Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
177 883 95
Connect ID #
177 883 95
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

PSB Imagine XA

Dolby Atmos® enabled add-on speakers

MFR # Imagine XA

PSB Imagine XA

PSB Imagine XA

Dolby Atmos® enabled add-on speakers

MFR # Imagine XA

13 reviews
View this product

PSB Imagine XA

Philip from Mechanicsville, VA on 2/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Excellent sound. It added so much to the feeling of being in a movie theater with the immersive experience it provided.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Minimal relections from popcorn ceiling

Crutchfield customer from Garland, TX on 11/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

While these speakers sound good just as normal speakers the concept of bouncing their sound off of the ceiling just didn't work very well in our room. We placed them on top of tower speakers aimed up at the ceiling (popcorn texture) and the common perception of listeners was the sound was emanating from a foot or so above the towers. I placed them at the top of the walls and the perception was the sound was coming from about two feet higher. When I held them near the ceiling where in-ceiling Atmos speakers would go the perception was the sound was coming from much higher thus sounding more like the sounds were above you. Maybe these will work better with smoother and harder surface ceilings but I suspect the popcorn ceiling was absorbing too much of the sound rather than reflecting it back towards the listeners.

Pros: Good sound quality, very efficient

Cons: Most likely due to popcorn ceiling, not anything to do with the speakers themselves.

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent Addition to our movie room!

Crutchfield customer from Bel Air, MD on 8/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Added two of these as Front High channels, and I am very pleased with the result. My system is a 5.1.2 setup with an Anthem MRX 740 receiver, two Imagine XA front highs, two Image T6 PSB Front speakers, a PSB Image C5 center channel and two Image S for the back channels. The Sub is a Goldenear Forcefield 5. This is in a ~12X17 ft. room with 8 ft ceilings. The addition of the two front High channels is immediately noticeable, creating a much more full sound envelope. When listening to the movie Twister, it sound like we were in the car during the hailstorm scene! Sound quality of the XA's easily matches that of the rest of the PSB line, with very crisp highs and a well modulated mid range. Since I am limited by my system to only front high channels, I needed to adjust the back channels a bit to get a more balanced result, but the family consensus is that there is a definite improvement. Recommended!

Pros: More 3D sound eperience

Cons: 4 XA's are probably better than Two:-).

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Atmos speakers works as discribed

Crutchfield customer from Soddy Daisy, TN on 11/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Build quality is excellent with sound blocking installed on speaker covers to ensure sound only goes in the right direction. I have no issues with their performance and sound quality.

Pros: Build quality Directional sound blocking

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great boost to special effects in movies

James from Somerset, NJ on 10/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I added these PSB Imagine XA Dolby Atmos speakers to upgrade my 5.1 home theater system to 5.1.2. I was concerned that they may not work as I'd hoped because my home theater sits under a section of ceiling that is lower than the main part of my living room's ceiling. I was surprised when I was using my Yamaha Aventage RX-A780 receiver's YPAO room acoustic calibration system that it detected the PSB speakers as "Large" speakers, rather than "small." However, when watching the movie, "Bumblebee," my Yamaha receiver in Dolby Sur(round) mode, upscaled the sound from my Apple TV (HD) (which doesn't do dolby atmos) and the PSB's came to life! I was blown away by the fullness of the overhead special effects sounds in the movie! If my ceiling were all at the same height, I bet I'd get even better use out these speakers. The combination of these speakers and my Yamaha receiver are fantastic! I am very impressed with the sound of these speakers!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Good PSB Speakers

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 1/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've been thinking of upgrading my system to Atmos for a while and decided to go for it when a discounted price on an open box came up on Crutchfield. The speakers arrived in pristine condition. My other speakers are also PSB and the XA's blended seamlessly. I have them sitting nicely on top of my tower speakers. These XA's are good speakers.

Pros: Good quality well designed speakers. Speakers come with brackets so you can mount them on a wall if you want. (Not necessary in my case.)

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

PSB Imagine XA

Crutchfield customer from Maple Grove, MN on 7/21/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great addition to a Dolby Atmos system at a good price!

Pros: Easily sit on the PSB speakers

Cons: Could be tough to hang from the ceiling

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

PSB Imagine XA

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 3/3/2019

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've only had these speakers for a couple weeks but so far they have lived up to the great reviews. I think they are as good as one can get for Dolby Atmos/DTS speakers without actually installing ceiling mounted speakers.

Pros: The shape matches nicely with my Focal Electras

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Adds theatre soundstage to movies!

Dave FL from Palm Bch Gdns, FL on 10/17/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Makes a real difference for Atmos and DTS:X is outstanding with regular music. (we mostly use Spotify Hi Res w/Oppo for CD's). After reading all the reviews I could find, decided to go with these. Fit perfectly on my roughly 25 yr old DCM Time Window v3. The weakness of my main (DCM) speakers was the upper end and the lower end (added a JL E112 - which took care of that). We have 10' high flat ceiling and seating about 15' from the tv. Sound envelope is very good anywhere on our large sectional and extends out into the room (25' wide x 30' deep). Have Aperion Verus Grand Center and using Verus Grand Forte small towers for side surround. Although it's a hash of speaker brands (something you're not supposed to do) . it sounds better than all but the very best theatres we've been in. (75" sony 940D) For connection I decided not to use banana couplers on the PSB end (worried about the strain of the straight drop for the 12ga cable). Had a puzzle to solve in getting the Audyssey to recognize speaker config (with PSB's as Height1 on our Marantz SR-7012). So basically a 5.1.2 config . allowing for height config on top of mains.

Pros: Adds dimension and fullness to Atmos/DTS X movies.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

4 of 4 found this helpful

Good ATMOS addition

Uttam from Longview, TX on 9/3/2018

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Nice product. Happy with the purchase.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PSB Imagine XA

Crutchfield customer from Honolulu, HI on 10/13/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound awsome

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 2 found this helpful

Great atmos speakers

Rob from Mechanicsville, VA on 8/14/2017

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Once positioned properly these speakers do a great job as atmos front channel speakers. Very happy with them!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

PSB Imagine XA

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 10/3/2016

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great Service-Great Product

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 16 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound