Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
784 931 95
Connect ID #
784 931 95
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio Evo 150

Integrated amplifier with HDMI, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth® and Apple AirPlay® 2

MFR # C11226

Cambridge Audio Evo 150

Cambridge Audio Evo 150

Integrated amplifier with HDMI, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth® and Apple AirPlay® 2

MFR # C11226

18 reviews
View this product

No Regrets

Tony from Irvine, CA on 8/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This unit is amazing Easy to use ( plug and play) The sound is sweet and clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Dreamy

Brian from BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA on 7/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been enjoying a house full of Sonos speakers for years, but I wanted an upgrade and also wanted to add a turntable. I really struggled to spend this much money, but I also didn't want an ugly big black box. This is also partially furniture. Important features for me were (1) built-in Spotify or Apple Music (don't want to always be dependent on a phone or iPad), (2) AirPlay 2 support (for when I want to blast throughout the house), and (3) phono input (so I could get a better turntable). Sure I could have saved $500 or more by buying multiple devices, but the all-in-one is very compelling. This system has blown me away, and I feel it is worth every penny. I also am very happy with Crutchfield, since they pack nicely and don't send you smashed open boxes like other retailers do (I'm looking at you, BB). I also unexpectedly appreciated the pre-amp out, so I could temporarily plug it into powered speakers due to BB sending me smashed speakers (new speakers now coming from Crutchfield).

Pros: Sounds good, beautiful, feature rich, easy to set up, easy to use, Spotify built-in, numerous source options, makes you live longer.

Cons: Expensive.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Best of the category

Jason from Hurst on 4/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've now tried I think most of the options in the category of integrated amplifier with robust streaming features and a nice screen. I didn't really consider the Cambridge option initially, but glad I gave it a shot. Very happy with it. I started with the NAD M10 v2. Nice form factor, plus Dirac and the ability to high/low pass. Dirac did some great things, and some not great things. In the end I preferred it off. The NAD gets seriously HOT. No physical volume control got annoying. Sound was good though, and BluOs was great. Naim Uniti Atom. Sound was good. Built like a tank. Never got even warm. No track buttons on the unit is dumb. Power is fine nearfield, but didn't have the drive of the NAD. Evo 150. Sound was good. The swappable side panels and matte (vs the glossy NAD) build are nice. Screen is better than the NAD and the Naim. Physical controls on the unit are nice - I was worried I kept reading about small, hard to press buttons. But they work fine for me. The Cambridge app is no where near as nice as BluOs, and not a good as Naim's either. But I stream direct from Roon, so that became a moot point. Stays a lot cooler than the NAD. You can tell it's getting warm and heating up, but the ventilation is a lot better. Funny that the one class AB amp in the Naim is the coolest running. XLR inputs are nice. HT Bypass option is nice. The unit itself is snappy, quicker than the Naim to play/pause/skip track. Overall love

Pros: Powerful Good ventilation Snappy performance Best screen vs NAD and Naim XLR USB input - which is missing on NAD and Naim

Cons: Cambridge's app works fine but looks pretty low rent Volume dial could be a little more responsive It's bigger than it's competition, takes up more desk space if you use it there. May not fit in some shallower media units especially with cables attached. No room correction (even if I didn't like Dirac in my living room, it's a wonderful option to have and does work) No EQ, just basic tone controls

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Incredible options packed into one machine

Keith from Gurley, AL on 3/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's expensive. But it packs so many options I haven't even been able to explore everything it can do yet. I started looking at other receiver options to pair with a different streamer and while you can build something cheaper having everything in one neat package makes this worth the price (for the 150). I have it hooked up to my ProJect TT and I am streaming music from Amazon HD (though currently I am only streaming CD quality through my phone). I have the Evo paired with Triangle Borea Speakers. It definitely sounds great and delivers very crisp and clear sound to the speakers. I have not explored all of the streaming options yet but using Apple Airplay works flawlessly. I have it connected to my TV via optical connection and the sound is very good. One thing I will say is that the buttons on the display face are difficult to see. I thought it was "touch screen" and almost sent it back because I didn't think the screen was working (I had to use my remote). I didn't notice there were actual buttons until I downloaded the manual. I am not a huge fan of the app FWIW.

Pros: Super easy to navigate, Flawless Streaming, Great turn table hook up, Tons of options, sounds phenomenal

Cons: Expensive, The screen looks like it is touch screen but there are buttons (not really a con, but I almost sent it back because I thought the touch screen was broken. It would behoove Cambridge to make that more clear on the set up.) I don't love the App

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Almost Perfect

Adam from SIOUX FALLS, SD on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I wanted an esthetically pleasing integrated amp as my living room is also my listening space. I tried the Kef LS50 Wireless II's (switched to the LS50 Metas), the NAD M10, and the EVO 150. The Cambridge won hands down for me. The sound, power, connectivity, looks, and stability of performance all added up to the best option for me. 4.75 stars.

