Your cart
Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
376 752 95
Connect ID #
376 752 95
All finished with your chat session?

We’ll email you a transcript of this conversation for your records.

All of our representatives are
currently chatting with other customers.

Please enter your name.  
Please enter a valid email address. Why is this required?

For Tech Support, call 1-888-292-2575

Thank you, !
Our conversation will be emailed to
Chat Advisor Image

Your Advisor,

More about me
Please enter a question  
Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  

Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Customer Reviews

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # DBR62-BK

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Bookshelf speakers (Walnut)

MFR # DBR62-BK

51 reviews
View this product

Buy New not from the outlet

Daniel from Prairieville, LA on 9/27/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great speakers with an immersive sound, by far the best bookshelf size speakers I've ever heard. I just wish I would've purchased the new ones rather than the outlet scratched ones. It appears that the veneer tape used on the sides of one of the speakers is coming off around the back edges. Looks horrible ??

Pros: Amazing crisp deep sound

Cons: Outlet scratch and dent is just not worth the savings for what you get

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Christopher Mar from HUNTSVILLE, AL on 8/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Absolutely love these speakers. The clarity and listening angle are simply amazing. Such a great company.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Nice sound but warranty is not so good.

Crutchfield customer from DAYTON, OH on 8/22/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Tweeter out in one speaker after a little more than a year. Warranty repair says: "Shipping to and from our repair center will be the responsibility of the original purchaser". Willing to pay to send in for repair but having to pay for return shipping is onerous.

Pros: Good sound, reasonable price

Cons: Warranty Shipping to and from our repair center will be the responsibility of the original purchaser.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Fabulous ELAC DBR62

Allen from Potomac, MD on 8/17/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

The rating should be a 6. Andrew Jones scores big with these amazing speakers. Balanced sound every music lover should enjoy. Surprising bass for speaker this size, well controlled. Excellent loud volume handling (if called for). When I bought these, a package was offered which included the stands at no extra charge. Since then, DBR62 prices have gone up -- but trust me, it's still a bargain. I previously bought the Debut 2.0 B6.2 and F6.2 speakers -- also quite good -- but the Debut Reference is far more satisfying. More bass, sweet high end. It's plain significant attention was paid to the drivers and the crossover. Driven easily by both solid state and tube amps. Shows off the best of one's music. Friends pay big compliments.

Pros: The sound, the looks, the price for what you get.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

A worthwioe upgrade

Dennis from Albany, NY on 8/15/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I had the Elac DBR 6.2 and it was good. I got the Elac DBR 6.2 reference for the improved cabinet design, cast woofer basket, improved waveguide tweeter design, and upgraded crossover. I am not disappointed. Bass is solid and clean. Vocals are clear and balanced, high end is both focused and well dispersed, meaning that directionality is preserved across the listening space. A definite improvement over an already good design. I power it with a Cambridge Audio CXA81, a good match.

Pros: Well balanced across the audible spectrum, great for TV and streamed programming.

Cons: None so far

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Beautiful Warm Sound

CeeGeeBee from El Cerrito, CA on 7/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have been listening to these paired with a Sonos amp for a year and a half or so. They fill my smallish living room with such clean warm sound and have really set the benchmark for me in terms of the ideal sound I look for in a sound system. One thing I will note is that prior to purchasing them I read a few reviews indicating that they somehow lacked a certain energy for rock or modern pop music. I personally found some truth to this. Adding a subwoofer to the system (SVS micro 3000) fixed the issue adding some low end punch. Now I just love the way my system sounds for just about any kind of music. All in all, I can't recommend these speakers enough.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

Great for a bookshelf speaker

Jack from Virginia Bch, VA on 7/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These were recommended by my Representative at Crutchfield. They definitely are great performers for their size. Very clear.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Jason from Plymouth, MI on 7/3/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I have auditioned and owned about 50 different brands/models of bookshelf speakers ranging from bespoke Fritz to mass market Polks throughout the years. The Elac Debut Reference DBR62 are among the vest best I have heard at the price point. All I can tell you is in MY room, they are fantastic! Largely even-keeled throughout the frequency with great dynamics, deep, authoritative bass and sparkly highs that are not at all harsh or sibilant. What I have found most impressive with this speaker is the incredible sound stage and imaging it produces. I have never owned a speaker with such a pin-point center image and wide sound stage. I don't know if it is the front port that has made the difference in sound stage/imaging (all my previous speakers have been rear ported) or just their position in this room, but it is incredible to hear music NOT coming from the speakers. It sounds as if music is coming at you literally from left to right and deep from a stage. Incredible. Again, my impressions are coming from MY room and my equipment (California Audio Labs tube DAC, Rotel A-11 Tribute). I highly recommend giving them an audition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

John from Wilkes Barre, PA on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very nice bookshelf speakers. Big soundstage and very natural sounding. Vocals, strings, and piano are lifelike. IMO the vocals sound upfront and instruments are set back.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Tod from Berthoud, CO on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great! Really fast shipping and well packed

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Sharon from Fort Worth, TX on 6/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Got these for my husband for Father's Day. No surprises; they are as good as the reviews claim. My husband appears to really be enjoying them, as am I. No issues with placing the order. They came well packaged. Great speakers for the price.

Pros: Great sounding.

Cons: The finish is not a veneer.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Guest from Hatillo, Puerto Rico on 6/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These Elac debut are one excellent sounding speaker. They are well balanced, not too bright or dull. Just a perfect balance of HI Fi excellence

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Excellent sounding speakers

Benjamin from Morgantown, WV on 6/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are great sounding speakers. Not bright, not dark, just accurate with plenty of detail. I have lived with them for a few weeks now and my impression keeps getting better. Although I ordered them as scratch and dent, I could not find a single blemish on them. So kudos to Crutchfield for that.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Chris from Riceville, TN on 4/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great little bookshelf speakers

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Jacob from Stillwater, MN on 3/29/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound great. Way better than the kef 350s I returned and slightly better than my old wharfdale 12.2s.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Robert from San Tan Valley, AZ on 3/10/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like the Sound of these speakers especially with a good source fed in.....Happy Camper !

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Carlos from Orocovis, PR on 3/8/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Buen sonido me equivoqué con este modelo nuevo bien diferente en sonido y diseño a la anterior.

Pros: Bien construida y muy bonita.

Cons: Ninguna.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 8 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Hayden from Seattle, WA on 3/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are fantastic and easily the best you can find at this price point. Crutchfield's shipping is very quick and product arrived in mint condition.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great speakers

Sam from Henrico, VA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Despite their small size, these speakers deliver amazing sound. treble and midrange are clear. the biggest surprise is the amount of bass they can pump out with both rock and classical music. These probably deserve a 5 star rating, but I haven't had them long enough to attest to their longevity.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 6 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Joseph from ENON, OH on 2/20/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I am currently listening to these, OMG. Like 4 real. No, REALLY! THANK YOU, ELAC. ALL DAY AND NIGHT LONG...!! . ? EVERYTHING I can praise is here...!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Guest from Atlanta, Ga on 2/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Love em. Worth every penny

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

0 of 0 found this helpful

Very, Very Happy

David from Farmingtn Hls, MI on 2/2/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are incredible sounding speakers. I have a pair of Elac Debut 6.2's and I enjoy them a lot. Those speakers made me a huge Elac fan. I was watching reviews on YouTube about the Debut Reference speakers that Elac offers as well. Steve Guttenberg and Andrew Robinson had great things to say about these speakers, so I purchased them. They're awesome, worth the upgrade! BTW, my receiver specs say that its output is over 100wpc @ 6ohm's so there is some power driving these. I'm using an Elac subwoofer with them with low pass set at 80hz, but I'm not so sure they really need one helping out.

Pros: A very balanced sound a little on the warm side without being boring.

Cons: None so far.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Greensboro

Michael from Greensboro on 1/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are incredible value. I had Triangle BR03 before these. Elac are smoother and more 3D. I am so satisfied with these. Using Rotel A14 and Luxman R-117 to power them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Asheville, NC on 12/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I was looking for bookshelf speakers that could fill a large room 24 x 24 with a 12 foot ceiling. I was very pleased with the sound and richness that these ELAC's gave me. While I'm sure they would even sound better in a smaller space, I am happy and surprised with the clarity and the base.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Minneapolis, MN on 12/2/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound fantastic when paired with the Cambridge AXR100

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Coventry, RI on 9/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Great results in my smallish room. Definition and range a noticeable upgrade from my previous speakers

Pros: Excellent look and a distinct upgrade in sound.

Cons: None at this point.

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

SL from CT on 8/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

A warm, room filling sound at a great price point. From Sinatra to the Pixies, never fatiguing. Very happy with these.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

May be my 'end point' speakers

Crutchfield customer from Hinckley, OH on 6/30/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I came to these after suffering for a couple of years with some Klipsch's (which are not well intended for acoustic, classical, and jazz music). By strong contrast, these Elac's are entirely musical. Give them some power, and they will reward you with room-filling music, not noise. I cannot comment on their 'head-banger' rock, pop, or hip-hop abilities. The Elac's are clearly and evenly capable of reproducing serious music. (An oboe sounds like an oboe, not a kazoo. Violin sections at forte are singing, not rasping.) They sound as real as your recording might. A bargain at this price. I equalize them essentially flat and have available 150 watts per channel, which makes music, not noise in a fairly large, open plan home.

Pros: Flat frequency response, no annoyance in their character. Room filling sound level without bottoming out.

Cons: I'm not in love with the grey grille cloth, but It would fit in well in a more modern decor.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 11 found this helpful

Value winner !

Crutchfield customer from Melville, NY on 6/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

For the price, I don't think you'll find a better all around bookshelf speaker. Very balanced with a surprising amount of low end given their size.. Extremely pleased with them and Crutchfields price / shipping ..

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

Looks great and sound is awesome

Crutchfield customer from Lafayette, CO on 5/21/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These are solid speakers that fit exactly what I was looking for: walnut finish, front bass port (which I needed because I'm using these on a built-in bookshelf), great low end, and a really nice appearance with the silver cloth grills. Looks awesome with my vintage receiver and amp, and most importantly sounds great!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Yonkers, NY on 5/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Sound is amazing! Not sure you can find better bookshelf speakers for the price.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Westerville, OH on 5/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Right size for bookshelves, but needed a big sound for a large room. Sounds good so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 1 found this helpful

Nice Speakers

Crutchfield customer from San Ysidro, CA on 5/3/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These ELAC speakers sound great. Their overall tone seems to be quite neutral with a slight emphasis the lower and middle frequencies. The treble sounds flat but not dull. They also appear to be well made and are hefty. I want to give a special thank you to Crutchfield for their excellent service and for the speedy delivery of my new speakers.

Pros: Clear and Thick Sound

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 3 found this helpful

Enjoyable, did not disappoint, hard to fault

Crutchfield customer from Sewickley, PA on 3/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Like you, perhaps, I weighed all-allllll-the options, read all the forums and reviews . . . many of which remind me of reading wine reviews: YMMV. What finally led me to purchasing these was Amir's tests at Audio Science Review. Unlike the subjective wine tasting notes, he has developed fairly rigorous objective measurements, and he has seen just about everything cross his path. Not only did the DBR62 perform well for the sensors, but it caused him to uncharacteristically exclaim in his review: "Ah, what joy!" I am enjoying mine! Maybe I got lucky with my room and the positioning, too, but they seem to fill the air around them, rather than keeping me focused on the source. Running from my vintage Yamaha receiver, everything sounds clear, present, full, even without a subwoofer. You wouldn't miss it. Adding in the sub just gives a nice additional weight. In addition to worrying about how they might sound, I was wary about the appearance, knowing that ELAC value-engineered some things, including a vinyl wrap. Unless you're doing a microscopic inspection, they look good. Definitely not a "my speakers are covered in contact paper" situation. You can sleep peacefully, not spending double or triple on something esoteric and not second-guess your choice. For me, for now . . .ah, what joy.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 13 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Refernce DBR62 are a home run!

Crutchfield customer from Wilmington, NC on 3/16/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Returned a pair of Kef ls50's and pick these up instead. What a fantastic, well balanced speaker. It leans on the side of being warm which I like. The sound is never fatiguing which is great for hours of enjoyment. I gave it 4out of 5 stars because its sensitivity is pretty low and requires some quality power to drive the speakers and I feel like the top end is rolled off slightly. Overall, really love these speakers.

Pros: Warm, well balanced and very pleasing to listen to at all volume levels. All types of music sound good

Cons: Low sensitivity Slightly rolled off top end

Crutchfield response on

6 of 8 found this helpful

Great Sounding Bookshelf Speakers

Daniel from LA PORTE, IN on 2/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Purchased the DBR62's as part of a new 2-channel system and I am powering with Cambridge Audio AXR100 stereo receiver. Part of my goal with this system was to keep it simple and low profile. Tower speakers offer better sound for the money but I did not want large cabinets dominating the room. As a result, I focused on bookshelf speaker options - ideally with no sub. After some research, I settled on the DBR62's. Sound quality from these speakers is nothing short of impressive While they cannot match the bass output of larger floor standing speakers, the bass from the DBR62's is still very impressive. The highs are silky smooth but not overwhelming or fatiguing. Midrange from these speakers is simply spectacular. I am hearing details in songs that I have never noticed before. I purchased the Walnut veneer with black baffle color combo. The vinyl wrap is well done but I have seen better wood looking vinyl coverings. At this price point, I do not expect real wood veneer but think a more attractive vinyl is warranted. The white / light oak version might be a better look if it matches your decor. The silver / gray grills have a sort of a retro look to them and were part of the reason I chose the DBR62's. Unfortunately, the grills on mine came with some puckers / wrinkles. I spoke to Crutchfield support about the grills - may try a steam iron to see if it helps to smooth them out. 5 stars for sound quality and 4 stars for aesthetics - 4.5 overall.

Pros: Excellent sound quality High value performance Solid construction Attractive grill design

Cons: Vinyl wrap a little cheap looking Grill fabric wrinkles

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Excellent value

Crutchfield customer from Spokane, WA on 1/27/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having downsized to a small condo with a 13' x 13' LR, which also acts as my listening area, I sold off my previous system. To address this new space, I needed a new monitor/ bookshelf speaker (also, I made a promise that I was not going to spend more than $600 for speakers). Over the years I've been "very" blessed to have some nice systems, which ranged in cost from $1K to $20K, all of which were "very good" in their unique & different ways. As for these Elac Debut References, well, I dare say that I like them as much as compared to my previous speakers, which cost 5 times more and that I "always" look forward to listening to them, which is the greatest compliment I can give them. IMO, they provide great listening at both low & high levels and can be listened to all day long, with no fatigue, and they accurately get all instruments right, as well as male & female vocals. Also, they make bad recordings tolerable, and good recordings GOOD. The negative/ being critical, these Elac do not have the "ultimate" depth & width & refinement of my previous speakers, but again they cost 5x's less (also to be fair I'm powering them an approximate $600 cost 45-watt a channel Integrated Amp. and not with my previous Integrated amp, which cost about 4x' more ). In closing, this downsizing journey for me/ my ears has been a real epiphany and has shown me that a "GREAT LISTENING EXPERIENCE" can be had for little money (for me these ELAC's are keepers, all I need)!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 1/12/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These speakers are like good friends. You just have a great time together and like to hear to what they have to say.  They tell you what they are thinking and feeling, but don't beat you over the head with it.  They tell you what you need to hear, but never in an offensive or mean way.  If they are mean or offensive, you're asking for it and deserve it.  When you go out with them, you don't party so hard that you wake up the next afternoon with your ears ringing, and head pounding, wondering what happened to you cash.  Its also not like hanging out with grandma listening to the same stories with crumpets and tea.  When you go out with them, you just have a good time.  If you want to party, they bring the beer.  If you want to hangout with grandma, they bring the sugar for the tea, ready and willing to help you eat the crumpets. Just like good friends, even if I find some new people to drink beer or drink tea with, I'll keep these around for a long time, enjoying my time connecting with them.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

14 of 19 found this helpful

Less laid back ELACs

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 12/1/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Had the original ELAC B6s & Klipsch RP-15M. I had a friend bring over B6.2's to see if it was worth upgrading. The 6.2's are improved but I couldn't justify paying another $250ish for what was a side grade. I was looking for bigger soundstage/detail/cleaner bass, & listenable at all volume levels, while being easy to listen to as I'm sensitive to treble. I also tried the KEF Q150/Klipsch RP600M/Wharfedale Diamond 11.2. I returned those them because they were all brighter than the ELAC Reference. I prefer warmer sounding speakers, but I heard the Klipsch RP fixed the treble issues but to me they were still fatiguing after a while. The ELACs are buttery smooth for the most part, there seems to be a small peak somewhere around 10k but the majority of time they are still nowhere near as harsh as Klipsch, or KEF. I found they play well with almost all types of music, although they can still be revealing which surprised me. They shine with an extremely smooth midrange and laid back top end with a tiny bit of sparkle. I found with the KEF & Klipsch they excelled with some music and other music wasn't as good. With these I can play pretty much anything on them and it sounds great (though guitars can sometimes lack the energy Klipsch just gets right, doesn't mean it sounds horrible on these). These do have worse imaging then the KEF/Klipsch but the tonality of vocals makes up for it. Try the B6.2 first and if you want an upgrade that sounds similar try these!

Pros: Smooth midrange, easy to listen to all day. Sounds good at all volumes. Slightly laid back but not as much as original B6.

Cons: Imaging could be better, compared to KEF and Klipsch counterparts. Still not bad at all!

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

21 of 22 found this helpful

Good on the shelf

Crutchfield customer from Grand Rapids, MI on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

These had bigger drivers and better base for me especially when I actually put them on a oak bookshelf next to my books. The top not quite as strong as my Pioneer SP-EBS73-LR's. Hard call but I stuck with my Pioneers.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Perfect

Crutchfield customer from Fort Worth, TX on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

This is a crowning achievement for Elac and Andrew Jones. I have a detailed review of this speaker compared to not only the rest of the debut line but to the klipsch RP600M as well on YouTube. It combines the best attributes of the Debut b6 and 6.2 while adding additional refinement but still retaining the fun factor from the original b6. This is a rare speaker that can disappear and put you into the music. It's a remarkable speaker.

Pros: Detail, mid range, bass, balanced, soundstage, and imaging.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 19 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Nashville, TN on 10/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

It's hard to buy speakers without hearing them first, but these sound more boxy than expected for pop/rock. Classical, on the other hand, sounds fabulous. Additionally, they are vinyl not wooden- though the description clearly pointed this out before purchase, it's a little more obvious than expected. If I had it to do over again...

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 12 found this helpful

Mighty good sound

Crutchfield customer from Chesapeake, VA on 10/13/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Since I received this pair of Elac DBR62, I have been playing them on and off for about 25-30 hours. It really didn't shine at first when I had it hooked up to My Rotel RB-1552 mkII. Lately, I have been playing them with my vintage HK PM665 integrated amp and really like them a lot. The bass is not boomy even with bass heavy music highs that really plays to my ear well. Before this Elac, I tried the QAcoustics 3030i after reading lots of reviews but i returned those as I find bass is a bit boomy with both of my gear. This Elacs really shines and is proof of good design.

Pros:

Cons: No bottom feet, I laid a sheet of felt under it.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Guest from Glendale, CA on 8/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I've already said my piece on these great speakers but after a few months living with them, I thought I'd do a followup. I have them paired with a Yamaha S801, Audience Ohono cables and a Oppo 93 DVD player. The sound is so pleasant, natural and beguiling that I have not been able to best them by comparing to other speakers. I have a unique difficult placement situation and with the front port, combined with a couple of mall eight inch subs, the sound is amazing. They just stomped a pair of $1400 highly reviewed speakers. Anyone who says they are sleepy or not exciting must be addicted to hyper detail or want their music thrown in their face. These are listen all day and just enjoy the beauty of the music speakers. The sound is detailed, spacious, rich and fulfilling. The Audience speaker cables are an excellent match and even though some people might turn their nose up at a Yamaha integrated, The S801 is a truly fine musical piece of equipment and a great partner. I think the addition of a small sub, or a pair of them does free the speaker a bit. I have this audiophile problem of wherein I reach the goal I want, ButI keep looking. It's a disease. I will continue to compare and play with things but it gets harder all the time with equipment like this.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

32 of 32 found this helpful

Great Bookshelf sound

Crutchfield customer from Marion, OH on 6/30/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Let me start by saying these are exceptional speakers, especially for the money. I hate to give the a 4 rating, when in all reality I would give the a 4.5. I'm just a ordinary guy that likes speakers. I'm not doing and crazy computerized testing, I'm just listening to music I like. I used a NAD T-747 receiver to power them. They really do like power. They are so smooth, and easy to listen to. They have great extension for a bookshelf speaker. I get listener fatigue, and these didn't cause me any grief. I compared them against B&W 606, Ascend Acoustic Sierra 1, and KEF LS50's. I listened to all kinds of music from rock to country. IMO they are much better than the LS50's. I do not enjoy the 50's at all though. To my ears they are sterile and pierce my ears. I think they compared favorably to the Sierra 1's. For the money I would buy the ELAC's for sure. The Sierra's might have a tad bit more openness to them, but to my ears they were close. The B&W 606's sounded better in every way to my ears. They are amazing speakers. I was listening to The Who Behind Blue Eyes, and the 606 just add a different layer to his voice. They just sound more open and fuller to me. However, for $300 difference in price I would say it's a coin flip. I ended up returning the ELAC's just because they couldn't unseat anything I currently have. But they are great speakers, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to people.

Pros: Value Sound Quality Build Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

23 of 26 found this helpful

ELAC Debut Reference DBR62

Crutchfield customer from Houston, TX on 6/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Very good.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

12 of 26 found this helpful

Elac DBR 6.2 in White Oak Winner Winner

Douglas from Clyde on 6/26/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

I replaced a set of 6.2s I had for 3 months. Loved them but they sounded funky now and then. Must be the cabinet resonance they speak of. The bass was boomy. In a very harsh room so you may have better results. The DBRs hooked up to the same Yamaha 501 integrated Amp, same room. The tweeters are amazing very clear clean and not veiled. The bass, don't worry, while playing some tracks it felt and sounded like the kick drum was somewhere in the room. The mids very even throughout. Really no need for a sub with music in my room. Bass waves make it through my overstuffed chair when turned up. Wonderful at low to med levels the details are present at all volumes. Volume knob on the 501 at the 11 o'clock position in pure direct mode is just right for some loud music. The DBRs can take more though. I been looking for speakers for six months now, most have that artificial bass boost. I Listen differently at 55 then 35. Once you get home a speaker with boost its there. These are a second system, my first uses a set of JBL 530s. Nothing I hear, again I hear beats the 530s in the right room. The B6.2s were a let down from the JBLs, the DBRs are not. So there is no way to really judge the DBRs until you get them home. I would say if you are thinking bout them, you won't be disappointed. I have bought 3 sets of speakers in the last 6 months I am keeping, JBL 530s, ELAC DBR 6.2s, and Cambridge SX 50s. Thats were my ears landed me. Hope this Helps. The JBLs were on sale.

Pros: White Oak

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great speaker

Crutchfield customer from Glendale, CA on 6/24/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

After trying PSB XB and Klipsch M600 speakers, I settled on these Elacs. Nothing wrong with the other speakers, just not for me. I love the even handed smooth presentation of this EALC speaker. It doesn't have any unpleasant anomalies and presents music in a natural and easy to listen to fashion. The important thing is I can listen to these all day without fatigue. The construction seems to be of very high order and the front porting helps with wall placement. it matches well with less than perfect electronic you may find in this price range. Just a great speaker.

Pros: Musicality and high construction quality.

Cons: The walnut vinyl covering looks cheap to me. There must be a better covering that doesn't look like a cheap coffee table. Elac also doesn't make a black speaker even though it would match with other speakers like subwoofers.A lot of people choose black so they don't have many different colors of wood in their decor. Consider it. Some people might the ability to bi wire.

Crutchfield response on

17 of 19 found this helpful

Very nice

Crutchfield customer from Springfield, MO on 5/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

THese speakers are replacing a pair of Boston Acoustics bookshelf speakers that were over 10 years old. The ELAC DBR62 sound much fuller and have a deeper bass response. Overall I am impressed with the sound and build of these speakers .

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Best Bookshelves for the Money?

Crutchfield customer from Cotati, CA on 5/8/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Having tested these next to my KEF R3's, you can rest assured that you are getting 99% of a top tier speaker for less than 1/3 the cost. The R3 sounds more sterile, more neutral, which you may prefer, but the Debut Reference bookshelves sound just as good and sometimes better. The finish and styling on them is the best I've ever seen on a pair of speakers at this price. Would recommend these to anybody, regardless of budget.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

23 of 23 found this helpful

Way better then the debut 2.0 6.2

Crutchfield customer from Goodrich, MI on 3/23/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee purchase (What's this?)

Andrew Jones hit a home run with these speakers.The detail every note of the music and voices have there own space. The sound stage is very large and open.They make the rest of my gear sound better. Way to go Andrew Jones.

Pros: Better detail and imaging.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

14 of 15 found this helpful

TOP
Compare the sound