Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
917 684 76
Connect ID #
917 684 76
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Discontinued item

Alpine R-W12D2

R-Series 12" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # R-W12D2

Alpine R-W12D2

Alpine R-W12D2

R-Series 12" subwoofer with dual 2-ohm voice coils

MFR # R-W12D2

26 reviews
View this product

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, VA on 6/1/2021

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Amazing sound quality with ability to shake vehicle when needed. Very versatile subwoofer

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Newport Beach, CA on 2/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Used w Kicker 800 amp Giving it all the kicker has(birth certificate said 909watts) at 1ohm It's hitting pretty hard but is in a way to small sealed box 0.90 Custom ported box on the way. I really like the rubber mounting ring and the push terminals for wiring the voice coils. Very well thought out piece of equipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Highly Recommend

Crutchfield customer from Lihue, HI on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very clear! I really enjoy my Alpine Type R and would suggest it others. It comes with detailed instructions that guide you how to wire it the best way for system

Pros: The best!!

Cons: No Cons

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

The beast

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, SC on 12/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Longtime Alpine and Crutchfield customer. One of my alpine subs finally let go after 6 years of strong performance. Read a lot about the new design of these subs so I went for it. Reading how these may be the best alpine has made. I would have to hear it to believe it. Well. I've now heard them. And it might be the best alpine has made. This thing is amazing. And out performs my old one. Completely satisfied with the product and the wonderful service and speed of Crutchfield. Highly recommend both. Alpine and Crutchfield. Can't go wrong.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Arrived broken.

Elijah from APO, AE on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived broken. Not sure if it was before or after boxing. Hoping to get a discount or send it back for a new one. Will update.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 12/15/2020
Once we saw this review, our Customer Support specialist, Case, reached out to Elijah to follow-up. If you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, it's important to contact our Customer Support or Tech Support teams right away. They can help you solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase.
Customer review photo Customer review photo

5 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Clarksville, TN on 12/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent lows love way it hits

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IN on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worth the money

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Hits Hard!

Terry from North Aurora on 8/21/2020

2018 Honda Civic LX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best sub I've had so far.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2 Rocks!

LD from Jackson on 8/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This subwoofer kicks! Very impressive, deep, tight, and loud. I have the gain pretty low and its still loud. Will crank to near ear splitting levels without breaking up. Installed it into a Sound Ordnance Bass Bunker BB12-200V enclosure, and a Rockford Fosgate Prime amp. Much better bass power, and low bass extension than any Rockford Fosgate powered subwoofer that I have tried, including the punch 500-12P. Sounds pretty tight in a ported box, and the bass quality is also excellent. Matches really well with the Sound Ordnance box. I have did alot of business with Crutchfield, and they are the best, and also have an outstanding return policy. Highly recommended!

Pros: Deep, loud, tight and clean bass. Goes loud without distortion. Seems very well built, with a hefty magnet system. Relatively inexpensive for what it does.

Cons: None that I have found yet

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Supreme

Crutchfield customer from Albuquerque, NM on 8/7/2020

2006 Toyota Camry

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

When you buy Alpine, you cannot go wrong. The Type R is by far my favorite Sub. Pair this with a proper Alpine amp and you got yourself a premium setup already. Its not strong enough blow your ear drums but strong enough to feel like some is beating the drums inside you chest!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Cadillac, MI on 5/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

These are definitely worth the money!!!! Tbey sound awesome.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Beaumont, TX on 4/6/2020

2017 Ford Fusion

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic. Very well rounded and responsive with deep full bass. Only running 1 but it hits like 2. Worth the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Loud bass

Mike from west jordan on 1/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been into building car audio systems since 1985. I had a friend ask me to build him a box for his car for his new alpine type R 12" subs. I did a dual ported box with separate chambers at max air volume from alpine. WOW I was very impressed. I now have a pair of 12" alpine type R in a prefab box in the wife's car and I can't believe how awesome and accurate they are. I will buying more of them.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

7 of 7 found this helpful

Best type R,s yet.

Shawn from Santa Cruz, CA on 12/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best subwoofer in its class,these generation 6,s are amazing.I am running 2 with an alpine MRX-M240 2400 watts @2 ohms.Recamend streaming high quality music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nick Potter

Nicholas from Whitney Point, NY on 7/6/2019

2019 Honda Accord Sport

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic sub. Iv owned many sets of them over the years. Always my go too. Hammers like a champ with wicked clean tone

Pros:

Cons: Nick Potter

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Beaver Dam, WI on 3/30/2019

2015 Toyota Corolla

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great subs

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Sound Great

Jim from Central IL on 1/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am still breaking them in but, these subs are very natural sounding. They can handle a lot of power but it isn't necessary. I am running 300w ea. and it is plenty. It's a beautiful sounding sub for the money.

Pros: Uses little air space. Natural sound.

Cons: That I waited this long to buy them.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Clean

Timmy from Soldotna, AK on 9/23/2018

2006 Honda Civic DX

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Looks good, sounds clean, still breaking in the sound coils but soo far soo good!

Pros: Clear, Deep, and Loud

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Hardest hitting

Mike from Festus, MO on 8/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Best subs i have ever owned and crutchfield had the best price out of everyone

Pros: Great price point Great sound Deep bass

Cons: No cons

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Pounding bass

Aleks from Gardena, CA on 8/14/2018

2017 Toyota Avalon

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Probably one of the best subwoofers out there!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from El Portal, FL on 7/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great subwoofers with lots of power. I highly recommend.

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Ground pounders

James from CONCORD, AR on 6/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have two of these in a dodge intrepid. They pound so hard and sound so precise. A little muddy, but I think that is more my box than my amp.

Pros: Precise, hard hitting, handle power like a champ.

Cons: Power hungry.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Bellevue, WA on 6/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love these subs. Been wanting them for years and when my JLW3's fell apart it was time to get the R's. First time I listened to them was pure joy. They sound better than the JL's and will take a pounding. Running 2 D2's at 2ohms on JL 1000w amp. Crossed at 80hz in a vented box. BOOM!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Crutchfield customer from Noblesville, IN on 3/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great speakers well worth the price and fast shipping

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

For the price nobody else builds a sub that can even come close

Jesse from Springville, UT In The great USA on 9/28/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought my first type R when they where first introduced, only had owned alpine head units before that. Witch are incredible units as well BTW. the type R sub was no different, in its price range no other manufacturers Subs even comparison nor match and without a doubt never exceed the type R. Because I tried them All and cooked every single one of them then moving on to the next. That is until I got my first type R and it lasted me so long I had cars ware out on me faster than that alpine sub, three cars to be exact. And I am very hard on both cars and subs it finally gave out on me in 2016 after four years of lots of abuse and maybe a little bit of my hearing loss ( always listen responsibly folks ) The SPL is amazing The sound quality even better. I have always been a 2 even 4 sub kinda guy but just one does an absolutely beautiful job no joke, no need for more in my case. Set it up right with the correct amp proper install and never ever skimp on the enclosure it matters more than you would ever think. and don't completely thrash on it and you can't go wrong with this sub worth every single penny over the cheaper subs. I have even Owned some of the really expensive subs vocals, dynaudio but I still absolutely love my type R

Pros: Amazing sound with any type of music, sound you can feel and still hear it as the artist intended it too.

Cons: I honestly can't think of Any

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

15 of 17 found this helpful

Alpine R-W12D2

Guest from Ft Wayne, IN on 8/30/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sub is awesome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 10 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound