale EVO4.2

Wai Keung from Bayside Hills, NY on 7/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After replacing my PSB300 with Wharfedale EVO4.2. The sound is getting worse. The Wharfedale EVO4.2 is overated and overpriced.

Pros: None

Cons: Pricy, heavy

Crutchfield response on 7/18/2022
Wai Keung contacted our Customer Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away.

0 of 3 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Dan from Peoria, AZ on 6/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speaker, no regrets purchasing the EVO4.2's. Paired with a Rotel A14 MKII Integrated amplifier the sound dynamics are truly amazing. The service provided by Crutchfield is also amazing, the sales rep answered all my questions, the items were shipped and delivered with out any problems.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best speakers for Audiophiles and Movie Lovers

Swapnil from Springfield, VA on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am building a home theater + music set-up for my man cave and was looking for a High Fidelity system. After doing a lot of research and testing and listening, I resorted to Wharfedale EVO4.2 for front speakers which will later be complemented by other Wharfedale speakers for the center and surround sound set-up. I am super happy with these as they offer a great sound quality - for both music and movies without having me spend $20,000 on the same quality speakers. Heavily recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Ideal choice for what I wanted

Marshall from Seymour, MO on 6/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I really enjoy the sound these produce. They are amazingly full. The purpose for purchasing these was to compliment my Wharfedale Linton's. I like listening to them by themselves, and they add additional soundstage to the Linton's which I also like. They are very clear and expand the high end notes. For me a great choice for a second set of speakers.

Pros: Sound, Sound, and Sound Separate the music nicely Compliment other Wharfedales Easy on one's ears. Not tiring to listen to

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

So Sweet

Kevin from WOODBRIDGE, VA on 5/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far, so Gooooooood. Just outstanding sound, and a great looking pair of speakers. I actually auditioned the Evo4.1 at the Crutchfield store in Charlottesville. I was blown away at the soundstage, in those little speakers. To be fair, they were being driven by a Macintosh amp at the store. I originally powered mine with a 35 watt Onkyo integrated, the EVO 4.2 clearly needed more power and after hooking it up to my Peachtree Audio 150 watt amp, the magic started to appear, (especially after a short break in period). I listen to a lot of vinyl, particularly Jazz, and the Evo's handle it wonderfully.

Pros: Vocals Gorgeous speaker

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Patrick from Erie, PA on 5/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers. However, to be honest trying to decide if it was worth the upgrade from 4.1. Old ears. Fit and finish and quality are outstanding. Crutchfield service is second to none.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Mr T

Crutchfield customer from Meridian, ID on 4/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers that can get loud, with nice sound clarity (mid to high range). They really shine with Jazz, bluegrass, and vocals. Where they lack is on the low bass end for ambient, rock, and triphop music - any thing that has pounding drums or a deep or low rumble - that includes Beatle or U2 albums for example. They can produce some bass, it is just lacking overall and especially at higher volumes. I fixed that by pairing them with a SVS SB-2000 Pro Subwoofer, and now the low end sound is nice and round and that marriage produces a full and wide clean and clear sound from top to bottom. I couldn't be happier, and I can play any music genre now, it's all sweet! I was thinking I would have to go with some large towers that included powered subwoofers, but I don't and my set-up takes up less real-estate and makes the wife happy. I run them with a Cambridge Audio CXA81. If I had a larger space or wanted to fill a large house with sound I would probably go with the EVO4.4s and a more powerful amp.

Pros: Crystal clear sound with depth, nice wood veneers.

Cons: Missing lower bass oomph for some music genres - no fat bass sounds. Heavy and deep (15 in.) enclosures.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Great for acoustical music

David from Elko, NV on 4/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are impressive speakers that deliver an "immersive" sound experience. I used Klipsch speakers forever, and they are also great. Getting older, my tastes have evolved to mostly mellower acoustical pieces, rather than lively and energetic tunes for which Klipsch rightly occupy a stellar reputation. I'm not an "audiophile" in the sense of ruminating over gadgetry, but as a professional musician, am relatively discerning. If you're looking for articulate, detailed soeakers with a warn sound these are a good choice.

Pros: Price, appearance, build quality, great sound, price

Cons: Not the choice for high energy music

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Robert from Jeffersonton, VA on 4/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived late due to internal Crutchield security issue. Product was packaged very well. I have the speaker connected to a Denon S940 AVR and they sound great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fantastic clarity

robert from Vineland, NJ on 4/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgraded after 25 years from old school Bose 901s. Paired with Rotel RB 1080 and RC1082 Amp and Preamp. Cambridge CD player and CXN (V2) streamer. Sound is clean, unbiased, pure, warm with more than adequate bottom end. Love them Rotel Amp has more than enough power to drive them. Couldn't be happier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just get em...!

Crutchfield customer from Portland, Oregon on 3/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound great, but my only issue is with Warfedales QC, the magnets leave small black dots on the white finish,used tape to cover magnets, also probably could have used another coat of paint,Yep I'm being picky, for a grand I'm definitely being picky Crutchfield is the only place to buy electronics,

Pros: Everything...

Cons: Warfedales QC, could have been better....

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Guest from Portland, Or on 3/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm extremely happy with these, Crutchfield is the only place to buy electronics. My only gripe is with Warfedales QC.. The black magnets leave a black spot on the white paint. I had to use tape to cover the magnets, and I think another coat of paint could have been applied.. For a grand yep, I'm being picky. They sound fine.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Michael from Hartford, WI on 3/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great sound. Great balance to rest of system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

These are the speakers for me

Glen M from CASTLE ROCK, CO on 2/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tried a set of Klipsch RP-600Ms. They're good speakers and I reviewed them well. However, being an old school sound kind of person, the treble-forward, scooped mids sound profile just isn't my bag, although I'm sure it is for many listeners. Decided to audition these instead and I'm glad I did. Running these with a Pro-Ject X2 on a ZaZen II platform and using a 760 gram record weight, Pro-Ject Tube Box S2 and a Yamaha A-S801 amp. The speakers are set on Sanus 22-inch stands and IsoAcoustics Aperta isolator stands. Couldn't be happier. The full range of frequencies is there and the separation of instruments is excellent. Great treble without being bright, strong mids, and the bass is clear, punchy, and defined but never boomy, even though in my 11x12 office they're only a few inches from the wall. No real discernible rolloff even on open bass E strings. You don't need a sub unless you're a basshead, but if that's you it could be they're not the right speakers for you anyway. The sweet spot is not enormous but even outside of it they still sound very, very good. Great vocalists like Ann Wilson, Lou Gramm, and Connie Dover sound even better, if that's possible. Now I just need to wait for the Rotel CD14 MkII to upgrade my CD player. Just try them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Great Expectations

Bennie from Claremore, OK on 1/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My speakers arrived as ordered. I bought the scratch and dent pair. I had to look for a hour Before I found a couple of small dot sized nicks. I paired them up with a Cambridge 840w Amp and 840 preamp. I bi wired the set up With discovery essential speaker cables. I've still got a CD player but stream via blue sound node 2i. Upgraded to a Gustard X-16 Dac. I use tidal as my platform. A older Amazon tablet allows quick access to my MQA quality music. Now let's get to the speakers. These speaker Image great . I get at least a 30 degree off set Image quality. Note you should get best results setting up a central listening position. I couldn't be happier with my pick. They like power. Midrange is great. I use a SVS pro 1000sb for terrific bass. Again the build quality 2nd to none.!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

My First week with EVOs 4.2

Crutchfield customer from Dorado, PR on 12/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

They sound as good as they look. Cristal clear trebles and punchy bass, without missing the subwoofer at all.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from St James City, FL on 11/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

after some research and discussion with jp at crutchfield i chose these three way bookshelf speakers to pair with an older crown amp and preamp. the sound is warm and full with excellent separation. their performance has exceeded my expectations.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great bookcase speakers

Crutchfield customer from New Bedford, MA on 10/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had a difficult time choosing speakers, needed speakers for a large room but am living in an apartment so floor speakers where to much for neighbors. These fit the bill and sound incredible!

Pros: Great front sound.

Cons: Took 20 plus hours to fully break in.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Excellent speakers

Crutchfield customer from El Granada, CA on 9/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

After searching for the perfect speakers to pair with my Cambridge amp, and watching and reading dozens of reviews, I decided to give these a try. The are terrific. I would gladly do it again... and I think I will!

Pros: Best speakers I could find in that price range. Audiophile quality at an affordable price. Very well built. The wood finish looks great.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Sandusky

James from Sandusky on 9/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I paired these with the Parasound New Classic 200 amp. They replaced a pair of B&W 685 S2's. It was an instant upgrade. The B&W's are good, but these are wider, deeper and much more enjoyable. For my listening room (14 × 18 ft) these do the job and are keepers.

Pros: Clear separation, accurate instrument presentation, clear vocals. Wide, deep soundstage. Very musical. Very enjoyable.

Cons: None yet.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Lacking 3d sound stage

John from Altoona, PA on 8/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not audiophile reproduction but sort of close! They lack 3d sound stage projection but reproduce warm like vinyl days. I suggest Monitor Audio 100 silver for audiophile reproduction! The 100's lack bass impact, a mini sub rounds them out!

Pros: Many.

Cons: Not audiophile reproduction.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 10 found this helpful

Warm, smooth, and weighted

Guest from Waukegan, IL on 7/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The wharfedale evo 4.2 do a fantastic job at what they intend to do. Which is a very warm and smooth presentation. These are not intended to be detail monsters or reveal the most very subtle nuances. What they do best is present the body; the fullness of voices and instruments. As on reviewer has said, when a guitar is playing these present the body of the guitar. Rather then focus on the strings exclusively. Your taste will determine whether you enjoy these. If you're someone who wants to hear every detail and look for more of a analytical presentation. These might not be for you. But before you pass these up. I would like you to take a listen if you can. Because these might surprise you with their sound. The warmth can be something desirable. And it can be a nice change from the sound your used to hearing. These are never harsh, fatiguing, or sibilant. Long listening sessions are enjoyable and these can encourage you to listen to more of your favorite music. A couple of things to note are some of the characteristics of a warm speaker. The fullness of a Female voice comes out with these. As if the singer was present in the room. But it can be different then what you're used to. Especially if you're used to a light airy presentation of a female voice. Bass is full and weighted. Rather then tight or dry. These will change the way music sounds. Fullness and weight comes out in songs. In a way that might be different then what your used to. Nevertheless these are amazing

Pros: Warm sound Rich bass Smooth vocals Weighted and full presentation

Cons: Changes the way your music sounds which you may or may not like.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 17 found this helpful

Great stand mounters!

Crutchfield customer from Toledo, OH on 7/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are perfect for my application! Placed on 24" stands. They sound great with surprising bass reach. Mids and highs are smooth and clear. Overall just superb sound. Come in a heavy package, packed well and with white gloves. Replaced a pair of Polk RTI-A3's and the difference is way more than you'd think. If you haven't heard these you should give them a listen. Best I've heard at this price! Highly recommended!

Pros: Sound clarity Bass reach Clarity of highs and mids

Cons: Heavy and big for "bookshelf"

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Mid-Fi Endgame

Ed from Buena Vista, CO on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Favorite Speakers Ever Owned Longtime listener but only got gear-serious about 4 years ago. Made a common progression: Pioneer SP-BS22-LR (sounded quite veiled) --> Sony SSCS5 (better all around but sounded small) --> Kef Q150 (absolutely loved many massive improvements and imaging) --> JBL Studio 530 --> (soundstage improvement but preferred all else about Kef) --> Tekton Lore Reference (played loud, effortlessly, but all magical nuances of Kef and JBL were missing. Not impressed at all) --> Kef Q150 (love!) --> B&W 606 (shrill & harsh but crazy detail... until fatigue) --> Totem Mite (borrowed from friend, lovely sound, but too small & lack separation) --> Revel Concerta2 M16 (glorious quality, massive soundstage, near-miss due to some detail lacking. Hard to drive) --> Wharfedale Evo 4.1 (loved even more than Kef for BETTER detail, separation, imaging and soundstage. AMT magic. still sounded a little small in my space) --> Wharfedale Evo 4.2 (with larger presence and generally same 4.1 character, my quest is complete. This is THE speaker for me. Couldn't be happier) Blown away by the value locked within these beautiful, sturdy, well-made speakers! I cannot imagine anything touching them for less than $2000. Subwoofer seems fairly necessary.

Pros: detail, imaging, soundstage, looks, build, down-firing port, midrange, AMT!

Cons: none, as of yet

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Monaca, PA on 6/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These sound way better than expected for a bookshelf speaker. They have good balance across all frequencies and have a very good bass response. I decided to add a subwoofer but it was a toss up whether it was really needed. No harshness at all. Overall they are very pleasant to listen to. Very happy with these speakers.

Pros: Bass response

Cons: Size for some applications. They are large for bookshelf speakers.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Chattanooga, TN on 6/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently purchased a pair of EVO4.2 speakers. I could not be happier with the sound they produce. They are in a fairly large den and these babies have no problem filling the space with great sound. I love their size, their looks and most of all what comes out of them. As far as I am concerned it does not get any better than this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Work well as rear surrounds in larger system

Crutchfield customer from Orangevale, CA on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good value for the (outlet store) price. I'm using them for rear surrounds for a room where I needed a bit more bass without a sub and where the fronts are a bit bright. These EVOs have a nice warm sound with a precise ribbon tweeter. They are more mini-floor standers than bookshelf speakers. These should work well for folks with a small to medium-small sized room as the fronts. I'm not sure I'd want these for main speakers in a larger room, but they serve my purpose well. Very nice finish. I have them on 3 1/2 inch high walnut stands from ETSY that point them up a bit. The aesthetics of the rounded corners are better than the typical boring rectangular box that many speakers in this class have.

Pros: Good value for the bucks. Good aesthetics. Sound quality is more than decent for most smaller rooms without needing a sub.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Coram, NY on 5/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent imaging and detail taut bass response great tonality I also own Linton Heritage another terrific speaker the 2 are old school vs new school in sound. EVO is a pleasure to listen to I am driving them with Audiolab 6000A excellent combination Highly recommended

Pros: Imaging detail tonality bass

Cons: Larger speaker low stands needed

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Aurora, IL on 5/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have these paired with an NAD D3045. The sound is much improved from some less expensive Klipsch that I had been using. Probably this is as far as I will go without making improvements to my room.

Pros: Great sound

Cons: Very large for bookshelf speakers (but they are the dimensions indicated in the specs)

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Lebanon, IN on 4/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was not sold at first listen but after 30 + hours they have warmed up and are exactly what i was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Amazing Value

Jeff from Puyallup, WA on 4/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These speakers are amazing! they are smooth not too bright on the high end nice warm mids and solid low end. do not hesitate in thinking about these speakers!

Pros: amazing sounding speakers in a small package

Cons: none to speak of!

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from SNOHOMISH, WA on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound , on modern amp with only tone and base controls , I enjoy the midrange , small footprint

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Rich sound for bookcase speakers

James St from Port Deposit, MD on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love these speakers. They put out a full range of sound and they sound richer than the towers they are replacing. The cabinets are beautiful. If taken care of, they could become heirlooms. I can't attest to the low end because I have a 12 inch Klipsch subwoofer but for the money, you would really need to spend quite a bit more to get anything that sounds better. I like the way these speakers can get very loud but still keeps the music separate and doesn't bleed the sound together.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Berkeley Hts, NJ on 4/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Enjoying it more everyday

Pros: Looks nice, sounds great

Cons: There is a burn in period. Takes a few days to settle down.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 13 found this helpful

What a beautiful sounding speaker!

Allen from NORMAL, IL on 4/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

There's not much to say about these speakers that hasn't already been said, they are simply amazing! They have a warm, cozy sound that envelopes you. Very detailed, but never harsh. Huge soundstage with every instrument and singer locked into position. Well worthy of their cost and quite easily twice that! Their only caveats are their size/weight (these are stand mount speakers, not bookshelf), their hunger for power, small sweet spot, and desire to be played at a minimum of a moderate volume level (65-70db) to fully open up and bless you with all they have to offer. When I first received mine, I was somewhat disappointed by their sound. They take some time to burn-in and develope their signature sound with a warm, somewhat prominent midrange, incredibly detailed treble that absolutely never becomes harsh or fatiguing, and bass that is pure and plentiful (provided you're using a good, powerful amplifier). I initially powered mine with a very modest home theater amplifier in stereo mode and the sound was lacking, yet good enough to let me know there was more to these speakers than that amp could bring forth. Two months in, I replaced that amp with a high quality 85 watt per channel integrated amplifier and my patience paid off tremendously! These speakers deliver an absolutely gorgeous sound. Imaging is incredible and vocals (especially female) are nearly hypnotic. Give them the power they need and time to burn-in (100 hours), and enjoy every bit of all of u your

Pros: Midrange, vocals are gorgeous Very detailed, never harsh Plenty of high quality bass Expansive soundstage Great for all kinds of music Perfectly matched and tuned drivers Incredible build quality They look beautiful, they sound even better!

Cons: Sweet spot is kinda small Speakers are big and heavy Not great with budget equipment as they require components that can get the most out of them Extended burn-in time required

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

Sexy looking and clarity of sound!

nick from Saint Francis, WI on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked with Dante and after expert help decided to go with EVO4 4.2 bookshelf. Have them hooked up with Audioquest Q2 speaker wires to my Yamaha RX-A870 and Marantz CD-6005 and after 18 hours already blown away by clarity of sound not only at high volume but at low volume! Can't wait to hear how they sound after 100 hour burn-in. Love Crutchfield! Thanks Dante!

Pros: Bass authority, value for money, imaging, tonal balance, look of and midlevel clarity.

Cons: Non at this stage

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Amazing quality and clarity

Crutchfield customer from Short Hills, NJ on 3/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing quality and sound. It is wonderful to be able to enjoy listening to my grandfather's 800+ LPs & 78's, my 800+ CDs and streaming through these speakers. Thank you to Ember at Crutchfield's for helping me in my selection you are a true gem!

Pros: Easy to setup and drive. Great sound and awesome quality finish

Cons: None that I've seen thus far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from New Brighton, MN on 3/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great performance for the price!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing, Just Buy Them

Mike from Clemson, SC on 3/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased these to down size my home theater after owning the EVO 4.4 towers for three months in a dedicated hifi setup. These did not disappoint at all. I tested the ELAC uni-fi 2.0 UB5s, SVS Ultra, and SVS Prime against the EVOs. While the SVS Ultras were a close second, the EVOs had the best overall sound. They sound so good I replaced my 5.1.4 setup with these bookshelves in a 2.1 setup. I use an svs 2000 pro sub, EVO 4.2s with a 60 hertz crossover and LFE at 120 hertz. With correct speaker position these fill the room with rich detailed sound. Colt is the man for recommending these.

Pros: Amazingly detailed highs, and mids. Very smooth articulate lows. Just a great all around speaker.

Cons: Must be played at high volume to get full detail. I prefer 100 watts minimum to get the most out of these speakers.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

NOT to be missed! (THIS could be your LAST speaker purchase!)

Crutchfield customer from Saint Cloud, FL on 3/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Truly a magnificent pair of speakers! It came down to choosing between the EVO4.2 or Triangle Genese Trio...guess who won? And at about $300 a pair less! The midrange is stunning, perfectly balanced and breathtaking. Powered by the new Outlaw 2160 MKII (110w/side) and complimenting the great bass with GoldenEar Technology 8 inch Subwoofer (Force Field 3)...welcome home to an astounding sound! This is my second pair of Wharfedales ("Thank You!" Crutchfield), being the Denton 85s (Also, perhaps one of the best sounding speakers under a $1000 a pair for a 2-way). Please know there is nothing "cheap" about these speakers as to their build, heft, sound...am I forgetting anything? Give them a try...you will NOT be disappointed. Now...what shall I get NEXT from Crutchfield?

Pros:

Cons: Avoid (at all costs) the stand Wharfedale sells (recommends) for this speaker. Dangerously unbalanced and undernourished...a MAJOR disappointment...and definitely not worth the price ("Sorry" Wharfedale).

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great modern looking speakers

Crutchfield customer from Tracy, CA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These white speakers are ultra-modern and great sounding. They are a bit heavy and I am still looking to see how best to mount or use a stand.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Wharfedale Evo 4.2...Beautiful Musicality

TBone from Cape May, NJ on 2/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had these Evo 4.2 up and jamming, for about 6 weeks. I have been experimenting with different pre amps, amps and one older JVC receiver. As well as different CD Players and Blu-ray players. Will continue to do so for another month or two. Thus far, the Evo 4.2 have been smooth, organically beautiful in terms of musicality ( tone, harmonic timbre and melodic presentation). Acoustic instruments such as guitars, upright acoustic double bass, piano, violins, cellos, mandolins...etc....all sound so beautiful and natural with their own wood tone. As recorded. Electric instruments, equally so. Male and female locals are gorgeous; euphoric and inspiring. See goose bumps. As my preference, I stay away from sources and components that jack up the high frequencies and treble. Because they present an exaggerated harsh edge to any recording and instruments. Bass frequencies are very good, and the Evo 4.2 will deliver the different bass harmonic overtones and octaves in nice detail; if they are captured in the recording and mix. I can listen to a song through these speakers, and hear / figure out the bass lines. I'm probably getting a bit over-analytical, here. These Evo 4.2 deliver beautiful melody, and musicality. That was my goal. Wharfedale delivers. Tip: consider the dimensions of your room, and choose speakers and gear that are suitable for your room dimensions and acoustics.

Pros: Musicality, smoothness, wide and spacious presentation. Pleasing, realistic dynamics. Not exaggerated turbo charged dynamics.

Cons: For those who love dynamics that blast out and sledgehammer you in the gut. The Evo 4.2 dynamics will be insufficient for you.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not impressed

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, VA on 2/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was really looking forward to trying these out based on reviews and Crutchfield specialists. I ordered these and the matching center channel speaker. They are beautifully crafted and feel like a premium speaker. What a disappointment once I hooked them up and listened to them. 3 of 4 family members preferred Klipsch RP600M to these. The Evo's generally sounded "thin" and like there was a veil over them muffling the sound. The sound was not dynamic at all and music lacked excitement and energy. They had minimal soundstage and they played smaller than I would have expected. I've heard they are warm speakers but they didn't have any warmth to my ears. I realize that the sound may be impacted by my source (Denon X3300 AVR) but I purchased Kef LS50 Metas that were on Outlet and the sound is like night and day. The Kef's sound wonderful, even on my 7 channel 105wpc Denon AVR. I'm keeping the LS50s and returning both the Klipsch and Wharfedale speakers.

Pros: Beautifully made. Look premium.

Cons: Limited soundstage. Thin sounding. Not very dynamic. Play smaller than they look.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 28 found this helpful

Big Bold Confident Musical Masterpiece

Doug from Clyde on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have had the 4.1s for 45 days now. They are the best "5" inch bookshelf. So I ordered the 4.2 open box from CF. They arrived in brand new condition. Yamaha 501 with Yamaha WXC 50 for switching with a ESS DAC. 4.2s on 14 inch stands. Well after two days of frustration I moved the 4.2s, my Diamond 225s replaced the EVOs, but on 23 inch stands. No matter what I did the bass was booming, the rest was just not as crystal clear and as clean as the 4.1s. I adjusted the Diamonds to my taste , easy task, I had been using them awhile. The 225s are missing a lot compared to the EVOs. Hmm what to do? I put the 4.2s on the 23 inch stands. Still sounded off. I checked the speaker connections, I had the right speaker polarity reversed. Cannot make that big of a difference, right? OK then, we have Klipsch volumes with no boom, clean, clear, unreal! Last time I had this volume with no ear discomfort was with a pair of 901s hanging from my ceiling. The music was Huge! Putting them on the23 inch stands had the same affect as pulling them away from a wall or corner. Tracks were consistent enough from different sources to be enjoyable. From Pandora through the WXC, WMA Lossless files on USB through the WXC, WMA lossless from phone via BT through the WXC, Flac files via Sony Walkman NWA40, via Aptx BT via Yamaha BT antenna direct to 501. The bass is big and smooth as the mids and highs. Clean clear quiet. Are they audiophile accurate? I don't know. I don't care. I will be enjoying the music.

Pros: End game for me! All equipment in this review was purchased from CF and all is highly recommended. 4.2s in 14 x 19 room with 3 doorways. 1 passthrough. angled recessed lighting near ceiling. So my room has a lot of room gain and loss. 901s hanging from ceiling, Evos on tall stands, I am thinking Evos placed above average height. Floorstander bass when placed correctly. Sound good at low volumes. You need to hear these at high volumes to truly know how good they are. 225s for sa

Cons: None For a smaller system I would suggest the 4.1s Clean, clear, weight to all the notes. I use a Yamaha 803n with them for everyday listening. No sub. Same qualities as 4.2s, just not as big. The 4.1s can take good power but like a smaller room.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Marcellus from Miami, FL on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I just got the Evo 4.2s today and I was shocked at how good vocals sound. Paired with my Musical Fidelity MS2i amp, musical is realistic reproduced especially with well recorded material. The AMT tweeter is magic.

Pros: Mesmerizing female vocals.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Outstanding room filling sonic beauty

Crutchfield customer from Canandaigua, NY on 2/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been a Klipsch fan for years. Recently I've been using the RP-600ms and honestly they are phenomenal speaker that are super dynamic and clear, but still a tad on bright side, I wanted more low and mid range in my speakers, maybe even a little off the top end. After reading many reviews and getting recommendations about the Wharferdale Evo 4.2s I decided to try a pair and I'm glad I did. I put them through a 40 hour burn in process before wiring them to my Tube amplifier. I started off with a few Jazz records and after that some Metal. Let me tell you, these speakers are everything I wanted and more! The bright highs are gone, I'm hearing mid range that I didn't know existed, and the low end sounds like there a sub in the room. There is definitely a room filling presence with these speakers. They are super heavy and well made. I'm very happy with these. Well worth the money.

Pros: Smooth, Mid range, low end, well made. Sound amazing

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Beautiful & Well Made, but Missing Sparkle

Crutchfield customer from Frisco, TX on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really well built and stylish for the price point. I bought these to trial them against my current system because of the rave reviews they have been getting. After listening to them for a few days straight I decided to return them. They are a little too warm for my taste. They had a descent soundstage and bass output, but lacked in the upper mids to treble range detail of what I'm used to, which was surprising given the AMT tweeter. I was driving these with a vintage Yamaha Cr2040 class AB integrated amp with 120 watts per channel. This amp has a neutral sound signature and plenty of power to drive most speakets without issue. Crutchfield accepted the return without issue. Fantastic customer support.

Pros: Well built and beautiful design Nice wide soundstage Descent base Smooth midrange Makes bad recordings easy to listen to

Cons: Lacking detail in upper mids and treble Lacking soundstage depth

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Impressive, detailed sound, and they look fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Chico, CA on 1/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful sound and appearance. Paired with an NAD AVR, audio is clean and detailed. They look impressive on stands in a home theater, and they're also heavier than I anticipated, which is wonderful. Bigger than a typical bookshelf speaker, so keep that in mind when choosing stands or a shelf to place them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 1/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really nice speakers for the money. Very warm. Good clarity. I find I need to add a little top end on my eq to get them to sparkle, but with that adjustment they're sweet.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Will fill a room

Crutchfield customer from Citrus Heights, CA on 12/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are very good speakers. A little large to classify as a bookshelf but you're not listening to the size. Full range, warm, detailed, and beautiful. They will begin to distort at near full volume but you would already be past filling any 30'x30' room with fantastic sound that you can't talk over. The cabinet is described as Walnut but it's not. It is Zebra wood veneer which is the same shade as Walnut but has straight dark, pronounced grain. I would rate this 5 stars because it out performs all bookshelf speakers I have listened to.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 11 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Sweet Springs, MO on 12/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love them perfect for taste in music. Modern jazz, folk and bluegrass.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 19 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Port Huron, MI on 12/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Quick delivery,and Im happy with the speakers too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Great sounding speakers.

Crutchfield customer from Hattiesburg, MS on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really great sounding speakers with plenty of power. Built well and are very heavy for their size . Very happy with Wharfedale , would recommend to anyone.

Pros: Great sound. High quality for the money.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Intoxicating

Crutchfield customer from Pleasant Hill, CA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful speakers. I have tinnitus and the EVO4.2's allow me to comfortably listen to music for longer periods of time without fatigue. The sound is warm but clear and detailed with instruments well separated. I'm hearing new bits on almost every song I listen to. There is also an intoxicating quality that makes me want to always listen to just one more song!

Pros: All good

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Best in class

Crutchfield customer from Glen Allen, VA on 12/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent build and audio quality. The 3 way design is hard to find in an audiophile speaker. Most competition is of a 3 way design and does not provide such a full range sound as the EVO 4.2. I've owned lost of speakers up to 3k in cost and none can compare with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Glen Ellyn, IL on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good speakers. Easy to listen . Because they don't produce enough bass for 2 channel music I'm thinking about exchanging them for bigger Evo 4.4

Pros: Non fatiguing

Cons: Might not satisfy everyone with bass for stereo listening without subwoofer

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Love listening to music again!

Leslie from Evans on 11/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers along with the Yamaha R303 stereo about a month ago and I have absolutely impressed with the way they sound. I listen to hip hop and R&B, but mostly jazz from traditional, contemporary and vocal. I use my CD player, turnable along with streaming music using the bluetooth option. The highs are soft to go along with the midrange and bass which in which these speakers to a very good job. These speakers get better and better every time. It makes listening to music fun again. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would purchase them again. They also look very nice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Everything I hoped for

Crutchfield customer from Knoxville, TN on 11/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had the Evo 4.2s wired up for less than two weeks, so not broken in yet, but already I can see that the hype is well deserved. Fantastic upper range and a very open sound across the board. Soundstage is expansive. Walnut finish and overall build quality are just gorgeous. Still experimenting with positioning, since these guys are much larger than the Polks they replaced, and they dominate the space when actually used in a bookshelf as I'm doing. It feels like a stretch to even refer to them as bookshelf speakers, given their size and heft. Maybe a new category is needed between floor standing and bookshelf? I'm looking forward to the day when I have them broken in and positioned correctly for the room so that I can begin working my way through every piece of music in my collection. I have a feeling that these will be my go-to speakers for several years to come.

Pros: Sonic range Beautiful finish Immersive soundstage

Cons: Size requires some adjusting

Crutchfield response on

18 of 18 found this helpful

What can I say? They're AWESOME!

Scott from West Sacramento, CA on 11/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These babies are freakin' AWESOME!!! If you are on the fence don't hesitate to pull the trigger on these. I've waited a couple of weeks before writing my review. They do get better as they break in. I've had Klipsch Heresy 3-ways so my standard is pretty high. The EVO4.2 do NOT disappoint. The AMT is a fantastic tweeter that delivers crystal clear highs. But, OH BABY....that mid-range is just awesome. Hearing sounds not heard before in movies I've seen 10 times! It makes me grin every time. They are paired with the EVO4-CS for the center and my good ol' Infinity powered sub I've had for years. For stands, I'm using the Sanus 22's filled with sand. The rear channel is a pair of Polks that are wall mounted. Everything is controlled by a Sony STR-DN1030. These Wharfdale speakers deliver a fantastic sound stage. They really bring out the nuance when I play a DVD or FLAC file on my Oppo 103. Trust me...all these 5-star rating are LEGIT! And of course Crutchfield customer service has no equal. You guys ROCK!

Pros: Beautifully detailed highs and mids. Cabinets are furniture grade beautiful. Nothing this good at twice the price.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

33 of 33 found this helpful

Nice speakers

Crutchfield customer from Lodi, CA on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Went through a lot of research to upgrade my older Cambridge Audio Aeromax2 speakers. My budget was in the $1,000 to $2,000/pair range and I wanted speakers with a bottom or front port since they would be sitting on a deep shelf (18") in my office (no room for floor stands or such) and I was concerned about a rear-port speaker being so close to the walls. Unfortunately, neither these, nor my alternate (Focal Chora 806) were in the speaker listen compare. However, the Focal 906 speakers were and they were not convincing as a better choice (my musician son really didn't like them). A Crutchfield advisor, one of several I spoke to over the course of my search, was adamant these are the best for my music (Grateful Dead, Dire Straits, and other rock) and I went for them. I am quite happy with them (although I wonder about the others I couldn't listen to online (I rented the listening kit). I went ahead and bi-wired them, but not sure there is an advantage with that. Maybe one of these days I'll do a more discerning comparison test.

Pros: At the low end of my budget and lots of "heft" compared to others. Work great on a shelf. Nice separation in mid and highs.

Cons: Bass may be a bit light.

Crutchfield response on

18 of 19 found this helpful

Affordable Audiophile Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Fountain Valley, CA on 10/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are big bookshelf 3-way speakers. The high, mid and low frequency sound is very balanced. They give you a solid presence. Vocals and solo instruments have power, projection and a sense of weight. High frequency is clear, smooth and refined. At an affordable price, these loudspeakers are ridiculously good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

22 of 24 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Mark from Brevard, NC on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are the second pair of speakers I've bought from Crutchfield and I couldn't be happier with their advice & service. I had 3 pairs of Klipsch I listened to for 38 years and decided I wanted to try something different. I read a lot, watched a lot of video reviews and decided to look further into the Wharfedale Lintons and the EVO 4.2s. I decided on the 4.2s because of space limitations in my built in bookcases and because of the clean and clear midrange and highs everyone kept talking about. Had them for a couple of weeks now and I'm still breaking them in, but these 4.2s are the sweetest sounding speakers I've ever owned. I still love my Klipsch RP160Ms and have them setup up downstairs but these 4.2s are sweet. Voices are more forward and present but not overly accentuated. I hear background vocals and instruments I couldn't distinguish before and on some heavily layered music the music almost appears to wrap around the sides. I had already noticed it but when I asked my wife to close her eyes while I played a few songs by Radiohead and point to where she heard the instruments coming from she noticed it to. She literally got goose bumps on her arms when I cranked up Chris Botti on his trumpet. The bass is better than I anticipated and I have actually turned my subwoofer down a little. The quality and sound of these speakers are better than I could have hoped for. The best endorsement came from my wife when she said they were incredible and worth every $ I paid.

Pros: Pair perfectly with my Marantz PM6006 Wide sound stage Better bass than I anticipated Midrange and tweeter are clean and clear Sweet warm sound

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

21 of 22 found this helpful

Surprising Mid Detail and Upper Warmth

Kevin from OLYMPIA, WA on 9/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've only had these for 5 days (though they've been playing nearly non-stop during waking hours) and they are really beginning to open up after sounding quite tight and restrictive feeling to me at first which wasn't totally unexpected). Anticipate a break-in, as always, while they relax. I'm already beginning to hear much more cohesion and upper-bass punch than was initially there. The detail retrieval is complete yet smooth and fantastic. The upper mids and treble of these is just phenomenal to me so far. NEVER fatiguing but I also do not feel anything is missing. Male vocals and most female vocals sound incredible, amazingly so. Acoustic guitar and string instruments sound almost perfect. Even a triangle tucked within a very loud and busy passage rings true. Brush work on a snare in incredible. I have little doubt I'll be holding onto these after audition. The sound they deliver (upper, lower and mids) is better than anything I've heard from a bookshelf/standmount in my home. I've had many number of modern & vintage speakers but I've never had anything as holographic as these and I now finally understand, first hand, what that means. I've been powering these with only a Marantz 2235B receiver (it's 35/wpc into 8 ohms is *more* than enough) fed primarily by a Bluesound Node 2i with various sources (Qobuz and local media) and from a Fluance and Technics turntable. Final note: these are unusually unconcerned with wall boundaries, hardly needing to be pulled out for use.

Pros: Larger than expected, physically and sonically. Tight, detailed & controlled bass with virtually no boom. Outstanding build, fit & finish. More efficient than expected. Bass extension ratings seem conservative. Incredibly detailed treble that is never piercing or harsh. Natural midrange to die for.

Cons: Few. Requires a more substantial stand than my current set. Will not fill a very large room (but we knew this).

Crutchfield response on

23 of 23 found this helpful

Great Speakers at a good price

Crutchfield customer from Lacey, WA on 8/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm a 'retro' Pioneer stereo collector. I have several stereos running in my home. I have other Warfedale speakers and other brands. I read the reviews on-line for the 4.2 speakers, they were very good. I purchased and and 'burned' them in. Wow! These are the best sounding speakers I have purchased in past ten years. They outperformed bookshelf speakers I have that cost 3x the price. I run these speakers in my home office with my 'A-game' stereo components. I couldn't be happier with these Wharfedale 4.2's than getting a new puppy.

Pros: Best bookshelf speakers for the money.

Cons: Personally, I would have liked the walnut wood finish being darker than it is. However, the finish is real veneer and not vinyl wrap.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 20 found this helpful

Excellent

JB from Kansas City, MO on 8/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had been wanting to upgrade from my "horn" 3.1 system for some time (could never get rid of the center channel screech on some voices, plus I found them fatiguing). After a few months of searching these speakers kept getting 5 star reviews. It seems that can work out well or horrible when everyone cheerleading for something... I considered some more upscale speakers but they seem to come with the caveat of a) need expensive powerful amp or b) fabulous on well recorded material but ruthless on not perfect recordings. Neither of these was something I wanted so I went with the Evo4.2 and the 4.C center channel. They are everything all the other reviewers have stated so I won't reiterate those points. Couldn't be happier with the purchase. My Denon x3400h drives them just fine for 70/30 home theater and music. I used Audyssey (80hz over) and it worked excellent as well - no Dynamic Volume or mid correction or Dynamic EQ needed for my room. These are authoritative/hearty in the bass but not boomy at all. My sub sits close and I ended up turning it down to -2db. Perfection. As these are a touch laid back I did turn my center channel up to +2db. Mine are approx 10' part, 15 degree-sh toe-in and the sound stage width must be 12+ feet. Impressive. I have a good 3 feet clear on the outside of each speaker and about 12" from the back wall. I have wire jumpers between the terminals vs the plates. I really love the design/look as well

Pros: Everything!

Cons: Not a con but these are large and heavy so take that into account as well as your stand (mine is the recommended Sanus 22, which I'm not totally happy with)

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Love this Speaker

Crutchfield customer from Bristol, CT on 8/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You get everything you would expect to get from a large bookshelf speaker. Good bass for most all music (add a sub for that extra umph) , excellent mids and bright highs. Best of all the wife likes them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Wharfdale"s great new speakers!

Crutchfield customer from Cleveland, OH on 8/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great clarity and detail, much better and controlled bass than expected. Still breaking them in, only have about 30 hours on them.

Pros: Clarity, detail, and controlled but very present bass.

Cons: Very big, really not a con, you should just be aware.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Love them!

Crutchfield customer from Moore, OK on 7/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Beautiful speakers...both craftmanship and sonic.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 13 found this helpful

Wonderful Sound

Mike from Simpsonville, SC on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I received these speakers in 1 day from Crutchfield. They sound amazing connected to my Marantz SR-6014. I have been listening to a lot of speakers in the $400 to $1000 dollar range over the past 2 months and until now, none of them sounded much better than my old 2006 Monitor Audio RS1s. The EVO 4.2 sounds rich and full with great sound stage, depth and spatial imaging. The AMT tweeter produces the highs the way I like them. Accurate and smooth without being harsh, tinny or in your face. The mid range driver seems to enhance or bring forward the mid sounds that always seem to be subdued, in the background or missing with 2 way speakers. Bass production is good and tight with just a minimal fill in needed from my sub. In my room, they sound best positioned straight out with no toe in. Even poorly recorded music sounds good through these speakers. They are also beautifully built with a real wood veneer. Thanks to Taylor for helping with my decision.

Pros: Rich full sound. Great smooth highs. A joy to listen to. Beautiful.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

20 of 22 found this helpful

Phenomenal performance

Venessa G from Chester, VA on 5/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Originally my wife purchased me the D330's and they are excellent! However, I was itching to hear the Evo 4.2. After a couple of weeks of pestering her about the Evo's, she relented and gave me an offer. That was to return the D330's for the Evo 4.2. I did the reverse and ordered the 4.2 so that I could compare the sound of each, then, make the sonic decision. The Evo's are just phenomenal. Before repacking the D330's, I temporarily placed them as the surround speakers. And "wallah" the perfect match! Both sets are definitely keepers. Now to convince her that I really, really, really need to audition the Evo4C. Stay tuned... Oh, thanks to Colby for his professionalism and candor with this purchase.

Pros: Unparalleled performance Aesthetic

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

20 of 23 found this helpful

Doesn't Get Any Better

Robert from San Angelo, TX on 5/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased these speakers after several conversations, recommendations, and extensive research and am glad I did. I returned a set of other acclaimed speakers and Crutchfield exchanged them for these and sent them out immediately. Like others, I cannot express how impressed I am with the spatial, airy, depth of my material. I will not be redundant with other reviews. These speakers produced a sincere smile from my wife. That says it all! I did try Wharfedale speaker stands but the speakers really were too big, so the Sanus 22 was the perfect replacement. Outstanding support from Crutchfield's entire team from ordering to replacements. It doesn't get any better than this. Honesty and Integrity has to be their business model.

Pros: Outstanding sound and craftsmanship

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

Wharfedale EVO4.2

Crutchfield customer from Vancouver, WA on 4/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice speakers, I brought them particularly for 3 way design and they do deliver in spades. This is my first Wharfedale experience. I tried my best to gauge these before buying without audition with few reviews on web mostly good but pointing to the fact that they are warm speakers. My experience has been great and I am going to keep them, I love the vocals on these speakers, overall detailed and effortless music. The bass is wonderful, the specs on low range are conservative. The biggest advantage with these speakers is placement, you can pretty much stack them to a wall. Highs are not subdued to my ears, but are not analytical and can listen to these speakers for hours on low volume. If I can summarize you can imagine to be in the middle row of the performance, not upfront or back - there is all the details, imaging, instrument separation and the wide sound stage. Big, heavy and great construction so quality looks like top notch, its almost like they cut the 4.4 floor standing speaker into manageable size. I run them with multiple tube and solid state and matches to all of my gear, will need a good break in for sure to get them going.

Pros: Excellent non fatiguing and detailed speakers for both low and high volumes.

Cons: Not Klipsch level front row performance for those looking for that type of experience.

Crutchfield response on

33 of 33 found this helpful

Airy and open; neutral w/+1 for warmth; holographic imaging, spatial +

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 3/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I auditioned these speakers because I heard them (along with the EVO 4.4) on Utube and was curious how they would sound in my home using my modest set-up. The set-up: I drive them with Denon AVR x-1300, no other equipment required. Room is 16 x 24-open in the back. I have them attached with 9 feet of monoprice monolith 12 AWG speaker wire and banana plugs. They are placed on yoga blocks on 20 inch (light) stands tid 25 degree off axis toward a wide listening perch (6 foot wide sofa). The test: To audition them (Spotify premium) I used "STAY ALIVE" by J2/Eivor, chosen due to the strong female vocals and dynamic mix of < 35-45 hz lows. The experience: The vocals were expressed with an airy quality that I have only heard from higher end electrostatic speakers. The sound stage was wide comparable to the UniQ from KEF (if not a little better). But where the sound stage impressed me was the depth (vertical dimension and forward instrumentation). I agree with another reviewer who said the speakers were almost "holographic". Listening to these is like going from two dimensional movies to 3D for the first time. There is another dimension to them. I suppose I could get crazy and drive them with a Macintosh amp and condition my power and set them on heavier, more expensive stands and EQ with a SPL meter and software. That might be a fun project for the future. However, many (most?) listeners just want to know how a speaker sounds out of the box with a minimal amount of effort.

Pros: Spatial stage, 'thick' vertical and horizontal, and holographic imaging. Wide airy sound. Have strong punchiness in mid-base area and go lower than smaller bookshelf speakers

Cons: After dropping $1K on a set of speakers, wondering if you should instead get the floor standers for $2k. Would likely be more popular if they were discounted from time to time. The matching center speaker is almost as expensive as both of these.

Crutchfield response on

23 of 26 found this helpful

Awesome Speakers!

Eric from Galveston, TX on 2/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really enjoying these speakers. I took out of rotation my KEF LS50 (nice sounding) and don't see bringing them back anytime soon. They are fuller being 3-way and the midrange and treble is really nice with the AMT tweeter, didn't know if I would like that type of tweeter. Little larger for bookshelf but look great, using the Sanus SF22 speaker stands Crutchfield recommended. Using them with Schiit Freya S preamp, PS Audio Stellar S300 power amp, along with a SVS SB-3000 subwoofer, connected with AudioQuest Mackenzie cables. I stream Hi-Res with Bluesound Node 2i from Qobuz and Tidal, with U-Turn Orbit turntable and CD player, all sound awesome!

Pros: 3-Way, Dual binding posts, AMT tweeter

Cons: None, well slightly heavy, need substantial stand.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

These are the ones!

William from Mableton on 2/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

FANTASTIC SPEAKERS! Absolutely amazing! Great highs, mids and LOW lows! The AMT tweeter is no joke and music sounds airy and more open and spacious. Not bright sounding at all. Nice soundstage. Great mids and the bass goes really low - no need for a subwoofer for me! Very neutral and balanced across the sound range, no artificial enhancement that I can tell. I use these for 95% music and have no need for a subwoofer. I've used these for movies too just for kicks (I have a Denon 5.1 for surround sound), and these work great. I'm driving them with a Yamaha AS-801 and it's a great combination. Music just plains sound great, is balanced and detailed. I worked my way up speaker-wise with bookshelves, starting with Wharfedale Diamond 225's, Elac Debut 6.2, then went to Elac UB5, all very good speakers, but these are better. Of course, these cost more, so you should expect more, and you get it! If you can't afford these, go with the Elac UB5's. They're 85% to 90% of these speakers, just make sure you've got a good amp because they're 4 ohm speakers (my Yamaha AS 801 drove them just fine). I also tried the KEF 350's (didn't like) and Def Tech D 11 but they were just too buttery-smooth for me ( a "warm hug" as one audio reviewer put it). To me, these speakers hit the sweet spot and paying up for these was well worth the money. I've stopped searching for speakers and believe these will comfortably take care of me for years to come. Enjoy!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

33 of 33 found this helpful

Evo 4.2

Chris from Charlottesville on 10/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely fantastic! Wonderful highs, very clean midrange, and good bass. With proper placement and some break-in time, these are very revealing speakers. I did choose to add a subwoofer with them to fill out the low end but that might be a placement issue given my limited space. I will add that while these are called "Bookshelf" speakers, they are 18" tall and 13 1/2" deep. They really need space to sound their best. Wharfedale suggests keeping them pretty close to a rear wall to help with bass too. If you're looking for high end sound at a great price point, I highly recommend these speakers! Give them some good power and enjoy!

Pros: Great highs and mids. Tight bass. Rock solid build quality. AMT tweeters are very, very good.

Cons: A good subwoofer might be needed if you like deep, low bass. Not really a con but you might need to try a few different placements

Crutchfield response on

28 of 28 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound