Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
041 886 89
Connect ID #
041 886 89

Sorry, chat is currently unavailable

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

NAD C 558

NAD C 558 Manual belt-drive turntable with pre-mounted moving magnet phono cartridge

MFR # C558

4.5 out of 5 stars
20 reviews
View this product
NAD C 558

Guy from Norristown, PA on 4/14/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

set up not easy . I had to buy a pressure gauge to measure stylus pressure correctly. Dust cover cannot be put down when playing a record without hitting the tonearm.

Pros: sound seems good . well constructed

Cons: tonearm set up ,dust cover problem, not being fully automatic will take some time getting used to due to years of using auto type(not the turntable's fault)

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

What a dissapointment.

David from Old Saybrook, CT on 3/20/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Can't really say if this is a good turntable or not or if I like it or not. There is absolutely ZERO documentation provided. Nothing. That might be fine if you're someone who has any idea of how to set these up. I don't. Not a clue. Sure I figured out how to put the belt on and the actual table on and the cover. But with NO documentation, that is as far as I got. There are some pieces which I have no idea where they go, how they're used or what they even are. Totally disappointing. Obviously I'll be searching the internet ( within the free 60 day return time frame ) to find SOMETHING to help with the set up. I owned NAD equipment back in the 80s and was quite impressed. So far, not so much. All of that said, it sure looks good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 3/25/2024
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, Andrew, reached out to David to help him further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

1 of 1 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Michael from READING, PA on 12/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to love this. Spent lots of time looking at Project turntables (Evo), but ultimately took a chance on this- designed by NAD, but largely assembled with Project parts. Preferred the overall design of this over the Evo and especially that raised glass platter. Unfortunately with the pack in plastic subplatter it sits on, which has considerable play when it turns in its bearing, that glass platter ends up to having some pretty pronounced vertical wobble. Even zero warped records end up "riding the wave" as you watch the tonearm bop up and down. Wanting things to work out with this table, I asked for a replacement and got the exact same result. Would a 3rd or 4th try have yielded a subplatter that would spin true? Maybe? I wont find out though, as i swapped this for the Evo, which spins true, and is a keeper. To its credit, the NAD did sound great and i don't believe the wobble compromised anything there, and it never skipped while playing, and again, loved the look (that lovely glass platter), but my obsessive compulsive heart just couldn't take that looking take looking at that uneven spin and the tonearm ever riding that wave. Maybe the NAD 588 would have yielded better results with a better machined metal subplatter.. And let me finish by saying none of this is a knock to Crutchfield who has been super through this whole process in landing the right turntable for me. They get 10 stars for their part.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Monte from Ames, IA on 10/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Love it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Crutchfield customer from Northern California on 9/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great turntable for the price, especially with the sale. Only quip is setting the tracking force is pretty fiddly as it's difficult to move the counterweight in small enough increments to get it where it needs to be. Definitely requires a digital tracking force scale. Very well made, great sound, silent operation, very happy with purchase.

Pros: Value for money.

Cons: Setting tracking force could be easier.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

This TT did not disappoint!

Dean from Hershey, PA on 7/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was hesitant on this TT for two reasons: 1. It was an outlet product so I didn't know what I was getting. 2. Although it carries the NAD badge, its guts are made by Pro-Ject. Like usual the product arrived in a timely manner. So fast indeed that I had to race home before my wife found out I bought another turntable! Although it was an outlet product it was in perfect condition so, cool! I just saved 200 bills! Setup was easy and the finish on the plinth is absolutely gorgeous! The glass platter makes everything look even better. I did make a couple of personal changes but the upgrades were minimal. I replaced the felt mat with a leather mat and I pulled the stylus off of the Ortofon OM10 and slipped an OM40 stylus (that I already happened to own) on there. The Pro-Ject guts are of exceptional quality! A quiet motor and a well-balanced aluminum tonearm. And don't sell the OM10 short, it's an exceptional cartridge for the money but, if you have an OM40, come on! The only thing that appeals to me more on the C588, the C558's big brother, are those nice isolation feet. I may have to see if I can get a set!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Great product-lousy online instruction manual

R from Hanover, NH on 11/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great product; lousy instruction manual. No instructions as to connecting power plug (multiple plugs for use in different countries); stylus guard; set screw on counterweight; dust cover; or installing anti-skating weight. No information on proper setting for vertical tracking and antiskating forces.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 8 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Sam from Hastings Hdsn, NY on 6/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Tim suggested this model solid as a rock Good choice

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Crutchfield customer from Wake Forest, NC on 4/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice Turntable, gets the job done. Simple design but effective.

Pros: Great sound through a good pre-Amp

Cons: limited Instructions, cannot close dust cover until arm is lowered

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

NAD C 558 review

Crutchfield customer from Reston, VA on 5/18/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice out the box near ready to play turntable.

Pros: Pros: Great turntable of for the price. Sounds great.

Cons: Cons: Similar parts of other low end turntables with a noticeable amount of vibration and motor noise. Some set up adjustments were not well documented.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

great for those Turntable Tweakers

John from Spring Hill, FL on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a rebuilt BIC 940 with a Grado Gold and a Technics SL-Q2 with numerous MC and MM cartridges. I use these with 2 different systems. My living room is Emotiva (500 watts solid state) with Klipsch RF7-II, spare bed is Jolida (50 watts tube amp) JD302CRC and Project Tube Box DS with Klipsch RB81-II and Polk S60's that I alternate with. Both sound great and are holographic at times. OK now to the NADC558. I bought this TT for all of the adjustments for tweaking until now I only had VTF and antiskate on other two TT. Adjusting azimuth was shimming cartidges and using xtra records or various mats to achieve VTA of tonearms. I give the NAD a 5 for tweakabillity. Now for seting it up. You'll need a steady hand and patience, I swapped the Ortofon for my Denon DL-110 MC cartridge upgrade. Use tweezers and go slow at it so you don't damage wires or cartridge. This was a vast improvement in sonics n imaging. Use a cotton swab with some Armorall dabbed on rubber for counterweight it will make it easier to slide it on tonearm for minute adjusting. Adjusting tonearm pillar height for VTA is a bear, I used popsicle sticks n feeler gauge shimms to hold in place while working it for alignment and tightening otherwise get a second pair of helping hands. Overall I give it a 4.5 for affordability, adjustments and materials. I could'nt get pillar low enough to get good VTA for cartridge had to use thicker felt mat to do this not a biggie though. Would be nice to have removable head shell.

Pros: Affordable, all of adjustments needed for tweaking.Great entry level performer with better cartridges. I actually rate this as a 4.5 due to my Cons comments.

Cons: Owners manual has to be downloaded and printed for detail setup and adjustments. Low end cartridge ya have to get a better one to achieve potential, Sumiko Oyster would be nice affordable choice. Tool for adjusting VTF is cheap get a better one you'll save time. Turntable feet are not adjustable need to shim or get a base. All in all I would recommend.

Crutchfield response on

13 of 15 found this helpful

Expensive turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 6/27/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Turntable dispatched by UPS on time and no significant damage. Most expensive turntable invested thus far!

Pros: Excellent weight distribution. Good turntables cost at a premium. Stylish and modern.

Cons: Nothing at note.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

2 of 12 found this helpful

Great Turntable!

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 6/25/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great turntable with a lot of bang for the buck. It comes loaded with an Ortofon OM-10 cartridge. Setting the VTF using the supplied plastic balance gauges is tricky-save yourself the frustration and buy a digital tracking force gauge from Amazon. It's $12 well spent. This unit sounds fantastic paired with my Onkyo receiver and Polk speakers. The glass platter looks cool too!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Daly City

Richard from Daly City on 6/23/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This turntable is all around excellent, but the spindle feels rather cheap like plastic instead of the solid stainless steel!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 6 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Crutchfield customer from Uxbridge, MA on 5/30/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice turntable. Adjusting the tone arm weight is tricky. if the end of the arm has a fine screw thread with a matching one on the weight, adjustments would be trivial rather than painful.

Pros: Simple in design and use, clearly effort went into the important things

Cons: adjusting the tonearm force is tricky

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

C558 excellent.

Crutchfield customer from New York, NY on 1/16/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

High-quality build, beautiful design, simple operation and great sound. Matches vintage NAD equipment. Excellent.

Pros: See review comments.

Cons: None encountered.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

A Fine Turntable

Chad from Traverse City, MI on 11/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great looking turntable: sleek/minimalist, with solid, rugged construction--and you cant beat that glass platter. From what I understand, these are actually made by Planar, hence the glass. Set-up is fairly easy, providing you pay close attention to the directions. In my case, tone-arm balance/'counterweight' tweaks were necessary, as was fiddling with the set screws for optimal tone-arm levelling. You'll note (on the quick reference guide--the only set of directions included in the shipping box) that you're referred to the NAD 'site for details re: advanced set-up. Not sure why NAD doesn't just throw those into the box, but hey. The sound is superb, although I wasn't able to do a true 'apples-to-apples' comparison, since I'd replaced my old amp with an NAD 3020 AND my old speakers with new Wharfedales. Suffice it to say that I am hearing details in my records that I'd never really noticed before. The only possible drawback: missing the convenience of an automatic turntable. When the album side is finished, you will have to walk over, lift up the tone-arm, and return it to its cradle. Not a big deal at all, though, and should not deter anyone from buying this thing. Who is into vinyl strictly for convenience, after all?

Pros: Minimalist aesthetic; great sound

Cons: Fully manual operation may dissuade some

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

The NAD C558 turntable, exceptional performance

Stephen Foundling from Verona, WI on 11/1/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The NAD C558 HiFidelity turntable is an extremely well manufactured turntable, the heavy glass platter comes to speed quickly and reproduction of the rich analog sound from my aging vinyl albums with the Ortofon OM10 diamond stylus stereo cartridge is superb. The quality of the aluminum tracking arm is very good. I can highly recommend the NAD C558 turntable to a HiFi enthusiast. Setting the style and cartridge tracking force is always important for any turntable. Sound reproduction depends greatly on setting the correct cartridge mass. NAD supplies some tools for this, however they could improve on the published instruction set for balancing the counter weight for the tracking arm. Instructions are a little sparse. The beam balance tool is a little imprecise for its intended purpose. I own a Shure balance tool, which h I used to confirm that the tracking arm was indeed set a little light using the NAD tool supplied. Ortofon sells a superior tool to set the cartridge mass required for optimum performance. The performance of the NAD C558 turntable with the Yahama R-N303 receiver and Klipsch RP-400OF speakers is really breathtaking. To quote a lyric from a timeless album, "I will ease your mind". Thank you Crutchfield and all your associates. "When you need a friend", reach out, Crutchfield is only a phone call away.

Pros: Superb turntable stability and linearity, the pre-mounted cartridge delivers exceptionally clear sound with a richness that I thought was lost for the past two decades. Welcome back to the richness of analog vinyl with the NAD C558 manual turntable.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

good turntable, good price

Paul from Eugene, OR on 9/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The turntable is easy to set up - including setting the counterweight and vertical tracking force. It pairs well with my NAD integrated amp and I'm quite impressed with the sound that comes out of them.

Pros: Easy to set up and operate, good price-to-quality ratio, and the RCA connection cord that ships with it is very nice rather than a cheap afterthought.

Cons: It wasn't on sale.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

NAD C 558

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth TX on 2/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This turntable replaces a Rega planar 1 that I recently purchased. It came with a rapid ticking noise on the right channel. However, just ran through a couple of my favorite albums and I'm very satisfied with the sound and performance of my first NAD product. This cost a little more than the planar 1 but you get so much more. You get much better quality detachable leads with a ground wire. Adjustable tone arm weight for cartridge flexibility. ( The set screw is at the bottom of the threads. So don't call CS and complain like this guy I know. ) Has tone arm height adjustment and anti-skating adjustment via a dial. Took me about 30 minutes to get it set-up. I love the glass platter which could serve as a flywheel on a tractor when you're not playing records. Comes with every tool and gauge you need to set it up. Only con I have is that it only came with a Quick set-up card. Had to go online to get the complete set up instructions. It's totally worth the extra dollars and the 30 minutes you'll spend getting it playable. Excuse me, I have to disturb the neighbors.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

36 of 37 found this helpful

Compare the sound