Pros: Neutral sound (my preference) Solid App with lots of streaming options Connectivity Usable Phono stage Great Looks

Cons: No high/low pass options on the main and sub outputs. Please Cambridge, make this happen and the EVO 150 will be perfect for my needs.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Priced for looks not performance

Tyler from LOUISVILLE, KY on 2/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It is a good amp, at a great amp price point. I know that there are amps $5K plus that are "great", but when your spending this amount you expect to have a substantial increase in performance over $750 surround sound receiver and that just isn't the case. I compared these to a Marantz NR1510 and could only notice that the Cambridge was a little better at articulating the high frequencies. Again, it is a $2.3K difference for slightly better performance. At low volume levels I couldn't tell the difference between the two. With the EVO 150 being 150W I still had to turn it up to 65 until the music was clear and was loud, which was the same level as the Marantz. The Cambridge has better features, a cool display and I like the app. If you are more concerned with the design elements in a living space, and just want an AMP that does the job, then the EVO 150 is for you. If you care more about the sound, you can go much cheaper and achieve the same goal.

Pros: Looks cool Gets the job done

Cons: Does not justify the Price

Crutchfield response on

7 of 9 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Evo 150

Peter from Gaithersburg, MD on 2/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love this thing. it's compact. It's powerful. And, it's flexible. And, it's so easy to set up. Just plug in the speaker cables. That's it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Sound quality does not justify the price. Cambridge support is robotic

Jessie Alex from Mililani, HI on 2/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Limited settings. Bass and treble controlled via app only. No balance control. No way to control said features on the unit itself. Whenever you turn on, it always default to the StreamMagic. Without internet connection, you can still play your source by pressing (i), turning the silver knob for output medium and speaker selections from the right next to the very bottom corner. Without StreamMagic, the sound is below par, like an ordinary radio. Using StreamMagic, internet connected, you notice a change of the sound. It is much better. I am expecting a more refined high quality sound considering the price. Disappointed. Cambridge customer service is robotic. It is a complete dismay to navigate their site and ended up with frustrations only. Not even an email support nor a place to submit a help inquiry. Cambridge customer support philosophy is complete avoidance of customer support by any means. Frustrate customers to the ultimate till customer give up is an obvious norm. I will never ever purchase Cambridge again. Whereas Crutchfield stand up even in most annoying circumstances. Respectful and calm. Back to the product, you will notice heat above the unit after an hour of playing. Again, the sound quality does not justify the price.

Pros: Lot of output at the back, plus streaming potentials.

Cons: Sound below par. Cambridge customer support a dismay. Speaker binding post is a bit smaller and when connecting a 12awg cable/banana connector (a bit heavier than 14awg) cable tend to get loose and eventually drop. Need cable management to ensure cable remain in place. Spade connector maybe a better option.

Crutchfield response on 2/22/2022
Once we saw this review, our Tech Support specialist, AJ, reached out to Jessie Alex to help them further. Whenever you encounter a problem with anything you purchase from Crutchfield, please contact our Tech Support team right away. Lifetime tech support comes with every Crutchfield purchase.

4 of 5 found this helpful

Nice unit for streaming

Tom from Portland, MI on 2/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Somebody here wrote a review that called this unit "a mixed bag." I would agree with that. It's a great network streaming device and I absolutely do love it as a preamp. That said, a couple of things I have noticed: First, the app that Cambridge audio uses is not the greatest. I use Tidal connect and that allows me to use Tidal's native app. Thank god for that, because navigating Tidal via streammagic is less than ideal. Tidal connect works well with a couple of minor bugs. The amp sounds a bit thin to my ears. I instead opted to use it as a preamp to a DBX BX3 amplifier and this combination sounds wonderful. The sound is full, warm, and the imaging is very good. This is on Focal speakers for reference. Also, I am coming off of a Marantz ND8006 streaming unit and there is no comparison. As a preamp, that one sounded sterile and not good. As a streamer, it sounded good linked to a proper preamp or integrated but again, Heos is a terrible app and without connect you are limited to Airplay. Honestly, it was best used as a DAC for a Mac. So, with an absolutely amazing display, the ability to use Tidal's native app at full resolution, and a wonderful sounding preamp function through line outs....I'm really happy. But, if you don't use Tidal and you do choose to use the built in amp, your mileage may vary depending on your gear. That's why Crutchfield is awesome, take it home and try it. They won't have an issue with you returning it if it doesn't work out.

Pros: Wonderful screen Tidal Connect Beautiful sounding preamp. Great list of features and supported files

Cons: Amp sounds thin to me Streammagic app is not the best

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great all in one unit

Crutchfield customer from Mechanicsville, VA on 1/1/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Perfect for a small system, with easy to drive speakers. Very versatile.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent sound and streaming

Crutchfield customer from Tucson, AZ on 12/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The Evo 150 has a slick look, multiple I/O's, great streaming options and, most importantly, a very clean sound. I purchased this unit as a significant upgrade for my home stereo, along with a pair of Focal Aria 948's. The Evo arrived ahead of the speakers so I hooked it up to my existing Axiom M60 floorstanding speakers. It replaced an older Yamaha TSR model with a similar wattage rating. The difference was stunning, especially in bass response which was so strong I cut back the subwoofer gain and frequency. Made me wish I had bought something like this years ago. The Focal speakers took it up a notch further to the point that the sub was not really necessary, although I still use it for movies. I did my homework before purchasing this - Stereophile has an thorough on-line review of the unit along with detailed electrical measurements. It is a class D amplifier but it has super low noise. It works flawless with Spotify and the internet radio is fantastic. Bought this over a Naim due to more I/O options, lower noise and price. Only negatives: no parametric EQ or surround, but the preamp output actually passes the 5.1 signal from the TV HDMI-ARC. Use pre-outs to Yamaha for movie surround, although I've come to prefer the stereo only. My wife used to complain about hearing dialog but no longer. This is way better than a center channel. Sounds excellent with every type of music I throw at it - rock, vocal, jazz and movies even at window rattling volumes. Highly recommend.

Pros: Attractive interface, Streaming, Internet radio, multiple I/O's including sub-out, super clean even at high volume.

Cons: No parametric EQ or surround amplifiers. You can use pre-out to 5.1 receiver for surround but likely won't miss either function if you have good speakers.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Evo 150

Crutchfield customer from Lubbock, TX on 12/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Evo 150 isnt perfect but it duz its job. Couple downsides i dislike about it is the absence of a built-in surge protector n the stream app duznt allow outside apps to b installed. Other than that its a great product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 14 found this helpful

Nice all in one unit!

Crutchfield customer from South Setauket, NY on 11/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It was choice between this and Naim Unity Atom. I was coming a DK Designs Integrated Amp which was 15+ years old. That Amp was awesome but lacked modern features. I chose the EVO as it has more connections for other components. While it's 50/50 from YouTube reviewers I found this sounded awesome with the speakers I already own. Everything sounded great. With both units it does seem speakers are important. So check your specs or see what others use.

Pros: What I said above

Cons: Sometimes the screen goes out. Just do a factory reset then update and your good to go. But owners manual is limited troubleshooting

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Well Executed Designs

Crutchfield customer from Burbank, CA on 9/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Yes, it's expensive, but consider that the sound quality is up there with many separates I've used with speakers like Magnepan 1.6QR's, Merlin TSM's, Magnepan .7's, Revel 126be and so on. Overall this is a very transparent amp that instills virtually no sonic character of its own. If you're used to tubes and SS, this might seem somewhere in the middle, but I'd probably pair it with less analytical speakers for best results. It does do a solid job with my Magnepans, but it's really great on something like my Duevel Plants or any of the new Harbeth's. Soundstage is a bit wider and less forward than my NuPrime IDA16 and bass is well controlled. Setup went quickly and I run mostly with an iPad as a controller and Tidal files. I haven't tried my Rega table with it yet, but I expect it will be fine. I think the real beauty here is having a single box that provides true audiophile quality with virtually no penalty for so much integration. There was a time where I'd have instantly discounted something like this, but times have changed in a BIG way.

Pros: Audiophile level performance

Cons: Expensive, might be a bit sterile on some speaker systems. This will be true with most amps. Matching is key.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 12 found this helpful

WOW

Crutchfield customer from Peoria, AZ on 8/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

WOW WOW WOW! What power, precise build quality, simple but elegant performance. Excited again for my music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Evo 150 Everything I wished for

Crutchfield customer from Bolivar, MO on 7/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I researched this amp for weeks after it came out this spring, it has all the features I was looking for, A&B speakers outputs, powerful amp, high quality Dac, HDMI ARC, nice display, and remote, and the wood grained or black side panels are a nice added touch. I had it up and streaming music from my Apple music to my Klipsch RP8000f and Klipsch AW650 in less than 30 minutes using my iPhone and the StreamMagic app. I like the way the StreamMagic and Apple music work together, puts me in total control from my chair.The music sounds great, plenty of power to drive my speakers. Crutchfield had the Evo 150 at my door in 2 days Great Job. This is my second purchase from Crutchfield the first being a Sonos Amp, excellent service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Evo 150

Guest from Albuquerque, NM on 7/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a great unit! Sounds great, looks amazing! The only real issue is easily remedied with a software update The controller seems to los control of the device from time to time When it gets like this, the only fix is to unplug and replug it in This has happened only a handful of times since I've had the unit. I received it in early June, so I've had it a bit over a month now. With that caveat, and trusting that Cambridge will update their firmware before long, this is definite buy recommendation :)

Pros: Great clean sound Good looks

Cons: Occasionally the remote doesn't work

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A Mixed Bag

Crutchfield customer from New Orleans, LA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The hardware is fine ; the software , not so much . I want something to do a simple thing - - I turn it on . I select a source and the unit stays on tuned to that source until I turn the unit off . Unless I am missing something - - entirely possible since the EVO manual is woefully short on detail - - I can't just pick the USB input and feed a signal from my computer and have everything stay put until I turn the EVO off . The EVO replaced a NAD to power my computer audio and it is a mixed bag in that intended function .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

24 of 52 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound