Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
784 931 95
Connect ID #
784 931 95
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Compact powered subwoofer

MFR # 1063511

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Compact powered subwoofer

MFR # 1063511

30 reviews
View this product

Great buy!

David from Sherman Oaks, CA on 8/7/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Exactly what I needed; powerful, clean and layered bass to round out the sound. On the Jazz records, sounds like there's a bass player in the corner. On movies, noticing details in sound that passed us by.highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Very good subwoofer option

Stephen from Redwood City, CA on 7/24/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This subwoofer really adds to the listening experience. I'm using it in conjunction with Klipsch The Fives speakers. It's a good option for a small room with limited location options. I originally wanted a 10" front firing sub but couldn't accommodate the size. This 8" provides plenty of bass. A little tricky getting it adjusted for all types of music. The Klipsch app's equalizer function helps as does the Fives' remote.

Pros: Good sound in a compact package

Cons: Kinda pricey

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Matthew from San Jose, CA on 6/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have more to explore but so far so good! Reggae and jazz sound amazing!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Instant pleasure

Crutchfield customer from Canastota, NY on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hooked it up, turned it on,fine tuned it. Instant pleasure. Ads new dimension to my jazz and classic music collection.

Pros: Only took about ten minutes to get going.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Wow

Crutchfield customer from Carbondale, CO on 9/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the size the bass this fella packs is stunning. I bought the klipsch reference theater pack 5.1 upped the front L&R to the klipsch m41 and added a second sub to equalize the bass. Absolutely impressive sound. Anybody looking for a compact sub for a small to mid size room you'll be blown away by this sub. Don't let the size fool you.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Great powered subwoffer

Crutchfield customer from Winter Park, FL on 7/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great powered sub woofer. It is adjustable such that it can be made to blend in perfectly with one's system. I am very happy with it and appreciate Crutchfield's technical support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Fives and Reference R-8SW

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsville, VA on 5/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It makes a great companion for the Klipsch Fives in my kitchen . Small enough to place easily in most small areas like a kitchen, and adds a nice bottom to the Fives, with out taking up too much space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Crutchfield customer from Embarrass, MN on 5/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice addition to my setup! I enjoy it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Crutchfield customer from Plymouth, IN on 11/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little sub for a small area. I have this paired with my R-15M speakers and its a nice little system for a small space.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Henry from Novato, CA on 7/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very disappointing. It failed after less two and a half years. Don't buy it!

Pros: Adequate

Cons: Should last longer.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Jose from Guaynabo, PR on 12/12/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I bought a pair of R-41PMs to update a failing 10+ years Bose speaker setup for my PC. The speakers deliver clear, crisp, powerful sound. But in my opinion, and just as a personal preference, they needed the extra boost of a subwoofer. I chose the R-8SW mainly for its size and price, but don't let it fool you. This is a very powerful subwoofer, which effectively takes music and movies to a whole next level. The bass is strong yet it feels much smoother than my previous setup. Maybe it is the fact that the unit is not just resting on the floor (it has four legs keeping it around two inches above the floor), but I have noticed the windows, objects and mirrors around the room do not vibrate as much, even when I was pushing the subwoofer to its limits. I can confirm the thumping sound issue when the audio comes on after being the unit has been off for an extended period of time (I would say more than 1 hour), but it is something I have got used too and doesn't seem to affect the whole quality of the sound afterward. This is the only reason for a 4-star rating, but it shouldn't be a reason to not add this little marvel to your setup. Both the speakers and the sub may have costed more than what I was intending to pay for the upgrade, but if I knew this was what I was getting, I would have made the change a long time ago!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Crutchfield customer from Flemington, NJ on 10/7/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Lots f bass for a small unit but a little boomey

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Disappointing purchase

Crutchfield customer from Lenoir, NC on 8/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Klipsch R-8SW is visually appealing, a nice compact design with very little chance of accidentally damaging the driver as it is mounted underneath the unit. Operationally however the R-8SW has a design issue in my opinion. The unit produces a extremely loud thump when in auto on/off mode. I am able to mitigate the issue somewhat by turning the gain down to minimum and turning the power switch manually on and off. Having to operate the R-8SW power switch manually and having to adjust the gain every time I want to use it is not convenient and negates having the auto on/off switch. I have the R-8SW connected to a set of Klipsch R-41PM which I like a great deal. I have contacted Crutchfield about the subwoofer issue and I am told that this thumping is nothing to worry about. A little thump I can possibly understand but the issue I'm having cannot be normal in my opinion. I also have a Polk Audio subwoofer in my home theatre setup and it does not make any thumping or other noise when powering on or off. I love the R-41PMs but I'm really disappointed with the R-8SW given the issue I'm having and the quality reputation of Klipsch.

Pros: Styling

Cons: Operational design

Crutchfield response on 8/27/2019
We're sorry you're disappointed with your sub. Whenever you are not completely satisfied with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Customer Support team at 1-800-955-9091. Purchases from Crutchfield can be returned or exchanged within 60 days of the purchase.

6 of 7 found this helpful

Quality to Price Ratio is High

Crutchfield customer from Austin, TX on 5/31/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Needed a good quality, yet inexpensive, sub for my living room. Also had size constraints. The R-8SW did the trick! There are certainly better performing subs out there, but for this price point, the R-8SW is a great choice.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Good bass Klipsch R-8sw 8" subwoofer for limit of space.

Crutchfield customer from San Francisco, CA on 5/17/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The "Klipsch R-8sw subwoofer" works as advertised, the only thing that annoys me is; Auto power on/off/standby makes an audible thump noise.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Klipsch sub

Crutchfield customer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This sub is very compact and has excellent sound quality. Definitely recommend it for small to medium sized rooms. It works perfectly with my NAD D3020 and Monitor Audio Bronze 2's as a bedroom setup.

Pros: Very loud for its size

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great addition

George from Cheektowaga, NY on 2/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased the R-8SW to complement a 12 inch subwoofer that I own. Let me tell you that the Klipsch subwoofer has improved my 7.2 system beautifully. The tight bass of this unit improved my movie experience, and drastically improved my music audio. A great complement to my theater system and to Klipsch.

Pros: Beautiful sound, down firing tight sub complements my 12 inch front firing sub. Perfection!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

good bass in a small package

Steph from San Francisco, CA on 2/26/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been using the R-8SW for several months now and its proven to be a great purchase. I purchased it as a replacement for a much larger subwoofer and I don't regret the change. Loud and discrete-looking, I think it's perfect if you live in a relatively small space but still care about getting that low end in your music or games.

Pros: Size Looks (subjective but I like the simple look) Power

Cons: Exposed downwards firing cone (be careful when moving, etc...) Generates a rather loud punch when turned on

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

A good fit for a small home theater

Crutchfield customer from Greenville, PA on 10/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The subwoofer was reasonably priced, came very securely packaged, and arrived when scheduled. The subwoofer is a good fit for my present small home theater, providing ample bass for the small room in which it is used. I would have given it 5 stars, but I have been "spoiled" by the 15" subwoofer with several hundred amplifier watts which I used to own in a much larger home theater and, more importantly, which had a cleaner sound. To be fair, that 15" subwoofer cost 5 times this 8" Klipsch. Although Crutchfield's price was a little higher than some others, the difference was easily made up by the superior service and reputation of Crutchfield. Of course, I would buy from Crutchfield again and would recommend them highly.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great, stylish affordable

Garnet from Harlingen, TX on 6/11/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great, stylish affordable sub-woofer. I would highly recommend it. You plug it in and there is a deep quick "boom" for testing. Turns on and off automatically when connected equipment turns on or off. Has a deep rich sound with the "positive" plug for a single RCA output for the subwoofer connection. This output is often labeled LFE. It sends bass information to a powered subwoofer. It also accepts the two RCA left/right connections.

Pros: Everything

Cons: None that I can detect.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

John from Hudson, WI on 5/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having fallen into the trap of earbud listening, I decided last year to acquire a pair of Klipsch bookshelf speakers to try to expand the aural experience from a singularity to the broader spectrum experience it as meant to be. But still something was missing...of course! The sensible, visceral feeling of the music! The R-8SW Filled that part of the frequency domain perfectly in the listening space of my home office. Even at a very modest gain setting, it balances and complements the bookshelf speakers and restores many of the deeper bass elements that I missed from the old days when floor standing tower speakers ruled the earth...or at least my part of it. Maybe other subwoofer brands would do the same, but I appreciate the solid quality and look of the Klipsch product.

Pros: Excellent for small to medium listening spaces.

Cons: None to speak of...

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Guest from Berkeley,ca on 4/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I just bought this unit and man this subwoofer really rocks. I have it inside my wherehouse that is 8000 sq and it rocks the building. Music never sounded good!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Great Subwoofer for the Price

Wayne from Saint Augustine, FL on 2/27/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After our den was remodeled, we were able to replace our awful in-ceiling speakers with a pair of Klipsch RP-160M bookshelf speakers. We already had a Klipsch SW-110 to round out the bottom end. However, with the subwoofer placed in the left-rear side of the room, the sound was somewhat left-side biased. To counter that issue we purchased the Klipsch Reference R-8SW to place in the right-rear side of the room. We didn't need a more powerful sub and wanted something with a small footprint. The R-8SW filled the bill. The sound is now balanced and the soundstage is incredible. Crutchfield is our go-to place for electronics. Great products and customer service that can be relied up when needed.

Pros: Small footprint, great price, tight bass, nice volume and low-pass filter controls

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Steve from Kingsland, GA on 11/17/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound and great looks, looking forward to buying towers to go with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Klipsch Reference R-8SW

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 9/10/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great sound in a small package. Works well with The Sixes. Thanks Crutchfield for outstanding tech support.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Sub, very pleased.

Charles from Raleigh, NC on 9/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Long story short, this Klipsch R-8SW is replacing a Polk Audio 8" powered sub-woofer which was part of the TL-1600 surround sound package I purchased in Jan 2017 from a local retailer. The Polk failed on me within 3 months, just inside the warranty date. I had to pay to ship it back for the warranty work. It was returned four weeks later with a new problem and still did not work. Granted the Klipsch and Polk are probably peers based on their size, that is where the comparisons end. In my medium size family room, 13.5' x 15.5' the Klipsch is more than adequate. In fact, I have to have be careful with the gain and the volume because I will rattle the house or annoy my 16 yr old daughter in her room directly above. Remember, this is down firing sub, and my family room is carpeted. The Klipsch is nicely sized and sits under an end table near the sectional. If you are looking for a 8" powered subwoofer in the Klipsch price range, I would highly recommend it.

Pros: I got it when it was on sale, but now that I have it, it is worth the regular price.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Great Sub! Perfect for mid-small room

ROGER from Santa Rosa, CA on 8/6/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I purchased this to accompany my "den" audio system--a Marantz HD-AMP1 with some older Boston Acoustics CR6 Bookshelf Speakers. I use this to listen to music and to provide background for jazz-improv practice--an application that requires a very nice bass. I really like the BA CR6's and their bass response is impressive given their size. But this nice jewel for a relatively small room really fills out the lower end. Marantz does a great job of designing the crossover setting as well as the volume. The automatic-off/on feature works perfectly and in spite of its small size, I can really rock this room when the house is empty and the cats are anesthetized.

Pros: - Nice looks--very nice looks. - Auto Off/On - Adjustable crossover

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great Subwoofer

Angel from Miami, FL on 6/5/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love the speaker

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Just what I wanted!

Richard from Pensacola, FL on 4/27/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted a subwoofer that would complement my entertainment system. If I am listening to Andrea Bocelli or watching Rogue One I don't want it to dominate, only enhance. I tried a 10" front firing sub and could not take it back fast enough. The Klipsch R-8sw 8" down fire is absolutely perfect for my medium sized room. Its just what I wanted!

Pros: Big quality bass, small space.

Cons: Not a thing!

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Perfect for my needs

John from Smithtown, NY on 4/3/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great match for the Klipsch R-24F speakers. More than enough power handling capacity - mine is set below the midpoint just to the level where it matches the volume of my speakers - and is perfect@ This Sub can rock the house if you like but I just use it to fill in the bass at a medium to low level and it is solid. Right sized to fit in a number of places in a room and not appear obtrusive. Looks good and constructed well. Price is at the top of my limit for a Sub of this size and power - but am very happy with my purchase due to size, sound and construction quality. A few bucks less would be even more attractive however. I do recommend the Sub - it does more than it's job and sounds and looks great - fills in the bass naturally - tight. Easy set-up.

Pros: Sound, size, looks and construction quality.

Cons: Price could be a little lower - price is at my max for a unit of this size and power level.

Crutchfield response on

12 of 12 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound