Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
917 684 76
Connect ID #
917 684 76
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

Our contact center is currently closed.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

All web chat conversations are recorded. We use automated technology to connect you with an Advisor and to answer some common questions. If you do not consent, please do not continue with chat assistance.

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Universal backup cam with infrared lighting and active parking lines — license-plate-mount

MFR # VTL17IRTJ

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Universal backup cam with infrared lighting and active parking lines — license-plate-mount

MFR # VTL17IRTJ

204 reviews
View this product

OntarioGreat purchase.

Kenneth from Ontario on 2/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed in 2012 Toyota Corolla with Kenwood DNX6990HD. Easy installation. Instructions were easy to follow. Recommended by Andy after discussion of vehicle and radio. GF loves backup camera now. Her daughter likes it better than her factory installed camera. Would buy again and probably will for older cars. Picture is good and love the moving lines built in.

Pros: Ease of Install. Easy to follow instructions. Great value.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Ross from San Antonio, TX on 1/31/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exceeds expectations, looks and works great!

Pros: Small enough not to standout

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great service

Joseph from Brookline, NH on 1/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great service

Pros: Arrived quickly

Cons: Original camera only lasted a little over a year. It was a different brand name

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A great safety addition and easy to install in a pick up.

George from Middleburg, FL on 1/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So I needed a rear view camera in my 2012 Ford F-150xl that would mate with a Sony AVX 5000. The helpful fellow at Crutchfield recommended this unit. The order was shipped quickly and the install was started. The instructions in the box are limited, however, there are a ton of videos by Crutchfield and others describing how the system should go in and I had no problem. I took my time and in three hours had both a Sirius XM tuner AND the Boyo rear view camera up and running

Pros: Easy to install Plenty of videos explaining how to available on YouTube; making this a simple job. All you need is patience and some tie wraps! Works very well with the Sony I'm 82, and if I can make a pro install so can you!

Cons: Included instructions limited in scope and printed in a font only an ant can see.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A must have if on a budget.

Mary from Olympia, WA on 1/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera the quality is awesome.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: None, but make sure when using it as a front camera to cut both loop wires (blue when turn the trajectory is opposite and white to make came see properly.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Better than Expected

Jim from Athens , TN on 1/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera, easy to install. Picture is crisp and clear, night vision is excellent.

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great backup camera. Clear picture.

Eric from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera. Easy to install. Price is right and gives much clearer picture than my other car with a built in camera. A few things to know- if your head unit or monitor can generate backup lines, you probably want to use those. The ones native to the camera stink..they're narrow and they try to adjust for turning but move wildly and often the wrong direction. The ones on my boss head unit are so much better even though they are static. Also it isn't in the instructions but this camera can tap into 2 power sources. Either the rear backup light or on the head unit. If you do what I did- attach both- then you have an always on camera that you have to manually toggle from the head unit. If you just power it from the rear backup light then it'll turn on when you put it in reverse. You'll need to then attach the Reverse light + wire from the head unit to the wire next to the yellow RCA jack on the head unit end of the cable. This took me several days to figure out as I was trying to find a Reverse light + connection at the front dude box. Crutchfield gave me a location and when I spliced it in it made it so the parking brake turned on and off the camera. Whoops.

Pros: Easy to install. Great picture. Great field of view.

Cons: Baked in backup lines stink and move wildly and in the wrong direction when backing up.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great upgrade!

Crutchfield customer from Beloit, WI on 1/12/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great! Nice upgrade.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Scott from Davie, FL on 1/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo back up camera

Jason from Reidsville, NC on 1/5/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good. Has a wide view & pretty good picture. Like the the ability to remove the lines as it was to many lines in the picture.

Pros: Straight forward easy instructions to install

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from ORMOND BEACH, FL on 12/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera works great, nice wide view!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Overall great

Calvin from Cedar Rapids, IA on 12/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall it's an amazing product and a huge upgrade to my stock camera, but the lines when turning are so so touchy I had to take the feature away which is what I really wanted, super easy install as well.

Pros: Everything else. Super clear picture

Cons: Touchy lines when you turn

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Brittle Wires

Tim from Binghamton, NY on 11/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

At first I was happy with the camera and included cable. The installation seemed to be going fine until I had to connect the power and ground leads for the camera. The insulation on these wires is very durable, but this was not a good match with the gauge of the wire, as the wire strippers simply cut the conductors too. I ended up carefully using a razor blade and carefully pully the insulation from the extremely brittle strands inside. It looked like the wire had half the number of conductors as the wire on the back of the Sony unit i was installing (this wire easily stripped with the strippers I had). It would be great if Boyo would change out this wire to something a little easier for the end user to work with.

Pros: Camera has nice options

Cons: Power and ground wire conductors EXTREMELY brittle.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from NEW PORT RICHEY, FL on 11/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works but lines and inferred flutter

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works good

Jaime from Kingsville, TX on 11/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Was debating on this one with the undated or the LED but this one works fine. Main purpose is for bumper pull trailer hook ups without getting on & off 10 times. No issues

Pros: Easy to connect, good visibility day or night

Cons: None at the moment

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Phillip from Jurupa Valley, CA on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy installation and good picture quality

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Work Truck

Todd from Snohomish, WA on 11/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For an inexpensive combination, it has exceeded my expectations. The camera has crisp imaging, and the stereo does more than I would ask in the way of inputs and adjustments. Very satisfied.

Pros: Easily installed, nice range of settings to choose from.

Cons: Very occasional weak FM reception. Not a deat breaker in any way.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Will need a replacement

Kurt from Sartell, MN on 10/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Spent a lot of time running the wires to the lift gate on my 2013 Jetta SportWagon but when I plugged it in.nothing. The 4 prong connector required me to put continuous force pushing them together to get a picture but once I let up, the picture went away. I unfortunately couldn't leave the car apart and wait for a replacement so I cut the ends of the plugs and spliced the wires and got it to work.for a while. Now the image is sketchy at best. Will contact Crutchfield for a replacement.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Steven from Brandon, MS on 10/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Robert from Springfield, IL on 9/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed correctly, but when you put truck back in park backup camera stayed. I ask if these items we're compatible and was told yes

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 9/27/2022
Robert contacted our Tech Support team for help. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Stephen from Covington, TN on 9/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't wait to install this. Have bought before and needed another one to add to recently purchased van. Great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

OK camera

Steven Clint from Tollesboro, KY on 9/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera is ok, but not great, low resolution.

Pros: Price Cable Length

Cons: Resolution

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 9/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great rear view. Easy to install.

Pros: Easy to install. Guide lines can be turned off if desired. Good view. Comes on automaticly when I go into reverse on my 2008 GMC Sierra.

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Installed on a 2007 Escape.

Michael from Pontiac, MI on 8/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I need to verify it again, seemed when I was backing up the lines moved the opposite direction I was backing up. Otherwise its a nice looking camera. Need to try out the IR on it. Wish it had another connection like the one from the camera past the block where the wires all come together. I had to install the wire backwards. I followed the wires as it came from the factory thru the boot the wires run thru into the vehicle which is a tight fit getting the AV connector thru the rear hatch to the body of the vehicle. Still adjusting the camera so the lines are on the ground not in the air.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Richard from Monroe, NC on 8/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great good picture really happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Jeremy from Crawfordsville, IN on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well. Easy to hook up. Crutchfield has some good Youtube videos explaining different ways to wire the camera up and what each of the wires do.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Backup Camera

J Shipley from Saint Paul, MN on 8/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Once installed, this backup camera works really well on my 2014 Subaru Outback, which came without such a unit. Routing the cable required disassembly of the back gate lining, which is a bit tricky to replace, especially if you are working alone. The parking guidelines seem to respond to left-right motion of the camera image. I suppose this is useful, but it doesn't really match the vehicle steering wheel position and turning radius.

Pros: Good camera

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Not thrilled

Steven from Hilton, NY on 8/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was disappointed with the quality of this camera. Unfortunately my helper had striped the wires and added connectors or I would have returned it. The wiring is very light scale, maybe 22 ga. Having an older truck from western NY, it was hard to conduct good ground through that thin wire. It definitely was not up to the same standards as the other components that I purchased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Must have upgrade!

Steven from Aiken, SC on 7/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome camera. Highly recommend!

Pros: Super clear picture!

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Bobby from Harrisburg, PA on 7/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Definitely helps backing up my suv.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo Back up Camera

Joseph from Warren, MI on 7/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This backup camera is a great addition to my vehicle, it is a good quality camera, clarity is great! Will recommend to friends in need of one for sure. The staff at crutchfield are all very knowledgeable about all their products and help tremendously when purchasing equipment for my vehicle.

Pros: Easy to install looks great good price

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Steven from Cranberry Twp, PA on 7/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works and a decent picture. I used the direct mount and not the license plate bracket. Looks good. It's a great way to add a backup camera feature to an older car with new head unit. Not sure if all of these need a reverse wire connection front and back of the harness, but that was a bit of a pain. I ended up just running the same connection to the front from the reverse light to avoid trying to find a wire under the dash.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Randy from Hillsborough, NC on 6/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture quality is great day or nite, the lines have a mind of their own

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Michael from Austin, TX on 6/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good backup camera at a good price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Weird reversing lines

Daniel from Glenn Heights, TX on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's a decent camera the resolution is ok. Not sure if that's the screen or the camera. I would advise cutting the wire for the reverse lines because they have a mind of their own. It has like a line curve feature that guesses what direction you're turning and curves the line that way. The radios lines work just fine

Pros: Works

Cons: Needs a better reversing line

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Ok little higher priced than some

Jim Deleeuw from Seymour, TN on 6/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Little pricey for quality, could be the head unit Overall ok , like the hidden mounting

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Jared from Dothan, AL on 6/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This camera looks great on my new Sony 5500 head unit. I wish I would have read the manual more closely before finishing the install. You have to clip some wires to remove the parking lines. Not a big deal but I was thinking it would be a button on the camera itself. Don't be like me, read the manual! Great camera tho.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Scott from Staunton, VA on 6/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does not work like suppose too. Hooked up like it said to only get park assist lines no camera image.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/6/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Cory, reached out to Scott to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 2 found this helpful

Got water in it.

Charles from MOORESVILLE, IN on 4/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this about 14 months ago. Worked great until last month when it got water in it and quit working. Just ordered another one just like it because it will plug into my existing wiring. Will see how this one does.

Pros: Got water in it and quit working

Cons: Good while it worked.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Curtis from Kahului, HI on 4/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well with Pioneer DMH-241EX.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Bad image quality, front set up not working

Crutchfield customer from Wichita Falls, TX on 3/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Image quality is not great at all. I operate a rear camera from another company for half the price, and their image is way better. Next issue is to set it up as a front camera, which displays a mirrored image, though I cut the white loop as per the manual. Customer service isn't very helpful, as the agent was unable to use a microphone on his end which allowed clear communication. A different issue with customer service I had before, when the agent wasn't able to answer a simple question regarding my Pioneer unit, wanted to email a wiring diagram which he never did. If you praise your customer service as to be that great, live to your proposed standards.

Pros: easy install

Cons: image quality

Crutchfield response on 3/30/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to this customer to help him further. We'll either help him get the backup cam working the way it should or help him return it for an exchange or refund. We're also forwarding this on to our Tech Support supervisors, so they can look into it. We strive to provide the best service, before, during, and after your purchase, and it looks like we missed the mark this time.

2 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Marcos from Phoenix, AZ on 3/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Decent video quality, the IR for night gets the job done, overall very practical and reasonably priced

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Ricky from Marietta, GA on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Gregg from Ankeny, IA on 3/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Hector from Apex, NC on 3/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good quality and easy install. Adjusting the guidance lines with the new Kenwood is a bit challenging

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Michael from Sykesville, MD on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camara provides great field of view and picture is very clear.

Pros: Field of view, clarity, adjustability and multiple installation points

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Daniel from Helena, MT on 2/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a nice camera, easy to install. the instructions left a bit to desired. the wiring in the instructions was not descriptive of what was in the box. Thanks to the great folks at Crutchfield it was an easy answer.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good view, very functional

Jere from Dardanelle, AR on 2/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install and get up and running. Using full DD Jensen head unit for screen. I like that it senses turning while backing and adjusts guide lines.

Pros: Easy to install Cool guidelines

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Steve from Candia, NH on 1/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Crutchfield's sales consultant Ray suggested I add this camera to my radio purchase and install instead of the camera that came with the BOSS radio. I have to say I'm definitely impressed with the quality & picture sharpness and clarity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Charles from Wilmington, NC on 1/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far so good. Nice picture.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works as advertised

Jerry from Ovilla, TX on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well. Reasonably well made. The instructions were fairly limited, but sufficient.

Pros: Works well. Installation is pretty easy.

Cons: Instructions are not very detailed.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Michael from Flat Rock, NC on 1/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product for the price. Easy hookup, plenty of extra wire to fit the length of the subie wagon.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera works great but wiring too thin.

Dave from Sicklerville on 12/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Camera seems to be working great, but not after some installation problems. The wiring with this camera could be a little bigger (awg). The wiring is nowhere near typical auto wiring and breaks very easily. I would also like to thank Crutchfield Tech Support for the help that I needed to troubleshoot a wiring problem.

Pros: Great picture from camera

Cons: Installation wiring too thin

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Madera, CA on 10/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture, easy hook up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works nicely. See installation tips.

James from EVANSVILLE, IN on 8/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works just as advertised. Tracking lines are indeed useful. Installation was easy enough- instructions are in tiny print, but clear. The wiring from the camera head has a nice narrow connector with just over 1/8 inch diameter. To get from the license plate mount into the trunk, I chose not to destroy the existing license plate light wiring grommet. Rather, I drilled a 1/4 in hole nearby it, used a tiny 1/8 Dorman grommet (AutoZone assortment pack was $4 see pic). I used 2 snap splice connectors. Unfortunately, the grommets and splice connectors are not included in the Boyo kit. Anyways, the Boyo system allows easy replacement of the camera head, should it become damaged, via its quick connector to the rest of the wiring.

Pros: A good value

Cons: It would be nice if kit included some splice connectors

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lexington, NC on 7/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install . Gets the job done.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Boynton Beach, FL on 7/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Awesome backup camera! It was also easy to install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera, I like it

Crutchfield customer from Hartland, WI on 7/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a nice backup camera. It comes with plenty of cable to run into the cab of my vehicle. The angle is adjustable so you can move it if need be. The infrared lights also work very for seeing at night. I would recommend this product.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Getzville, NY on 6/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great customer service in selecting this camera. Having difficulty adjusting the pitch of the view???

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

I can see

Crutchfield customer from Scottdale, PA on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What a great add on for my BMW Z4

Pros: Easy install

Cons: Picture could be better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Topeka, KS on 4/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera. Install was easy. It was almost to short for my f350 long bed but I did get it to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Salem, OR on 4/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup. Good image quality. Reverse lines are a little wonky

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Henderson, NV on 4/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great buy. Works great with my pioneer deck

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Alan from RUMFORD, RI on 3/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Kind of bulky. Decent picture. I ended up exchanging this for the one with multiple mounting options. This one interfered with the release for the hatch on my wife's Equinox.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Good Camera

Crutchfield customer from Crystal Beach, FL on 3/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good camera, image on the Boss unit is a bit washed out- but overall very good

Pros: Easy to install

Cons: image is washed out, hard to see in bright light

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Thumbs up to Crutchfield

Crutchfield customer from Wakefield, VA on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product Crutchfield the best

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Lehighton, PA on 3/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install, works as advertised.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: Integrated lights can overpower tbe image clarity at night.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great value and excellent video quality

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 3/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

this cam is great and the image quality is way better then I had expected . Great value.

Pros: Low cost, great performance, looks sharp.

Cons: The back up lines could be better.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Fantastic View

Crutchfield customer from Oxford, GA on 2/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy Install and the camera looks great and a wide angle. Great view at night too. Make sure you connect the black wire (ground) to pure metal (silver), no painted connections. I just connected the ground to my taillight ground wire

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Plainfield, NJ on 2/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great backup camera crystal clear and crisp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Windsor, CO on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great backup camera for the price. Great resolution and the tracking parking line are great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice camera

Crutchfield customer from Hiawassee, GA on 2/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice quality product. Easy install for most.

Pros: Quality built

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good value

Nickolaus from Fort Wayne, IN on 2/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation was very easy. Everyone complains about the instructions, but I didn't think they were all that bad. There's really nothing to the install. A couple wires and the video cable and done. Mounting was also a breeze. Nice heavy duty bracket. Picture quality is just fine. Overall, good value. We will see how long this chi-com camera lasts.

Pros: Easy install

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good product

Crutchfield customer from Corinth, MS on 2/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

All in all great product. The only issue I have is it usually has a very quick glitch. Just a momentary flash of the screen.

Pros: All good

Cons: Quick glitch occasionally

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Warrenton, VA on 2/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy yo install. Great field of view.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from El Cajon, CA on 1/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear and easy to see. It is clear at night too.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera

Crutchfield customer from Portland, OR on 1/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear crisp picture for the price. Can be foggy in certain weather conditions.

Pros: Clear

Cons: Can be affected by weather

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Chandler, AZ on 12/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

so far everything is great

Pros: was easy to mount on the spare tire relocate bracket on my Jeep

Cons: I haven't found any yet

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fairmont, WV on 12/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I love this camera easy insulation looks great, good quality. Hope it holds up!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Norfolk, NE on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed easy, was plenty of cable to run it to my stereo in my crew cab truck. So far works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Front Royal, VA on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera was a great price , just had it installed today,so far so good ! The installer was excellent and very helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works well

Crutchfield customer from Fort Belvoir, VA on 11/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera works well in dark and in humidity as well as clear daylight

Pros: Works great

Cons: Instructions are lousy

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Sarasota, FL on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear picture day and night. I would of liked a wider field of view to look up and down my street when I back out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra , VA on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great clarity and easy to install. It real nice to have the backup camera in my 09 Kia Boreggo.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

HENRICO

JOEL from HENRICO on 11/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Should be pretty impressive and its operation especially at night but we shall see

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Best option for drilling the smallest hole

Crutchfield customer from Warwick, NY on 10/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Honestly way easier to set up than expected. The only hard part is running the video line

Pros: Great price, very small hole needs to be drilled in comparison to some other backup cams

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great camera

Crutchfield customer from Round Rock, TX on 9/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use and install. The camera has a quality imagine for both day time and night time.

Pros: Quality image

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Baton Rouge, LA on 9/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good camera system. Very wide angle coverage. Built in guidelines are good. Good night vision. Durability....?

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Joplin, MO on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This was the third back up camera that I have installed on various vehicles and it is by far the best. It was straightforward to wire in and hook up. The camera's brackets are pretty unobtrusive behind the license plate of the car. The picture that is displayed on the screen of the stereo is clear, even in bright sunlight.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Chillicothe, OH on 9/2/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Eden, UT on 8/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Clear picture, cabling included a return wire to make tying into the deck reverse lead very easy.

Pros: Wire for deck reverse lead included. Saved much effort running a separate one.

Cons: The main lead is plenty long, but the camera lead is a little short. Even 6 more inches would make wiring around the trunk hinge cleaner.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Camera with Good Options

Crutchfield customer from Wildwood, MO on 7/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera with decent picture. The backup guide lines turn when you turn but they look a little low res and grainy. I turned those off by using the "cut line" in favor of my receivers backup lines. It installed and worked perfectly on the first try.

Pros: Power and RCA cables are combined into one cable making it easy to simplify all your connections in one place. Multiple mounting options are nice.

Cons: If you use the "cut lines" to change settings, those wires are so tiny, you may not be able to reconnect them if you want to go back to the original settings.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Camera works but website picture of wires incorrect

Crutchfield customer from Hampton, VA on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

1. First, this product does not come with the three piece wire set-up shown in the picture on the Crutchfield website. The wiring shown would allow the camera to be wired always on plus triggered in reverse or only on when triggered in reverse. However, the product received only has two wire pieces and cannot be wired always on with the wiring supplied despite the assurance from tech support that it could. What you will have to do in this case is run your own separate wire from the rear red wire to the radio ACC, and ground the rear black wire (no fun to discover after you have already run the main wire to the radio). Then connect the reverse trigger wire from the radio to the reverse light wire under the dash. Do not get this camera if you desire the always on option. If you only want the camera to be triggered on when in reverse, then you won't have any problem. 2. I give 3 stars since the camera did work Fine after extra effort for wiring. 3. Camera installed on 2010 Honda Civic.

Pros: 1. Wait time for Crutchfield tech support very short. 2. Crutchfield Tech support courteous and professional.

Cons: Wiring supplied not designed for always on option.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from N Wilkesboro, NC on 6/28/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installation was incredibly simple. Picture is great and clear. Have no issues a all with this camera. Big reason for purchase was to help in backing up to bigger trailers. Have it aimed directly at the hitch and life is a lot easier now

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

It's fine

Crutchfield customer from Tallmadge, OH on 6/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

image quality is just o.k. Good for using to line up a trailer. The lines are worthless, just cut the wire right off the bat. Install was easy.

Pros: easy install, decent image

Cons: very thin gauge wires, not sure how durable this will be. the guidelines are not good at all.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Back Up Camer

Crutchfield customer from Spanaway, WA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This back up camera is great. Picture is good, install was fairly simple. The only thing that would have been nice if the wire going from the camera to the head unit had some protection like some other camera manufactures.

Pros: Price, Picture, adjustable, easy install

Cons: No protection for wires

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great back-up camera!

Crutchfield customer from Sonora, CA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little back-up camera.

Pros: Clean installation. The license plate bracket is perfect.

Cons: installation instruction not clear at all. Had to call Crutchfield for assistance.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fieldsboro, NJ on 6/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy install, PLENTY of wire for a crew cab pick-up. Camera is clear .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

lack of clear documentation

Crutchfield customer from WARRENTON, VA on 6/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions very lacking. Everything else I needed to wire from Crutchfield was easy to follow. This item was not included at ALL... still cant get this thing to work.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 6/16/2020
This customer contacted our Tech Support team for help. They will help solve the problem or set up a return within 60 days of purchase. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Woodstock, GA on 5/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera is not that great at night

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice Upgrade to 2006 Suburban

William from JERSEY SHORE, PA on 5/10/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased for use with a Pioneer DMH-1500NEX. Camera integrated nicely with the Pioneer, and there was plenty of cable to run from the dash to rear of a 2006 Suburban. I ran the cable along the drivers side under the trim, and did the final connections behind the tail light. I was able to tie the power leads into the reverse light wiring at the taillight. Connection to the Pioneer was a simple RCA input. Camera provides a nice clear image. Backup lane indicators do turn with the steering wheel...not super precise, but I like the fact they do help tell you which direction you are headed. Overall, it is a great addition, especially for a larger vehicle.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

nice cam

Crutchfield customer from Selma, TX on 5/3/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

good quality. reasonably easy install. picture is good. lines take a little getting use to. nighttime usage is also very good.

Pros: good picture both day and night

Cons: lines take a little while to get use to

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Tuscumbia, AL on 4/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The only problem is that I should have had this camera earlier.

Pros: What! A backup camera and I don't have to pay $4000 for a package on a car.

Cons: Don't close truck tail gate or car truck real hard

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Moosic, PA on 4/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

like alot easy hookup

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Pt Pleasant, NJ on 4/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First camera didnt work, second time no problem.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice, Affordable Back Up Camera

Crutchfield customer from Charlottesville, VA on 4/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This brings your car into the 21st century. Relatively easy to install and works well.

Pros: Easy to install.

Cons: Image is kind of washed out at night. It still does the job though.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good Value - Nice Back-up Camera

Crutchfield customer from Weston, MA on 4/15/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased and installed this unit to go with my Pioneer AHV-221EX in my 2013 Silverado Regular Cab. Camera mounts easily and works well. Running cable to head unit was quite involved, but that is vehicle specific. Very good / clear pictures day and night. I was going to purchase auxiliary back up lights if warranted, but they were not required. I like the optional back up lines and ability to reverse the field of view if necessary. I would have to say that this is as good as you'll get to a stock back-up camera for a vehicle that did not come with one.

Pros: Good pics day and night. Nice aftermarket device.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 4/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Worked great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Vienna, OH on 3/31/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

works great clear picture even in low light

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Grantville, GA on 3/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Wittmann, AZ on 3/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've never really been one for camera's and I still and hopefully will always rely on my mirrors but I got this mostly for my wife and my teenage boy to use BUT having said that I will say that this camera works way better than some of the other cameras that I've seen out there. The image/picture is great, especially in dark or low light situations. I'll have to get more used to the lines turning on the display when my wheels are turned. Still haven't quite figured that part out yet but again I'm still spending more time using my mirrors.........just an old school guy, but overall a great camera and glad I bought and installed it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Livingston, TX on 3/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

picture is grainy !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Not that great

Robert from MARLBOROUGH, NH on 3/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this backup cam by request from Crutchfield sales rep while on their website. Camera just barely reached 1yr since purchased and so many things wrong with it. For a while, I thought the actual picture was very poor - the guidance lines acted as if the camera was on the front of my vehicle. The images was mirrored when it was not supposed to be. That was in the beginning of it's life with me. Skip to now, the screen will give me either a black screen when reversing, an upside down screen, flip back to normal with no guidelines screen, a screen that really resembles a CVT footage, or flip a couple of times while reversing. Needless to say, it is not my idea of a backup camera. I know we always want to try and save money somewhere - but maybe cheap isn't necessarily good. I reached out to Crutchfield tonight to see if they can help me out with a replacement. Hoping it does not have to be the same one, but I am pretty sure it will be. Good luck! I know not everyone will experience the same thing.

Pros: Cheap and easy to install

Cons: Poor Manufacturer instructions - Poor picture quality - Poor design (a bit flimsy and sticks out - barely made it a fully year.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 2/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Work great.....

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, IA on 2/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as it should.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Instructions

Crutchfield customer from Gettysburg, PA on 2/20/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions could be a lot better

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fall Branch, TN on 2/4/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works and its a good price. you can see surprisingly ell t night ith it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great product!!

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 1/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera haven't had a chance to view it at night yet but with all the ir LEDs it should perform great, the moving parking lines however do not work well they move very quickly to one side with the slightest bit of steering wheel input bc they are gyro controlled this was expected but disappointing to find out

Pros: Good camera with IR LEDs

Cons: Parking lines arent accurate at all and don't move with vehicle

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Pensacola, FL on 12/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good. Still optimizing my preferred angle and location. Like having the night vision LEDs on it for those dark early mornings backing up to boat trailer to hitch it up.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Peggy from Prosperity, SC on 12/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy hookup and clear

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Arlington Hts, IL on 11/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to install and does the job well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Awesome purchase

Crutchfield customer from Iron Station, NC on 11/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This little camera works great! It was difficult to find places to run the video cable from behind the stereo to the bak of the truck, but that is no fault of the camera. Surprised at how it knows you are turning to bend the parking lines. Camera on mounting bracket moves for optimal view.

Pros: Excellent camera view Nice parking lines to aid in parking Works great with stereo that accepts backup video

Cons: Long install when finding place to exit vehicle and run wire

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo Back-Up Camera

Crutchfield customer from Cookeville, TN on 10/9/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This little camera is pretty dang cool. The bracket is thin, fits perfect, and is hidden behind the license plate. The camera is small, and it's very clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Eloy, AZ on 8/18/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Screen is to bright (blown out details)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Good when it works

Louis C from Lake Jackson, TX on 8/10/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Installed per the instructions. Camera worked for a few days then starting to come on for a sec the screen went black. Crutchfield sent a replacement and I installed it. It started doing the same thing after a few days. Frustrated I called Crutchfield tech support and they said I should power the camera from the aux power instead of the reverse tail light power as called for in the installation instructions. That involves installing a relay on the reverse light and pulling more wire. I just didn't have it in me to crawl under the truck again so I procrastinated. Meanwhile the camera started working just fine...I don't know why. I gave it a two stars because of my troubles. I would have given it a 5 otherwise as I like the camera and the image is good for the price point.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A review and some info

Rob from Newport News, VA on 7/6/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I installed two Boyo VTL17IRTJ cameras recently, specifically for rear view use (backup). These cameras do the job nicely. The installation is not likely to be quick and easy. The instructions are minimal and the print is abominably small. (What were they thinking?) Routing the cable is probably going to be the hardest part of the installation. You are likely to have to drill a hole in your car and pull down some trim. Get a set of trim removal tools. They are cheap. You will have to hunt up at least a back-up lamp or reverse indicator connection and a ground to connect to. Once installed, you will find that you have parking guidelines in the view, unless you cut the blue wire during installation to disable the option. These guides are often a love-hate thing, so be sure you can get to the blue wire easily in case you want to cut it after the installation. Some reviewers complain that the lines go off into space. This is simply because the camera is aimed too high. Tilt it down. The picture can appear washed out (saturated) during the daytime, and the colors aren't true. It seems to be a compromise so that you will have good night vision, which is when you need this thing most. This camera is well worth its price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

Good Camera

Jim from Bordentown, NJ on 5/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a good camera once you figure out the connections. The video is clear and it shows a wide angle. Wiring the camera is not hard, but the instructions from the manufacturer are useless. I called Crutchfield and in 5 minutes they explained the wiring connections I needed to make to complete the installation.

Pros: Discrete, good picture, great technical help from Crutchfield.

Cons: Poor instructions from the manufacturer

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good unit

Crutchfield customer from Arvada, CO on 4/29/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Parking guides very helpful!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Wabash, IN on 4/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This camera works great for my application. It has all the features and ease of installation that I was looking for.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Okay but not the best

Crutchfield customer from Bluff City, TN on 3/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera is okay , parking lines not so good. first thing I did was cut wire to remove parking lines as the curved lines didn't seem very accurate. I am using the lines within my Kenwood receiver if I need parking lines, but I mainly use the camera for hooking a trailer to my hitch. Resolution is pretty good for a price to quality ratio.

Pros: good resolution for the price

Cons: Parking guidelines not very accurate

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Pinehurst, GA on 3/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture excellent, easy install and set up

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Landers, CA on 3/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works perfectly easy installation love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Jim from Jenks, OK on 3/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

First experience with a back up camera, so I really have nothing to compare it to. Overall though, I'm very satisfied with it. It works well, and performs as advertised. Installation was a bear, but that's kind of to be expected when you're running wires the entire length of a vehicle, and trying to keep them completely out of sight. The actual mounting of the camera was easy, and the instructions were clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Clare, MI on 2/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love this awesome upgrade!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Mitch from Dallas, TX on 2/13/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was really disappointed with this camera. It was recommended by Crutchfield but there was no discussion about the camera picture quality. However, by the time you find out you don't like the camera you already have the cables ran and it's too late. I asked what's the difference between a more expensive camera and I got a vague answer that told me the salesman did not know.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 2/19/2019
Mitch contacted our Customer Support team and set up a return. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days.
Customer review photo

4 of 7 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Frankfort, KY on 2/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera works fine but the picture is not near as clear as the Kenwood can produce. At least that is my experience. I took advice from Crutchfield Tech and ran the power to to radio hot and ground. Now I have camera in reverse and also when going forward can turn the camera on to see my trailer. I do agree with other reviews that the guidelines are sluggish. I really don't need them and there is a loop wire you can cut to turn them off.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Marshall F. from Chapin, SC on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Rear Camera is awsome. Much better than the camera on my car.

Pros: Awesome camera. Picture is clear and backing lines curve when steering wheel is turned.

Cons: RCA corded plug was too short for my truck, but easy local purchase.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Sean from Griffith, IN on 1/28/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as promised. Parking lines aren't as responsive as hoped but an effective camera. Easy install.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Lance from Eufaula, AL on 1/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great picture, but guide lines over exaggerate. Easy installation

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Davie, FL on 1/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Picture is good, but kinda light sensitive. The grid lines turn on their own and make it confusing to back up. I cut the wire loop per instructions to delete them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Sig from Pittsford, NY on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera that I used on my 2009 Ford Econoline Van. I hooked it to the Panasonic 4400 which I bought at the same time. I recommend you have Crutchfield make the wiring kit as it made installing this a no-brainer. The documentation with the camera was useless but it was pretty self-explanatory. I did not use the licese plate holder as this camera needs to be in the middle of the vehicle. I bolted it to the bumper.

Pros: Stupid simple

Cons: Needs to be mounted in middle of the truck.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Randy from Raleigh, NC on 1/15/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A good price and seems fairly simple to install but the instructions provided are lacking. Still trying to figure out where the red cable on the monitor end should connect to. The picture currently has horizontal noise lines running thru it. Hopefully the image will improve once the red wire is connected. :)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Palmyra, VA on 1/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A very good product. great visibility day or night. Very good installation!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Spicewood, TX on 1/2/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works just like a factory unit

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Documantation lacking

Rick from Longview, WA on 12/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Instructions were all but worthless. Print was so small I needed a magnifier even with glasses. Of course the instructions only show one end of the wiring. Also listed the connection this way "(12VDC rear lamp)". What they mean is back up lamp. Didn't convert from Chinese well at all. Also the red wire that is attached to the camera RCA plug goes through to the red wire on the other end of the plug. Fail to mention that also. Watch the YouTube video it will help more than anything else out there. I have no clue why the instruction are never updated, the feedback on the defective instruction is old. It works, but don't expect much more than the typical Offshore Quality. Especially as far as the instructions are concerned.

Pros: works

Cons: Directions are worthless

Crutchfield response on

1 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 12/20/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera. Great night-vision. The only thing I didn't like was the parking assist lines. They kept curving in the wrong direction. I clipped the wire almost immediately to disable the parking assist lines.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

EC from Makawao, HI on 12/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Interesting connections.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Thorsten from Chapel Hill, NC on 11/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great little camera. Installation is fairly easy, depending how far you want to go to hide the wire. The documentation is not all that good and lacks an explanation of different setup options. This youtube video answered all my questions and made my install so much easier. (www.youtube.com/watch?v=rHORKUqlEM4). Would definitely recommend this camera

Pros: Good picture quality

Cons: documentation is very superficial

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Easy installation

Jeff from Oklahoma City, OK on 11/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as it should, installation direction are very easy to understand,

Pros: Ease of installation, image quality

Cons: None that I see

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Camera is okay, guidelines are worthless

Rob from Spudville, Idaho on 11/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've had this for about 1 year now, and I finally am getting around to taking apart the back end of my Lincoln Navigator and cutting the wire for the stupid guidelines. Couple of annoying things about the guidelines: 1) There's no adjustment and they extend up too high, so it looks like it is trying to guide to to back up and fly into the sky. 2) The active parking lines are ridiculous! Since they of course don't tap in to any actual steering system, they must use G-forces to make them respond. Maybe if you always backed up at 20 mph, a design like this would work, but since I don't back up that quickly, there's just not enough g-force, so the lines lag waaaaay behind. Too bad. Seemed like a cool idea, but the reality is the sensitivity is just to low, so I'd call it a fail. (was a big selling point to me compared to others I was considering). Might be better if you could choose to leave the lines static, but maybe not, since they are the guidelines to heaven. Camera quality is okay.

Pros: Camera is fine. Not great, not bad... just fine.

Cons: Guidelines look like they are trying to guide you to heaven, and to get them to be active in a responsive manner, you have to back up at about at about 20 mph. ;)

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 5 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Fulton, MO on 10/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding performance

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Warner Robis, GA on 10/29/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Picture, Great Price

Rusty from Ellettsville, IN on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

first time installing a backup camera and it was fairly easy. The instructions were horrible, basically just a diagram in very small print but after watching a YouTube video everything was very simple. The only knock on the item is the connection from the camera unit to the cable running to the head unit is just a slide in plug with no locking tab. I taped it together when i installed it and it worked fantastic until i went for a drive and the next time i started the car it had NO Signal show up on screen. Pushed connector tighter and came right back on. Happened again on second trip. Redid the tape again and hoping it stays, if not i will be using some LocTite on the connection. Otherwise fantastic picture, washes out a little in direct sunlight but so does the factory one on my Jeep GC.

Pros: Easy Install Great picture

Cons: Poor connector with no locking tab Instructions could have been better

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

First camera I've used

Mike K. from Wilmington, DE on 10/8/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first camera. The install was pretty easy, and thanks to Crutchfield's customersupporrt, I was able to install it with no problems. I hooked it up to a Pioneer mvh 200ex. It works pretty well with the stereo,but sometimes the screen gets a little messed up after shifting in reverse. There will be weird numbers or faded pictures from the camera on the radio and usb part of the stereo. One time I had to actually disconnect my battery due to the camera not turning on in reverse but when I was in drive. I'm not quite sure if that was a problem with the camera or the stereo though. Overall it does what is should and works just fine. I guess technically it's a type of computer and like all the other computers out there, its gonna have glitches.

Pros: Easy install Clear view

Cons: Has glitches with pioneer mvh 200ex

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Comfort, TX on 9/21/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great bargain

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Eddy from Orlando, FL on 9/4/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works good in my Honda Accord 2011

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Real good product. Good quality in daylight and even at night. Very impressed with the resolution

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Seattle, WA on 8/31/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Image is good, and wires are long enough to get to the back of my f150. However, the steering guidance lines in the image are slow to respond and become distracting rather than helpful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Nice little camera

Crutchfield customer from Tallahassee, FL on 8/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does it's job

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Huntingtown, MD on 8/19/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice camera with a very wide view. The backup lines can not be adjusted so if you want to have something that works get a head unit with them. Also, the camera does stick out a bit from the license plate. I have a large SUV with a step bumper. You have to be careful when standing on the bumper so that you do not step on the camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Decent camera

Bryan from Belews Creek , NC on 8/14/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I mounted the camera on the back of my enclosed landscaping trailer above the ramp door to act as an rear-view mirror when towing. The colors are not quite as accurate as I would have expected. Greens look reddish on a sunny day but under fluorescent lighting the colors seem more correct. Could be due to the angle of light hitting the lens but haven't looked much into it. That being said, it's fine for my needs. Even with the camera 8ft off the ground the IR LED's are bright enough to see clearly behind the trailer on the head unit. I'm not using the parking lines so can't comment on them. One thing I didn't like is that the camera has about 4-5ft. of cable coming out of it to a seemingly proprietary 4-pin connector (containing both power and video leads). The mating portion of the connector splits the power and video which is fine, but no matter what your video will always pass through all 18ft or so of the composite cable as there is no way to shorten this. The Jensen, on the other hand, has about 3-4ft of video cable from the camera to a female RCA connector so you could use any length extension cable after it. My total video run is about 50ft and I am getting noticeable video noise from the brake/turn signals (but have not played with using a different ground or supply tie-in point yet). The package came with an RCA male to male adapter but that seems pointless...it really needs a female to female adapter to add an extension cable for the video.

Pros: IR LED's do a good job at night

Cons: No way to add RCA extension cable without buying an additional adapter Colors are shifted under some lighting conditions

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Vevay, IN on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Its works great only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the first one was bad. But they sent out a replacement one right away and it's perfect! Love it

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Low quality compared to what is in new vehicles

Brent from Glendale, AZ on 8/7/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not very high quality, but it works. I personally regret not getting the nicer Alpine camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great camera

Robert from Arlington, TX on 8/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good camera, only one I have found that has trajectory lines. The IR night vision is a plus. Would have been 5 stars but instructions are somewhat lacking.

Pros: Mount behind license plate Has an OEM look Night vision a plus

Cons: Instructions

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

It's okay.

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's okay... but for the price, I expected better than "okay." Things I like: long cable, easy mounting and installation. Things I don't like: the backup lines. I'd prefer static ones, the constant "snaking" according to steering wheel movement is distracting and unhelpful. It's especially bad if you're checking the camera for safety reasons via an override while driving on the highway, for instance to monitor your hitch or if you're driving a cargo vehicle with no rear windows and you need to check for vehicles behind you. Every movement of the steering wheel makes the lines move on the screen which is very distracting and not what you want when you're doing a quick proximity check.

Pros: long cable easy mounting easy installation

Cons: overpriced backup lines are not static and distracting

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good Cam, No Install Instructions

John T. from St Paul, MN on 7/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall, good picture quality and has the ability to adjust picture settings when paired w/Pioneer AVH1440. Installation instructions are absolutely terrible/non-existent. To add insult to injury, improper installation can (and did, in my case) fry out the electronics ahead of it. Once installed properly, you realize it is so easy to install, that you have to wonder why there are no install instructions included (either from Boyo or Crutchfield). I understand that there are a variety of ways to install depending on a person's requirements, but a simple instruction sheet that briefly describes the various methods would have saved me 2 days of labor replacing damaged equipment. I did call Crutchfield's tech line prior to installing and was given bad information, and to their credit, they replaced my entire order, which is exactly why I buy from them. All things considered, cam is very easy to install once you understand which wires to connect and which ones not to connect. That is why I was so frustrated with the whole deal, it's so simple that there should be absolutely no reason why a 3-4 sentence w/diagram install sheet couldn't be included with Crutchfield's otherwise great install information. I have to believe that virtually every camera, regardless of who makes it, installs almost the same way, so there wouldn't be a great deal of work involved in creating one.

Pros: - Good cam picture.

Cons: - No instructions from Boyo or Crutchfield on install. - Back up lines are not as accurate as OEM lines.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Bloxom, VA on 7/16/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works Great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Jason from Hemlock, MI on 7/9/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very easy to install and better quality picture than factory camera.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good camera. View could be wider.

John from Cocoa Beach, FL on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It works OK, but I have it on a super duty truck and the view is not quite wide enough for where the camera mounts on the license plate. I think it would be better on a mid size car. The parking lines are shaky and weird. Easy install and extra long wire are nice. Good camera overall. Great for hitching to trailers. Not great for backing into narrow space.

Pros: Easy install. Long cable included.

Cons: Narrow view for my big truck.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Funny color

Crutchfield customer from Newark, DE on 7/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This works well, and came with a long enough cable to snake to the front of my Mazda 5. For some reason the video is very red shifted (green became purple) and the parking assist lines do a terrible job of guessing which way you are turning.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Relatively Easy Installation

Paul from Big Rapids, MI on 6/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you have a little common sense this is a pretty easy installation Pretty good price for a backup cam

Pros: Wire was long enough to reach the head unit in my Ram extended cab long box pickup! It works!

Cons: Instructions could be better, but it wasn't a problem

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Good for the price

Micah from Friendswood, TX on 6/6/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Camera was a great addition to an old truck. However, the view has a strange coloring that I'll just have to get used to. I'm not unhappy with it, but I had hoped for a little better picture. Beggars can't be choosers. Great price for what you get.

Pros: price point

Cons: image is OK

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Huntsville, TX on 6/5/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great camera perfect for my car paired very well with my radio very easy to install has the back up lines glad I made this choice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Middletown, NY on 6/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

great camera iam able to hook up rear trailer much easier and faster

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Boyo VTL17IRTJ

Crutchfield customer from Oak Harbor, WA on 5/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As advertised, works great, simple install, Crutchfield is a great company to do business with.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful