Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
041 886 89
Connect ID #
041 886 89

Sorry, chat is currently unavailable

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo Phono preamplifier for moving magnet cartridges

MFR # C11026

4.5 out of 5 stars
73 reviews
View this product
Absolute disaster!

Sean from LANSING, MI on 3/8/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolute disaster. The instruction included were a joke. They included 2 power cords but there was nothing in the instructions as to why. Both cords looked identical but they had labels. On was "JP" the other was "US/CA". I assumed that they were for Japan or the United States / Canada so I used the US one. When I plugging in the Solo, I heard a pop. Not only did the Solo not work, but It fried my Receiver. I contacted Crutchfield. They said, since I bought it through the big online retailer I needed to contact them. I can return it but who I going to get me a new receiver? Wouldn't let me do zero stars.

Pros: None. Never got it to work

Cons: Fried my receiver.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Big boost for my phono sound!

Hogan from Chattanooga, TN on 2/21/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Once again, the pros at Crutchfield have given me excellent advice. This little unit has made my vinyl records sound noticeably better! The separation, clarity and fullness are now front and center. Plus, this preamp is visually a perfect match for my Cambridge Audio AXR85 receiver.

Pros: Clarity, seperation and brilliance

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Outstanding

Guy from Santa Margar, CA on 2/17/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

By far, this is one of the very best preamps. I have coupled with my Technics SL 1210 GR turntable. Quiet and responsive. I have read this can over produce the lower frequencies, but since I run this with my mixer, I can easily adjust the EQ. That said, without any adjustments, I find this tremendous addition to my studio.

Pros: Best of the $$$

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Brilliance

Robert from Shalimar, FL on 1/21/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Vast improvement over the built in phono pre-am input on my old JVC RX6080v receiver, night and day. Sound is clear and distinct, it adds brilliance and color to the music. It's not muffled like the receiver's. It seems to sound better and better the more it's used and broken-in. Well worth the money to greatly improve sound quality! The JVC is an unfortunate fill-in for my Yamaha RX-900 which went on the brink, the Yamaha's built- in preamp was top quality, but the JVC's pre-amp couldn't come close to matching it. So, I went with the Cambridge pre-amp after reviewing all the available ones under $300.

Pros: Easy to install and use.

Cons: Adding an attenuating controller would be nice.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Mark from Rockford, MI on 1/10/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this phono preamp to improve my Pro-nectar A1 turntable's sound. This turntable has an internal phono preamp. Noticeable improvement in clarity and soundstage.

Pros: Noticeable improvement in sound quality over my turntable's internal phono preamp. Good price and well made.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Worth it for vinyl setup

Bradford from RICHMOND, VA on 12/18/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I decided to give this unit a try after using the internal phono preamp on my newer Dual CS 429 turntable. I'm definitely impressed by how much this little unit really helped balance out my sound and eq for my vinyl collection. It really helped bring out some better sound in a pair of older Polk R30 tower floor speakers I had. Less so with my newer Klipsch reference 4000f floor speakers, but still an overall improvement from the internal phono in the Dual TT. No regrets.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Jim C preamp review

Jim from Philadelphia, PA on 11/7/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great preamp gives great warm sound

Pros: Smooth clear tones and basslines

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Renewed Vinyl

Russell from N LITTLE ROCK, AR on 10/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very pleased with purchase. My Bluetooth turntable got to where it wouldn't connect well to my system. Hooked it up directly and sounded ok, but was just not that great. Got this unit and hooked it up and man the improvement was incredible! Very much worth it.

Pros: Enhanced sound

Cons: none so far

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Jane from Iowa City, IA on 9/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Perfect. Sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Night and day over internal pre-amp!

Daniel from Lincoln, CA on 4/30/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was looking to improve my vinyl's playback and so I spent many a day researching phono pre-amps. I'm certainly not made of money and had to get something that wouldn't put me in the dog house. I had it narrowed down between the Solo, the Emotiva XPS-1 (Gen 2), and the equivalent Rega (MK2?). While the Solo is pricey, it came recommended by reviewers and Crutchfield's expert as well. This was primarily for the value and Signal to Noise ratio. Indeed it has seriously cleaned up and amplified the signal. It is absolutely night and day over my Denon 300F's internal pre-amp (which in turn was better than my Yamaha's AVR). When they say it "opens up the soundstage", they're not lying. Music envelopes you in a way a stock phono stage cannot, and it cleans up muddied mids and really adds to the low end as well. I didn't end up ordering the Rega but I did order the Emotiva to A/B test. The Emotiva does a great job with the gain and really has a punchy sound to it, but it leaves something to be desired with clarity. If you prefer a punchier sound with at the expense of more noise in the signal, and want to save a couple bucks, get the Emotiva. It is a good unit. If you want the more balanced option and for your records to really sing, get the Solo.

Pros: Sounds amazing, nice form factor, good value for what it adds.

Cons: Wish it came in black to match my other stuff.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Duo

Stephen from Waukesha, WI on 4/17/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Noticeably better than the internal Yamaha TT-S303 amp connected directly to a Onkyo TX-SR604 receiver. Leaps and bounds? Wish I would have bought the Duo so I could have listened to my records via headphones while my wife is watching TV Since it's wired to the same receiver we have to share time.

Pros: Easy improvement, worth the money

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 2 found this helpful

Super Quiet, Great Soundstage

DANIEL from Boise, ID on 4/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Got the Solo delivered along with my CXA-81 a few months ago. Personally, I like that the amp has no phono input. This preamp sounds amazing. Super quiet, great depth, warm. I was previously using a Marantz 2238B receiver with the internal Phono stage and I thought that was as good as it could get. Turns out I was missing out on years of better quality vinyl enjoyment.

Pros: Quiet, Reliable, Easy Setup, Great Soundstage, Matches the looks of my system.

Cons: MM Only, with no headphone port, but there is a solution for that.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Really nice!

Bradley from Somerset, WI on 3/20/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Didn't realize how much better a pre-amp could be over the one built into my receiver! This Cambridge Solo has ZERO ZERO ZERO noise/static and an amazing rich bass and clear warm highs. A good sax is so clean and rich it is a joy to listen to the vinyl. Feel confident to get this pre-amp just by looking at a picture- mentally, not an easy thing to do. No wonder the solo is so excellent when you think it replaces the built in pre-amp that is about the size of a pea.

Pros: Warm, clean, smooth.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Solo Phono Pre Amp

Philip from Calera, AL on 3/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Really opened up the sound stage over built in pre amp. Very happy with

Pros: Great price for such vast improvement in sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

James from Kingston, NH on 12/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works well

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Solo

Stephen from Escondido, CA on 12/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I used to connect my Pro-ject Carbon evo to the phono stage on my Marantz sr7011 and needed to raise the volume about 5 to 10 ticks higher to get decent amplification. By adding the Solo in the mix amplification has increased but I guess I was expecting more. Have to add that my newer albums play better than my collection from the 70's but as I listen more closely and carefully I can hear a little more detail from my records. Don't expect the Wow factor, but you can expect subtle differences that improve overall sound quality.

Pros: adds a little more amplification than Marantz sr7011 soundstage , detail to voices and instrumentals

Cons: was more but this is my first phono amp so......

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Tyrone from Valencia, CA on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very high quality sound,better than my amplifier.Great phono stage.would buy again!

Pros: Small size,put it on 5 minutes.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Double Down!

Andy from Aberdeen, SD on 12/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been using a built in phono stage on my 1977 Pioneer SA-5200 and I thought it sounded fine. I ordered the Solo and doubled down on the Cambridge Audio sound by connecting it to a CXA81 and WOW! The sound is rich, warm and velvety! I'm thrilled with my purchase! I have a pair of 1978 Klipsch Heresy's, and this combo truly helped reign them in and bring their voices to exactly where I wanted them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Expected a bigger wow.

Crutchfield customer from NEWINGTON, NH on 7/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this preamp as an upgrade to my pro-ject phono box mm. I have a NAD c356bee amp with CSS criton1 speakers and a fluance rt82 turntable with an AT-VM95E cartridge. While it seems to be a very well made unit, I couldn't tell a difference from the pro-ject. I did numerous back and forth testing expecting to be impressed but to no avail. I did extensive research and chose this over the schiit, ifi, NAD, and others. Probably a great preamp but didnt make a difference to my mid-fi system or ears.

Pros: Looks well made, attractive case

Cons: Wasn't the upgrade I was looking for.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Bill from Tualatin, OR on 6/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Lots of headroom - did not clip or distort on loud passages as with another preamp I tried. Claimed 90 db S/N ratio seems a bit high per my 'Kentucky Windage' estimate...did not bench-test the unit. Preamp noise is still below vinyl surface noise. Overall, a great preamp for most MM cartridges, loaded to a 'standard' 47kohms and 150pf-or-so.

Pros: Audio headroom

Cons: Only for MM (by far most common) cartridges

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Great sounding phono preamp

PRG from Waipahu, HI on 4/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds slightly better than my previous phono preamp- Schiit Mani and significantly better than the phono input on my integrated amplifier. If you're a MM cartridge only person this gem is recommended.

Pros: Compact size, basic design, no wall wart power supply. Auto power off.

Cons: CA should have used two color LED's on power button light

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Charles from Kent, OH on 4/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This preamp has really upped the game of my audio system and convinced me to dust off my vinyl collection and keep improving my system.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge solo phono preamp

Rory from Hacienda Hts, CA on 3/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just want to upgrade the sound quality on my turntable. I have to use an external phono preamp to replacing the internal preamp. The Cambridge has a very good frequency response and sounds great. Right now I'm very enjoyable on my vinyl records. If I need the gear, I will think about Crutchfield is my first choice. Thanks

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Awesome

Marco from Aldie, VA on 3/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Absolutely incredible increase in quality of sound. Such a better pre amp than what is in my turntable. Do not hesitate and purchase this from the team at Crutchfield at once. Before it's sold out.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great Product

Charles from Kingston, PA on 3/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was using a Schiit Mani phono pre amp. But this surpasses my expectations. Sound has noticeably improved. The mids, highs and lows have become much more precise and clear. Have it hooked up to my Cambridge CXA81 integrated amp. I am using a Fluance RT83 turntable with an upgraded acrylic platter and an Ortofon 2m Blue cartridge. I am very happy with the upgrade. Dealing with Crutchfield couldn't be easier.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Michael from Richmond, VA on 2/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Solid product, noticeably better sound quality and depth over my receiver's built in phono preamp. Great for stronger bass, and crisper vinyl sound.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Christopher from Seattle, WA on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This phono preamp sounds great, built well, easy to use, and looks good. Built in subsonic filter is great, too. Very neutral and does not color the sound much at all (pro or con, depending who you are)

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Buy!!!

David from Acworth Ga on 12/1/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a Cambridge Audio AX85 receiver and AR 22 speakers. I thought the sound was great from my record collection. I got the Solo yesterday and all I can say is WOW! Strangely it makes the music more melodic and flat and the sound is enriched with new highs and lows. I urge you if your on the fence about this amp.... buy it you won't regret it!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 4 found this helpful

Ask First!

Crutchfield customer from Kissimmee, FL on 11/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I found out the hard way you don't connect a Pro-ject phono box to a Cambridge Audio integrated amp-you connect a Cambridge Audio Alva Solo phono pre-amp. What a blunder! I should of talked to your experts first, I probably would have saved money.

Pros: I don't think I damaged my system.

Cons: There aren't any.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Kansas City, MO on 10/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Bad loud hum developed

Chris A. from Middletown, NJ on 8/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Unit sounded great but developed a loud hum in one channel. Tried various grounding options but hum persisted. Sometimes it goes away but not always. It wad sporadic . Got frustrated and disconnected the solo and hooked turntable back up to my preamp phono preamp. No hum. UPDATED 8/21/21: Upon closer investigation with the assistance of Crutchfield's assistant AJ, I discovered that the hum I was experiencing was actually from a loose wire in my phono cartridge, NOT the Cambridge Solon as I originally reported. The Solo is performing fine and the sound is an huge improvement over what I heard before I installed the Solo. Great sound with a reasonable price point. I would highly recommend.

Pros: Great sounding when not humming.

Cons: Bad occasional loud humming

Crutchfield response on

3 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding receiver.

James from Montevallo, AL on 8/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

If you are in need of a 2 channel stereo receiver that delivers fantastic sound this is the one. Paired with a Technics 1500C turntable, and Klipsch Heresy IV speakers, all purchased from Crutchfield, I have the sound I want and deserve without spending a king's ransom.

Pros: Sound quality and build quality

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 10 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Chewelah, WA on 8/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

One year ago, I dragged my old LP's out from under the stairs, and bought a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon turntable. For a year, I ran it hooked up directly to a Yamaha A-S501 amp, and it sounded good. I did not know if a phono preamp would be a worthwhile upgrade. This year, I bought the Cambridge Solo, and now almost all of my old records sound better. The biggest difference is in the soundstage. Sibilance is better controlled, and vocals are smoother. Over all, the improvement is significant. I've only had the Cambridge for two weeks, but I'm very pleased with it. Well worth it.

Pros: Better sound, better soundstage.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Grounding issue

Crutchfield customer from Fredericksburg, VA on 7/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I had the same problem as another reviewer. The pre-amp doesn't ground my turntable properly so there's a hum. I returned the first one, and while the second one was a bit better on the grounding, it still had the problem. I know it wasn't the turntable because it was grounding perfectly to three other pre-amps I was evaluating. I did find a work around by connecting a second ground from my receiver to the pre-amp. That got rid of the hum entirely. The sound is very good, although I did pick up some distortion on a one of my tougher "reference" disks. I'm also evaluating the Pro-Ject Phono box S2 which is only a bit more, and it's been trouble free, no distortion, and sounds similar. The Solo was a bit warmer than the Pro-ject, but I feel the Pro-Ject was better on more complex material (most likely the reason it didn't distort on that tough disc), the Solo could get muddled like many of the other sub $200 pre-amps I've heard. I'm afraid the Solo will have to go back for good this time.

Pros: Good warm sound

Cons: Distorts and gets muddled on complex material Quality control, two units didn't ground the turntable adequately

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

a better vinyl experience

Crutchfield customer from Minnetonka, MN on 6/19/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I added the Cambridge Solo phono preamplifier to my stereo system to improve my vinyl experience. Connecting it to my 1973 Technics SL1300 turntable and my Cambridge Audio AXR-85 receiver (bypassing the internal phono preamp on the receiver) produced more detail, a more spacious soundstage and more life-like sound from the instruments in the recordings. This is a good way to upgrade a basic system at a modest cost.

Pros: simple set-up, better sound

Cons: an RCA stereo cable is not provided

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Lancaster, CA on 3/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Purchased this since my Onkyo TX R7810 phono input was lacking in volume. I would have to turn the volume substantially higher when playing my pro-ject debut carbon. The Solo was easy to plug in and connect. Made a big difference on the clarity and now my pro-ject plays at a closer volume to my other audio inputs.

Pros: Easy to set up

Cons: Wish it had an auto on/off

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Forestville, CA on 3/14/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy setup and far superior to the phono stage on my amp.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Murfreesboro, TN on 3/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Nice preamp. Would be nice to turn off the auto off feature and maybe different color lights for off and on. Overall great device.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Elk Grove, CA on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have been listen to both CD and vinyl, and I always felt that vinyl sounds more natural but lag of dynamic. I was using the build-in phono preamp at that time. When I started using the Cambridge Solo, the dynamic improved significantly. Now the dynamic is matching my CD system. I have since then listen more vinyl than CD.

Pros: Very clean and dynamic sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Novato, CA on 3/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Solo appears very well made and is very easy to use. The sound has been been pleasantly neutral, as it should be. My vinyl collection goes back to the 60's, and I haven't found anything that draws attention as a flaw. An LP with clean sound remains that way.

Pros: Simple to use. Clean natural sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Louisville, KY on 3/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice preamp, it has just the right amount of gain for my 5mV cartridge. It has a very quiet internal power supply, no more trying to make your own battery packs to eliminate hum. I'm using it with a micro ridge stylus cartridge, and all of the details come out with crystal clear clarity. I would highly recommend this preamp if you plan on sticking with moving magnet cartridges like me, because it sounds good enough that you will want to keep it for awhile.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Casper, WY on 2/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This thing is awesome! I've been using a variety of 70s vintage amps for years and this just blows them away. I have it paired with Klispch Heresy IIs and love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Atlanta, GA on 1/29/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good clean power. Simple. Would be 5 stars if it didn't have auto off feature which requires hitting power each time you start. Makes it so you can't put the device in a hidden spot.

Pros: Good clean power for phono

Cons: Can't disable auto-off feature

Crutchfield response on

5 of 7 found this helpful

Nothing but good things to say

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 1/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent quality and great sound. This brings out the warmth that I love about vinyl. Awesome experience with Crutchfield as well. Super fast shipping time.

Pros: Small footprint, excellent sound.

Cons: Turns off automatically when not used which is not a big deal but I sometimes forget to turn it back on and wonder why I have no sound. User error. :)

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Phono Upgrade

Gregory from Columbus, MS on 1/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great alternative if your receiver is older and the phono stage is not where you would like it to be. The unit is compact fits easily where you need to put it.

Pros: Size Easy hook up

Cons: Standby light should be red

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Alva solo is amazing!!!

Christopher from LONG BEACH, CA on 11/25/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a beautiful piece with amazing sound. Nice and warm but still has good dynamics. I was using the built in phono on my Yamaha Aventage RX A1080 and knew a separate phono should improve it. The Yamaha has a surprisingly decent phono stage but the Solo is a while new animal. I am using a vintage Yamaha TT, a Nagaoka MP 110 and Kef Q350 speakers. The sound is amazing. Especially in pure direct mode. I'm sure the Rega MM phono would be better still but that is over twice the cash. I have heard it before in another system and would argue that this is 95% of the rega for less than half the price . I have used the Project Phono stage before as well and this is miles better. I will admit to being a bit of a Cambridge fan boy though. I like warm and lively sound. If it's too clean it get sterile and unpleasant. Sometimes warm can remove dynamics and punch. I find Cambridge Audio to marry warmth and dynamics as well as anyone. This is no exception.

Pros: Warm dynamic sound, amazing value

Cons: No "auto on" option

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Solo Preamp

Crutchfield customer from Toms River, NJ on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It's simple to set up and the mids that were previously missing are now smoothly pronounced. It added lots of punch to my records. No added noise. Awesome preamp!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Evans Mills, NY on 11/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

No complaints or issues so far, this pre-amp is a huge improvement to the on-board pre-amp that is in my AT-Lp60X turntable. Sound stage is better and the music sounds more detailed. My new U-turn Orbit with Ortofon OM5E should arrive tomorrow and I can't wait to see how that sounds with this pre-amp. The rest of my setup is a Yamaha RS-202 and KLH Quincy speakers. Only possible downside is that, at least according to the manual, the input voltage range is too small to take a high-voltage cart like the Ortofon 2M Red or Blue, that's why I went with the OM5E because the voltage is lower. U-turn wouldn't tell me definitively if this would be a problem, but I wanted to stay within the range specified by the manual to try and prevent any sound issues. I know sometimes people have complained of hum, I only hear a very very slight hum with no music playing, you really have to be close to the speakers to hear it. In my opinion, with this set-up it isn't an issue. Lastly, I really like the way the unit looks and the build quality, the upside-down text on the connections, so you can read them when you're looking behind it from the top, is a nice plus.

Pros: Better sound than the pre-amp in my turntable Great build quality Looks good Easy to use and set up

Cons: Limited input voltage range Very quiet/slight hum with no music on

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent choice

Michael from MEQUON, WI on 11/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first preamp. I am pairing it with a Sony PS-LX310BT through a Denon AVR-X2300W. The internal pre-amp on the Sony worked good. I didn't have anything to compare it to. The Solo is a big improvement over the internal Sony pre-amp. The vinyl has a bigger sound and deeper bass. There is also less static when playing older vinyl. A big selling point for me is that the Cambridge Solo has a standard plug and not a wall wart.

Pros: Looks good. No wall wart.

Cons: None after several weeks.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington, IL on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works as advertised. I have a vintage Pioneer receiver with a phono stage but the Cambridge Solo sounds better than the stage in the receiver. Very easy to set up. I really like the balance adjustment. I can't imagine a more expensive phono stage sounding any better than this. I'm very pleased with it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Drastic sound improvement on modern or vintage component groups

Crutchfield customer from Janesville, WI on 9/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My first dedicated preamplifier. I noticed an immediate difference on my modern system which includes an Outlaw 2160r, Project Debut Carbon and Forte'II speakers. What I observed was louder volume at the same dB levels on the receiver, less Klipsch harshness in the high end, incredible separation and a just plain better sound stage. Since that time, I have run older Technics and Pioneer turntables through a Sansui 7070 which I thought had a better preamp than the Outlaw and noticed the same almost night and day difference. My cartridge/stylus' are all under 300.00 and I felt like the preamplifier made the biggest difference on an Ortofon Red. Worth every penny.

Pros: Easy to hook up, drastic sound improvement apparent from the first song.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Belleville, IL on 9/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very Easy to set up and works as advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Carlos from HUMACAO, PR on 9/5/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

LOVE IT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from West Chester on 7/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The phono preamp on my Onkyo TX-8020 was sufficient, but lacking. In an effort to improve the sound of my records, I bought the Cambridge Solo. The soundstage is larger and the sound is much better than my receiver's phono input. The Cambridge is also aesthetically pleasing. Simply seeing it next to my headphone amp makes me smile.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Big step up from a built in phono stage.

Crutchfield customer from Sanford, FL on 7/9/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For what I wanted it is perfect. After using the built in phono stage on my integrated amplifier for a few years I was ready for a step up. After getting some advice at a local record store, I decided that a more entry level model might not be much of a boost so I decided to go for this model. It really opens up the sound, everything has a much more expansive sound, very musical, very engaging, highly recommended.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Fantastic

Crutchfield customer from Evington, VA on 6/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I demoed the ever popular Schiit Mani phono preamp and thought it was pretty good until I tried the CA Solo. The Solo crushed it, and is absolutely amazing. Another great Cambridge product and great service from Crutchfield.

Pros: Warm sound, built in subsonic filter that doesn't take away from the music.

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

So far so good ??

Crutchfield customer from Battle Ground, WA on 4/19/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Only have had this about 2weeks and don't really have any complaints and since this is my first pre-amp don't have much to compare it to,time will tell I guess.

Pros: Actual AC cordand not a wall wort.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Excellent

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 3/22/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works fine plug and play. Exceptionally quiet and does its job without complaints.

Pros: Quiet Appearance Easy to set up

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Just buy it!

Crutchfield customer from Daly City, CA on 3/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently re-activated my interest in vinyl. Bought a vintage turntable but needed a phono preamp. First I bought a Schiit Mani. BIG mistake; it had white noise, hum, and received broadcast radio on the cheap power lead. Had to pay $30 to return it. So I bought a Cambridge Solo. I've had good luck with Cambridge in the past and the Solo is no exception. Plugged it in to my system, the same system the Mani gave problems with. No white noise. No interference. VERY minor hum but only if you put your head next to the speaker and turn the volume up when no record is playing. I'm picky so trust me, the hum is not an issue. Oh, and this is with a 35 year old NOS Sony turntable. The Solo sounds great! No fuss connection. A REAL engineered power supply that doesn't hum and isn't a wall wart like on so many other "audiophile" phono preamps. Just buy the Solo. You will be happy. Unless you need/want Moving Coil capability, in which case buy the Duo. Right now I'm listening to Pink Floyd's the wall on LPS I bought decades ago and it sounds great.

Pros: - easy to install - super quiet when it should be. - has a real, well engineered, internal power supply.

Cons: - if you want both Moving Magnet and Moving Coil, buy the Duo instead, and get a headphone preamp as a bonus.

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Hmmm .... good sound but loud hum.

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 1/21/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound was very good but there was a loud hum in the background. We tried two different units and I had the same issue with both. I was pairing it with the Cambridge CXA61 amplifier, so I was not expecting to have any issue like this. Ended up returning it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Good sound and quality build

Crutchfield customer from Raleigh, NC on 12/5/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is my first stand-alone phono pre - it sounds better than the built-in pre on my integrated amp but I have nothing else to compare it too. The construction is sturdy and it feels like a well-built component. It also has a built-in power supply and uses a universal IEC power cable which is great and uncommon on a device this small. I am using it with a vintage Kenwood turntable. The auto power-off feature annoyed me so I disabled it per the user manual instructions (hold button for 5 seconds) so I can manually turn it on and off.

Pros: Performs well, build quality is very sturdy, universal power cable!

Cons: Moving-magnet only

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Lawrenceville, GA on 4/22/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product works as advertised! Great customer service.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

William from Los Angeles, CA on 2/1/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Easy to use. Sound is good but not stellar.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Quality, and sound

Michael from Melbourne, FL on 1/24/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! Major improvement to my Debut Carbon DC turntable sound! . My setup: Debut Carbon DC, Acrylic platter, Ortofon 2M Red, Cambridge Audio Solo, Peachtree novaSE

Pros: Easy set up: plug in and turn on!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Clear, Dynamic Sounds

Adrian from Johns Creek, GA on 11/28/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Cambridge Solo preamp was easy to install. I connected it to the output from my turntable and then connected its output to a pair of line inputs on the rear of my AV receiver. The records sounded much more alive and dynamic and I didn't have to turn the AVR's volume as high as did previously when the turntable was connected to the phono input. The high sensitivity and low noise ratings helped to produce clear sounds from the turntable, via the AVR. To truly experience the best sounds from the audio system, each component in the entire system must complement each other - great AVR or amplifier, great turntable with high quality audio cables and stylus, and of course, a great preamp like the Cambridge Solo. Highly recommended to anyone with a very good MM stylus and looking to listen to clear, dynamic sounds from records.

Pros: Easy to setup and use. Very low noise/distortion rating 90dB, low standby and operational low consumption; high gain @ 1kHz: 39dB.

Cons: None at this time.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Amazing sound upgrade!!!

Alex from Quarryville, PA on 11/26/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wow! Major improvement to my Debut Carbon DC turntable sound! From the very first listen: a noticeable reduction on surface noise and better sound separation. I have been finding I was missing music details in my records! This is my 3rd preamp (the previous two around the same price than this Cambridge Audio Solo). The Cambridge blew the other two away. My setup: Debut Carbon DC, Acrylic platter, Ortofon 2M Blue.

Pros: Great sound! Surface noise decreased on my record playing! Great looking! Real power cable/PSU, this is not a wall wart powered device! Great price!

Cons: Time I will spend re-listening to all my records as soon as possible!

Crutchfield response on

2 of 3 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Richard from Highland, IN on 9/18/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A great step upward for my Music Hall USB-1 turntable. (Dynamics & Resolution) Feeds Placette Audio pre-amp, Ayre VX-5 Twenty power amp & B&W 805 D3 speakers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Israel from Caguas, PR on 9/2/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Thanks,Carlos!!!great!!!

Pros: Great and velan sound

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Works great

Jody from Derby, KS on 8/12/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Works wonderfully. Low profile, simple operation. Exactly what I needed.

Pros: Easy set up (plug in and turn on!)

Cons: Nothing

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Crutchfield customer from Rahway, NJ on 7/15/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Excellent sound quality! Super easy setup. I just paired this baby with Sony 1080 receiver and my vinyls sound amazing! Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Cambridge Audio Alva Solo

Greg from La Grange, MO on 5/30/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems to work pretty good. Sterio Review wrote many years ago that the ideal preamp would be a piece of wire with a gain. I think we have one like that here.

Pros: it works

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great Phono Stage

Jim from Lansing, KS on 5/24/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I could tell a difference from the first time I used it it. I was reminded of my Marantz 3300 pre amp and M 250 amp from 1973. Glad I purchased it and would recommend this phono stage to anyone wanting to upgrade. I currently have a Rotel RC-1570 pre amp and RB-1582 MkII amp. I prefer the Solo over the Rotel built in phono preamp.

Pros: Very easy to install. Great packaging. Great addition to my system.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Breathe new life into your vinyl

Chris from Needham, MA on 3/23/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Cambridge Solo is the latest phono preamp to come from the folks at Cambridge. I am using the Solo to connect a vintage Bang & Olufsen 1700 turntable to a mid-range Onkyo receiver and refurbished Boston Acoustics speakers, and the results are great. To my ears the combination of Solo, B&O, and my vinyl deliver a sound that is balanced between detailed and rich. The Solo preamp itself appears to be well built and has a brushed stainless front with only a single On/Off button. BTW, the folks at Crutchfield were very helpful: An email question I submitted was answered promptly and with enough information to help me decide between the two or three Cambridge preamps I was looking at. At this price point I can highly recommend the Cambridge Solo for anyone looking to breathe new life into their vinyl.

Pros: Detailed, rich sound esp. for the price point Well built preamp from a respected manufacturer Nicely finished, brushed stainless steel front

Cons: No USB output for anyone looking to create digital files from their vinyl

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Compare the sound