Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
784 931 95
Connect ID #
784 931 95
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # UBR62-BK

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # UBR62-BK

21 reviews
View this product

Music to your ears

William from Beaumont, CA on 9/4/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers the imaging is the best I have ever heard and the best part is they keep getting better the more I play them.

Pros: Well made heavy speakers the more you play them the better they sound.

Cons: Would be nice if made with real wood. But other than that very nice speakers.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Underwhelmed so far

Jane from Eden, NC on 7/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Crutchfield shipping times have always been 3 days for me! Thanks Crutchfield! The Elacs though, have left me somewhat underwhelmed for $1000+. Still breaking them in, so waiting for that magic moment to happen.

Pros: Shipping is fast. Open box item, & was in fine condition.

Cons: Decision to purchase these based on reviews, & hype. Somewhat underwhelmed so far for the price paid.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

Crutchfield customer from Ohio on 5/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Hit 5 star, but more like 4.75 star. These are simply a glorified version of the UB52. They detail better, have better clarity, fit and finish is way better, but also have the same sound signature. nothing wrong with that. You can't go wrong with these. I ultimately returned them as I was chasing a different sound (I already have the UB52), so I kept looking.

Pros: Better than the UB52

Cons: Wish all black were an option

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

John from Dayton, OH on 5/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Best stand mounters I've had since the Epos Elan 15's. The Elac's don't match the Elan's real wood veneer finish, but their sound is as good. maybe better thanks to the 3-way design. I am enjoying them very much. Very detailed and plenty of bass.I put my sub away and don't miss it a bit. Get good stands about 26" (I use Skyland Stands) and they come to life!

Pros: Detail with very deep bass

Cons: Fit and finish could be better

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

Randy from Granger, IN on 4/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Bought these as a replacement for my Elac Uni-Fi UB5's. Love the UB5's, but love the Reference UBR62's even more. A definite upgrade! The soundstage and clarity is SO nice. They sounded great right out of the box, but after about 20 hours of run-in time, they've really opened up and I find myself not being able to drag myself away from listening to them! They sound fantastic at both low and high volume levels and there is no ear fatigue. I'm powering these with a restored vintage 160 wpc Kenwood KR-9600 receiver and have them paired with a 12" Martin Logan sub. Most of my listening is classic rock on vinyl and the sweet sounds coming out of these speakers is absolutely intoxicating! I couldn't be happier with these and doubt a better pair of bookshelves are out there for the same price or even double the price. Andrew Jones hit a home run with these! They are just that good!

Pros: Clarity Wide open soundstage Great all around sound and especially nice in reproducing lifelike vocals Tremendous speakers and great value for the money

Cons: none

Crutchfield response on

5 of 6 found this helpful

Classey looking and sounding

Todd from Gordonsville, VA on 3/31/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These bookshelf speakers are really nice! They produce a crisp sound that is not fatiguing on the ears at all. The mids and highs seems to come out at you at about 12 feet away. They are great sounding at low levels or high. Bass is clear and precise. I am driving these with a first gen Sonos amp and they are doing just fine even at 6 ohms. The vintage-like cover and the wood grain have a really nice contemporary look to them.

Pros: front ported, sound staging is immersive

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Great solution for wall placement

James from Green Lane, PA on 3/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very clear sound stage and very satisfying lows. These are used on my desk and the front port completely changes the bass-game compared to my prior rear-ported speakers in this listening environment. I take one star off because of looks. I don't hate the look but they do look cheap up close. The black/white contrast without the grills is a nice aggressive look but the oak wrap and plastic front just give it a cheap look/feel. That is to say i have no issues with the craftsmanship, just the choice of materials.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

Jerry from Nicholasville, KY on 3/6/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Replaced a pair of Focals, not quite as detailed as the Focals, but I can listen for hours without my ears bleeding. All said, Great sound!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Andrew Jones Does it Again with the Reference

Gary from Apopka, FL on 2/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Upgraded from the ELAC Uni-Fi 2.0 UB52 to this Reference version. Not surprisingly, this speaker has all the Andrew Jones musicality of the 2.0. In addition, it is markedly better in many ways. Clarity is better, bass is tighter and the off-access frequency response is wider. Ability to place this speaker close to the wall helps in my small listening room, and this front slot-load port gives clean bass with no boominess

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Professional Office Space - Perfect Fit

Vincent from Shelton, CT on 2/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Six months ago started with the ELAC Debut Series, then a few months ago upgraded to the ELAC Uni-Fi 2.0 UB52. Wow. Great sound. But just recently swapped out the UB52 for my new ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62 with the matching ELAC stands. Clarity, so precise. The best I could hope for in my 12' X 14' law office where I rarely ever crank the volume past upper reasonable. And what a deal essentially getting the ELAC stands for free when purchasing the UBR62s. These are fed by my 150 watt/channel Class D amp and compatible pre-amp/DAC.

Pros: Stunning clarity Impressive bass Limited Time Only ELAC Stands Included

Cons: Wood grain contact paper

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Soundstage

Glenn from Schenectady, NY on 12/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

My ex-wife is a music teacher, singer, song writer with a master's Degree in Digital Recording. She hears everything. She is to sound what a bloodhound is to smell. Want to know what "The Band" song you can hear the wooden chair squeaking? Ask Gail. She isn't familiar with the terms often used by audiophiles. She sat across from the system. NAD, lots of power and a NAD Sub. After about 15 seconds she said. "Wow low" = They sounded bigger than they are. Next "you can tell where everyone is standing" =. fantastic soundstage. She is exactly correct on both of her 15 second assessment comments. The sound stage is so apparent, it is appreciated even by someone like me.

Pros: Wonderful soundstage

Cons: Needs some power to make them go

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

End Game Speaker

Nate from Bristol, VA on 12/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I sort of bought these on a whim because I got the upgrade bug to replace the Triangle Borea Br03s in my main system (I've been wanting more of a neutral speaker). I originally thought about getting the LS50, but I've tried KEFs before and never was a fan of their tonality. The initial reviews on these seemed positive (and I've tried the DBR62 before and liked it), so I decided to take a shot. I've only had them for a few weeks, but initial impressions are very good. The biggest improvement over the Triangles is probably the depth of the soundstage and the high end detail - cymbals, for example, sound a lot sharper and crisper. Are they double the cost better? Probably not, but I'm enjoying them a lot and think this might be an end-game speaker for me. My only complaint would be the vinyl wrap; it looks rather cheap and I wish the oak was a bit "warmer" in color. But the fronts are gorgeous, and the solid construction/sound more than make up for it.

Pros: Soundstage Imaging Neutrality

Cons: Vinyl wrap isn't the most attractive

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Best stand mounted speakers bar none.

Crutchfield customer from Englewood, FL on 12/13/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are great they give my Bugtussels a real run for best sound. I am having a hard time believing how good small book shelve speakers can sound.

Pros: Great sound on all types of music

Cons: Don't reproduce lowest octaves but do a good enough job you don't notice until you play same recording on big system

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Neutral yet sweet heaven

Crutchfield customer from Golden, CO on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Beautifully neutral, with a touch of sweet, sounding speaker. For a pair of bookshelves the bass has nice extension. I can listen to these for hours with no shouty-highs fatigue. I'm in a fairly small room so I paired these with a eight inch sub. just because.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

A box speaker that ticks all the boxes

Fielding from Birmingham, AL on 11/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I'll start with a confession. I'm a snob. A Maggie snob. Yes, I think they are the best speaker on the planet for the $. What does this have to do with Elac UBR62??? Well like anything, if you do just one thing all the time it can become old hat. Even Maggie's can get hum drum day in day out. So my quest of late has been to find a box speaker that sounds good, has good soundstage, good depth, good resolution, micro detail, lots of realism, low distortion, good separation of instruments and clear vocals and can play loud. I tried just about everything under $1k, American and European - Klipsch, Polk, Dali, kef, b&w, wharfedale, focal, Sony, Yamaha, Dayton audio, more. Then Elac. I started with the debut series that sounded quite good. Worked into the unifi with their nice 3way setup, better still but still not Goldilocks. So when the UBR62's came out with the promise of reference quality with aluminum woofer, 3 way design and solid bracing to reduce distortion, I had to give em a try. Glad I did. Best box speaker I've ever heard. I'm keeping em. Are they as good as the least expensive Maggie mmgw's with a SVS sub? No. But they are very very good. Engaging, superb depth and width of soundstage and realism for a box speaker. Highly recommended

Pros: Superb soundstage Solid build Low distortion Relaxed presentation

Cons: Vinyl wrap looks cheap but who cares - they put emphasis on what makes the difference in sound - solid bracing, quality innards

Crutchfield response on

13 of 14 found this helpful

Balanced sound spectrum.

Crutchfield customer from Brooklyn, NY on 10/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very balanced and neutral sound across the spectrum. Fit and finish are very good. I am very happy with the Elacs and recommend them to other music lovers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Not a good all-rounder

John from Boston, MA on 9/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I found the UBR62's were not good all-rounders. I was super excited when they were good, super disappointed when they weren't. The good: Detail and depth on laid back music, live acoustic stuff, 'unaggressive' tracks, etc. For example, these played "Friday Night in San Francisco" (Al Di Meola, John McLaughlin & Paco de Lucía) as good as any speaker I've heard. Super wide & deep while every string hit is pronounced perfectly. Awesome. Everything on Bela Fleck & The Flecktones' "Live Art" was also fantastic. Listening to Lourde on these... Wow. With these types of music, every sound at every layer is heard and there's huge, '3D' space that's fantastic. The not-so-good: Grit, punch/kick, fun!, etc. For Prince's "Marrying Kind", the gutsy all-instrument hits at the beginning are washed out and bland, the dirty background guitar is smoothed out and unfun. I found that this 'smoothing' occurred for almost every exciting track I played. "Hard World" by Murder By Death sounds bland. The rises & falls in Pearl Jam's "In Hiding" or "Faithful" just don't happen on these. The Replacements weren't fun to listen to... What?! I tried these with all connection types on Class AB 100W & Class D 120W amps. To me, the URB62's go ethereal and lack excitement. I returned these because of the Con's I wrote above. However, if your wheelhouse is the stuff in my Pro's paragraph (or you listen to Zimmer soundtracks front-to-back), then these might be just what you're lo

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

So far so great!

Paul from Appleton, WI on 9/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Even after being a bit put off by the immediate price increase after Elac finally released these speakers, I took a deep sigh and signed on to the latest Andrew Jones creation. And I am not disappointed. The included stands certainly relieved the sting of the $200 price jump. I first tried these speakers in a odd shaped room (current man cave) followed by a small 10'x20' room and they performed very well in both spaces. But it was when I placed them in my larger 13'x24'living room the UBR62's just came alive. The sound stage and imaging just opened up to this marvelous immersive environment. You know, getting the chills from hearing something new in a favorite song that you just never heard before. Jazz vocalists are right in front of you. Even my wife came in the room after that final set up and said, "now that sounds good". And trust me, she has really had no interest in hi-fi and the fact that I just commandeered this space. But she did call these Reference Speakers "sexy" and now wants to finish this new listening room. In fact she just sat down to listen to Etta James "At Last" and showed me her chills. They do require a good power supply. I'm bi-amping with about 180 watts and using one SVS PS1000 subwoofer but may have to add a second to balance out the low end. I would like to say that the Crutchfield group have been super helpful in this entire process. Thanks for all of your assistance.

Pros: Wide sound stage Spatial Imaging

Cons: Price Jump

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Elac did it!

Crutchfield customer from Caguas, PR on 9/15/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great bookshelf speakers. Sound incredible clear. Imaging is phenomenal. They also look great in you room. Mine is a family room 11*18. Although they are vinyl wrapped they still look natural in oak white. They do need a good power source or they will sound distorted. 85db sensitivity.

Pros: Clear high and voices.

Cons: Need good power. If you want deep bass need a sub. Its a bookshelf but with a 6.5 driver.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Uni-Fi Reference UBR62

Crutchfield customer from Morganton, NC on 8/24/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I really enjoy listening to these. Jazz, classical, folk, rock. I play at moderate volume, 75-85 db or lower. These provide a full sound, with clarity across my hearing frequency. Have paired them with Marantz nr1200, as well as naim nova. They do seem to prefer the nova, but I like them with both. Mostly streaming and CDs. Haven't used them for vinyl yet, but will eventually. I have looked at several speakers this past year. Focal, klipsch, Martin Logan's (which are great in a different way), and Maggie's (which are also great). Also have UB5s and debut 6.2s. Really like these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 27 found this helpful

Happy with Elac

Gordon from Myrtle Beach, SC on 8/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I love these speakers! All my hires music sounds great. I can't really put in to words how they sound but I can say that I'm very happy with my purchase. Would highly recommend these. Also I upgraded to these from the new polk reserves which are also good speakers but these really did it for me.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound