Chat
Contact us
Close contact box
Connect ID #
744 876 69
Connect ID #
744 876 69

Sorry, chat is currently unavailable

Don't wait on hold. We'll call you back when it's your turn to talk with the next available .
Please enter your name  
Please enter your phone number  
Please enter a message  

Calls may be recorded for training and quality control purposes.

We are located in Virginia USA.

Thank you. We will be calling you .
We're sorry. We have encountered a problem.

Customer Reviews

Marantz CD6007

Marantz CD6007 Single-disc CD player with USB port for thumb drives

MFR # CD6007/U1B

5.0 out of 5 stars
89 reviews
View this product
Marantz CD6007

Kurt from Pittstown, NJ on 4/9/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great player. Definitely a luxury listening experience. Brings new life to my cd collection. There is nothing wrong with digital music but there is something very nice about putting a cd in and just sitting back and taking it in.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Herb from Walnut Creek, CA on 4/7/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

What more can I say than my recent purchase of a Marantz CD 6007 has been one the most satisfying shopping experiences I've ever had. First of all, the machine itself is all that I could have wished for at a price I could comfortably afford. It's handsome, solidly built, runs smoothly and quietly and sounds great. Highs are crisp but not fatiguing, lows are deep and clear and the midrange is sweet. I favor my lp collection over my CDs having always thought they sounded more musical, my Marantz 6007 clearly narrows what I felt was the sonic gap as to being all but indiscernible. As happy as I am with my purchase, I cannot say enough positive about my contact with Crutchfield. The availability of live advice with one of their personable, knowledgeable reps was invaluable in my choice of players. Delivery was prompt and absolutely hassle free and was packed well enough to withstand a natural disaster. Thanks to Marantz and Crutchfield for this wonderful addition to my stereo system.

Pros: Look and build quality, simplicity and ease of use features. Sound quality. Value for the price.

Cons: None given the price.

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Bruce from Myrtle Beach, SC on 4/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

A wonderful CD. The only drawback I have found is the small display. You need to be quite close to read it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

High End For Less Than $600.00

Cruz from Guayama, PR on 4/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm not used to technical words when it comes to make a review! I can only add regarding the Marantz CD-6007, that this player provide an open, detailed and roomfilling sound you can only find on players far more expensive! Incredibly, the CD-6007 outperforms my dead Rega Jupiter!The USB port presents near CD quality playback! This music machine does justice to guys on a budget! Don't hesitate to grab one before they're gone!

Pros: Natural, neutral roomfilling sound!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Great Replacement CD Player

Timothy from Westerville, OH on 4/4/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought the Marantz to replace a modestly priced Onkyo CD player which started acting balky after one year (naturally a few days past the warranty period!) and wouldn't play certain discs. I have an older (at least 10 yrs older) Marantz which has been a workhorse and so I bought the CD6007. It was worth the price. Out of the box you can feel the quality. The sound is stunning--even playing through my modestly priced Onkyo--and I am sure it will give me many years of listening pleasure.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 0 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

David from Canton, MI on 2/20/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a great player that has proven over time. It plays well and all that one needs to play CDs at their highest level. The price is a bargain also. DT

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Forrest from Katy, TX on 2/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Product was shipped in great condition. The instructions to hook up were simple and very easy to follow. I had it up and running in minutes. Sound is great and I am enjoying my CD collection once again. I would recommend this player.

Pros: Heavy duty / sturdy cabinet. Good sound

Cons: 1. Have to use remote to open and close tray and 2. Does not show cd information.

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Robert from Burnsville, MN on 2/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have not used with external amplifier/speakers yet. Headphone amp drives Meze Headphones well.

Pros:

Cons: None noted.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Eric from Westport, NY on 2/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so good. This c/d looks good and appears to be well made. But I have had it for only a week or so, so ask me again in maybe a year. By then I will have heard it play dozens of c/d discs and may well give it five stars.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 17 found this helpful

MARANTZ CD6007

Phillip from Lomita, CA on 2/6/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

VERY NICE CD PLAYER. A BIG UPGRADE FROM MY DENON.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 3 found this helpful

The 90s/2000s Sound Different

Joshua from Houston, TX on 1/12/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

As part of upgrading my stereo system, I purchased the CD6007 to pair with my other purchase, the PM6007. Having not had a CD player for at least a decade, I'd forgotten about all the music I'd accumulated and listened to in the 1990s/2000s until rediscovering my CD binder at my parents' house over the holidays. After connecting the CD6007 and popping in one of my favorite albums from that era (Metallica's S&M) all I can say is wow. Admittedly the last time I listened to a CD was a long time ago, but I can clearly say that this album FEELS different than it did on my cheap CD players back then. This could be the quality of the DAC (as well as the quality of the PM6007 amp). Regardless, I've found myself now going to Cactus Music in town and spending more time in the CD section than vinyl (gasp!). The quality of the sound is incredible, and somehow CDs cost less than half of records - nice side benefit!

Pros: Unreal sound that makes albums you thought you knew in the 1990s sound completely new Pairs perfectly with the PM6007

Cons: Screen is relatively simple, doesn't display much

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 10 found this helpful

Great customer service feom Crutchfield

Mark Evan from Greensboro, NC on 1/9/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Good product. Even better support from crutchfield with assistance to set yo with my amplifier

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Kurt from Garnet Valley, PA on 1/5/2024

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with my purchase,amazing sound quality!Paired with marantz 6015 and kef speakers.Brings my old cds back to life!As always Crutchfield is awesome to deal with,from advice to quick delivery and communication.

Pros: Best bang for the buck!

Cons: None yet

Crutchfield response on

2 of 2 found this helpful

Nice, but one drawback.

Richard from Killdeer, ND on 12/3/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very nice CD by Marantz. It's quiet with a smooth running tray. Hook-up is very easy. I gave it a four star only because I can't use the remote connector cable that comes with the CD that could allow the use of the CD remote to control the volume, etc of the Receiver. Apparently, you have to have a Marantz Receiver to obtain this function so some of the buttons on the CD remote cannot be used. I tried to connect the cable to my Yamaha RX-A4A Receiver but it did not work. The cable jack end is smaller than the cable jack hole on my Receiver. In fact, the Manual states to plug the cable into you Maranta Receiver. I guess it's a minor issue. I just use my Receiver's remote.

Pros: Nice operation. Smooth. Nice design.

Cons: Can't use the remote cable unless you have a Marantz Receiver.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 15 found this helpful

New York

EFREM from New York on 11/2/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

very good. BUT NOT AS GOOD AS THE CD6006. lacks the punch, realism, detail of cd6006. tried the cd60. much better soundstage--but again---not as good bite, detail, slam of the cd6006. i listen to mostly classical music--this cd6007 less dynamic, scintillating. with cd6006, your hear a luxurious realistic turn-your-head sound of the instruments. and the growl, bite, energy and detail of voice is similarly is present with cd6006--but not the cd60. wanted to love these cd players, but disappointing. what hifi review also has some reservation on cd6007 re voice. i listened with cambridge axa 35! and emotiva bookshelf--both very nice!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 17 found this helpful

Buyer Beware....DAC in unit is ESS not AK!!!

Mike from PORT DEPOSIT, MD on 10/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this CD player last month on the strengths of the online reviews, all of which touted the new AK4490 DAC in the unit, which is apparently one of the primary upgrades from the previous 6006 model. Out of curiosity, I popped the cover on my 6007 this morning and sure enough it had the ESS DAC in it, NOT the AK DAC. At this point I am furious, and could care less about whether the sound quality of the ESS DAC is comparable to the AK DAC. This is NOT the cd player I paid for.... Digging through all the reviews and the Q&A for the product on the Crutchfield site, there is one mention in the Q&A section of a possible DAC replacement due to the fire at the AK DAC factory, but the player is still being advertised as having the AK DAC....right on the product overview page it says "A high-performance 24-bit/192kHz AK4490 digital-to-analog converter with a selectable digital filter lets you tailor its performance to your listening preference." Marantz and Crutchfield should both be ashamed of themselves....this is clearly false advertising on both of their parts, regardless of whether Marantz reserves the right to change specs on their gear. If you have purchased a 6007, get out your screwdriver...my guess is that all of the units being shipped are utilizing a DAC other than advertised.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on 10/24/2023
Hi Mike, thanks for bringing this to our attention. Manufacturers sometimes update their products with running changes. This is a normal part of quality control and can, as is the case now, impacted by the availability of certain parts. Marantz re-engineered this unit to accommodate a new DAC and their Soundmaster re-tuned to ensure optimum sound quality. We've updated our information online to reflect the updated information accordingly. We're sorry for any confusion. If you have any further questions or concerns, don't hesitate to let us know.

14 of 31 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Clint from Southport, NC on 9/13/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Exactly as reviewed . Received it in two days. Good experience. I'm

Pros: Sounds clear as a bell through by vintage Sansui

Cons: Remote a bit overkill.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Carlton from TRENTON, NJ on 9/8/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Had a 5 disc changer that finally had problems.I wanted to replace it with a single disc player.I read a lot of reviews of the Marantz CD6007 and several other players. I decided on the Marantz.After receiving the Marantz and just playing one CD,I realized why the reviews were so favorable.I never thought CDs could sound so good.I don't have any desire to go back to vinyl now.When I read the reviews I would laugh when people said they were going back and playing all of their old CDs again.Well I'm doing the same thing now.The sound is so smooth and warm,and with a lot of detail .The sound stage is wide and deep also.I could listen for hours without listener fatigue that I would get on my other players.Highly recommended.By the way, Crutchfield is great to deal with.

Pros: Great sound and appears to be well built.

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

7 of 8 found this helpful

minus 3 stars for the awful volume knob

Paul from Newport Beach on 9/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I'm hearing the same warmth and detail everybody else is hearing, but some demented designer at Marantz thought it was a good idea to make the volume knob tiny, tiny! Smaller than a headphone jack (see photo). Plus there is a lot of resistance in the knob, so to make it turn, you have to grip it tightly enough to hurt your fingers. A piece of audio gear that gives you physical pain is just completely outside my imagination, and I kind of regret this purchase. NOTE: this review would only apply to the people who are plugging headphones directly into the CD6007.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

3 of 28 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Bonnie from Moberly, MO on 9/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Crutchfield Company was really helpful. Randy was the representative that helped me when I placed my order on the phone. Service was fast, arriving in 2 days.

Pros: Randy was friendly and helpful on the phone. My husband loves the CD player that I purchased for him.

Cons: There were no cons to my purchase. I have bought from Crutchfield before and will use them again.

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Carlos from MIAMI, FL on 8/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Fantastic product. can easily stream via the USB port. Love it.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Kathy from Tyngsboro, MA on 8/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great value sounds great

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

0 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Mike from Woodbine, MD on 8/22/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I absolutely love this CD player. Sounds great and I especially like the ability to play FLAC or mp3 files from a memory stick.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Paul from Allenton, WI on 8/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very good cd player. Happy to have it, if your thinking of purchasing one don't hesitate.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Really nice!

Philip from Guilford, CT on 8/11/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Does the job very nicely. It's great in almost every way. I miss having the CD and song titles on the display, but not a big deal. Love the sound quality and look with my matching receiver. Very happy!

Pros: Has just about everything your typical listener needs in a CD player :)

Cons: CD title and song info not on display :(

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

10 of 11 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Clark from Leander on 8/6/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Bought this to replace a NAD CBE-546C ( bought from Crutchfield). Nothing wrong with NAD player, just wanted to upgrade. Played my 1st CD in the Marantz and instantly noticed more detail and spaciousness. Simple hookup to my Denon AVR-1600H (another Crutchfield purchase). Best to use coaxial cable-more detail. $200 price drop also big inducement. 2 day shipping as always.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Steven from FOND DU LAC, WI on 7/1/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Marantz always puts out a nice product and this is no exception. Nicest CD I've had

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 9 found this helpful

Excellent CD Player

Gorgan from Logan, UT on 6/27/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been listening to my new Marantz CD6007 for a few weeks, and I really like it. The sound is very clear and full. My CDs sound much better than they did with the old machine. The Marantz CD6007 is obviously well built. It has a solid feel. It fits in very well with my older receiver, both in terms of sound quality and appearance. I expect to enjoy many years of happy CD listening. I plan on buying more CDs. I highly recommend this CD player. It's worth the money. I should mention that it was well packaged and arrived in great shape.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

11 of 12 found this helpful

Easy to Set Up, Easy to Use, Excellent Sound

Crutchfield customer from Averill Park, NY on 6/16/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It arrived in excellent condition and was easy to set up and put to use. (The quick start guide is actually somewhat amusing: Hook it up, Plug it in, Open the drawer and put in a disk, Hit Play. Oh, and there's something about putting batteries in the remote.) It works exactly as advertised and looks good doing it. It sounds very, very nice through my NAD pre- and power amps and my MartinLogan speakers. I have not yet tried the USB input; I didn't buy it for that. Maybe someday. In any case, that feature requires no moving parts, unlike the transport, so there isn't much that could go wrong with it. I am not crazy about the remote, which has lots of features related to other Marantz products that I don't (and won't) own. Hunting around for the basic operations (open/close, play, pause, stop) was more trouble than it's worth. I just set it aside after a moment (without finding the buttons I was looking for) and did everything using the front panel switches. But that's a minor point, because I wouldn't generally use it, anyway. I like to pop in the disc, hit play, and settle back. (Yes, I'm an old-ish guy...)

Pros: Straightforward to set up and use. Excellent performance.

Cons: Overkill remote (for my purposes), but not a big issue.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Roger from Brookeville, MD on 5/29/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Everything went well with the purchase of the CD player and next-day delivery service. Only negative was that the UPS tracking system wasn't accurate regarding the status of the shipment.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Kenneth from TUCSON, AZ on 5/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The sound quality from this player is incredible, I'm hearing things I've never heard before!!!! Thank you Marantz and Crutchfield!!!!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz CD 6007

Jeffrey from Indianapolis, IN on 5/10/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I am enjoying this cd player very much warm and very detailed sound. The build quality is excellent but they give you a cd rom for the detailed instructions I would prefer it in booklet form.

Pros: Great sound well built.

Cons: Limited instructions but it's easy to use.

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

RICH & WARM

Christopher from WEST MILFORD, NJ on 4/28/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I purchased this unit to accompany a MARANTZ PM6007 with KLIPSCH Reference Series bookshelf speakers and an older model REL Britannia subwoofer, and have it connected with an AUDIO ART COAXial digital cable. The break-in period is over and the sound is rich and warm, the way I like it with the music I listen to when working, and I honestly prefer the overall sound of this player with plain old CDs to my SACDS played through a much pricier system, not in every case, but often enough to make me question the value of SACDs and all that extra bandwidth. I am lucky to have very good hearing and extreme detail (for me) detracts from the listening experience. This is a terrific CD player, and not just for the money, which makes it a tremendous bargain in my view.

Pros: Warm, rich sound with enough detail to add to (not detract from) the listening experience and a great value.

Cons: None that I can find...

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Jeff from Houston, TX on 4/15/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I loved my previous CD player, a 25-year-old Sony CDP-XA1ES, but it was destroyed in a fire. I spent a lot of time researching its replacement and finally decided on the CD6007. I have no regrets whatsoever. I'm hearing little subtleties I'd never noticed before, and even not-so-great recordings sound... well, somewhat better, or at least a little more nuanced.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Lorraine from Darien, IL on 4/4/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Very happy with this. Delivery was quick and everything went smooth

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

2 of 5 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Miami Beach , FL on 2/25/2023

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Following the demise of my NAD 3456 (could not keep the disk in), the Marantz arrived this week. Installation took one minute and it was ready to go. Beautiful and solid machine. Great sound in connection with my Cambridge CXN and Marantz 6004.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Very nice CD player.

David from Davenport, IA on 12/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Build quality is top notch. Quiet, smooth transfer and operation. Looks great. Controls have a quality feel.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Gregory from Granite Bay, CA on 12/19/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have previously had a Marantz DVD player and Panasonic DVD player. I really like the sound of the CD 6007. The sound is more forward and the sound stage is wider without loosing depth. The bass has more detail. Symphony music is clear and various instruments are readily identified and can be heard separately. Solo instruments are beautifully rendered. Human vocals from Christmas music to rock are also beautifully rendered. The unit operates very smoothly and quickly. I am very pleased.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 9 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Henri from Cumming, GA on 12/18/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Impressive, an outstanding replacement for an ancient Onkyo carrousel to complement my vintage 70's Marantz Model 300 system

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD 6007 / CD Player

Gene from Ponte Vedra, FL on 12/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Arrived nicely packaged, easy set up, functions properly and cds sound great. Excellent overall experience!

Pros: Quality

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo

5 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Frederick from Shepherdstown, WV on 12/12/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

With a sizable CD collection it was time to replace a 33 year old Pioneer player. I spent a lot of time reading customer reviews on Crutchfield's website. I kept coming back to the Marantz CD6007. It is in the mid-price range and has features which I was looking for. This player has given new life to my oldest CD's. I can hear nuances in my mostly classical collection that I didn't hear before. It fits well with my vintage integrated amp which is the next component I will replace.

Pros: The CD6007 is solidly built. The disc tray is substantial.

Cons: The manual is on DVD.

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Very pleased

Witt from Cumming, GA on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I have a high end front end and custom monitors + sub so I wasn't expecting a big difference, I was wrong. Buddy Guy's I Got a Feeling was like a live performance. High and mid range crisp, bass soft and powerful.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Gary from Rcho Sta Marg, CA on 12/5/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sound and operation are first rate. Very solid, high quality piece. Be prepared to spend several hundred more for something better.

Pros: Detailed sound, build quality, headphone amp

Cons: Nothing at this price

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Emil from Washington, DC on 11/28/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The Marantz CD6007 is an absolute winner! The sound quality is crystal clear and every cd that I've put on sounds like I had never heard it before! There was a notable difference with the deliverance of the sound, very pure and natural but prominent with distinction. Listening to music on this CD player is absolutely pure joy!

Pros: Very well built and produces perfect results!

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Chris from Herndon, VA on 10/25/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This masterpiece of a machine is the piece de resistance for audiophiles who prefer CDs to streaming.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Mark from Topeka, KS on 9/16/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

5 stars here! Sound is very clear and detailed with a good amount of low end. If you are still a CD person you can't go wrong with this one.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Joseph from Florham Park, NJ on 7/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I recently decided to upgrade my system with a quality CD player. I narrowed my choices down to two players, the Yamaha CD-S303 and the Marantz CD6007. The Marantz had been out of stock for several months so I was considering the Yamaha due to its availability. When I saw the Marantz CD6007 was back in stock, I ordered it immediately. I received the Marantz in time to enjoy several CDs at the end of the week. The depth, detail, and sonic improvements are life-changing. This CD player brought new life to my CD collection and my only regret is that I didn't purchase this unit sooner. I strongly recommend the Marantz CD6007 for all types of CD music.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Colorado Spgs, CO on 7/26/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Drawer and loading seem firm not clanky or loose. Build has solid feel. As for the sound quality...highs are smooth but detailed, lows are well defined but not over abundant, mids are sometimes "distant " sounding depending on the source recording. But, as a disclaimer my Avalon 2.0 speakers sometimes get that way too. Sound staging is great with both depth and width. I also like the two filter selections. This unit also blends well with my vintage solid state mcintosh amps which is uncommon (as others don't. ) Overall I highly recommend this player as well as the great crutchfield staff and service...I previously had purchased a different brand unit (defective) which they replaced with no questions asked...the manufacturer(I'm now on a first name basis with) was not so accommodating as crutchfield returned the second unit (also defective), which I feel is outstanding service!

Pros: Sound quality, two sound filters which are fun also

Cons: No open/close or fast forward/reverse on remote that I can find.( I need a paper copy manual) unique appearance with curved front.

Crutchfield response on

19 of 24 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

John from Virginia Beach, VA on 6/30/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Paired with a Marantz 2270 receiver that I purchased in 1972 and a pair of EPI (Epicure) speakers. Sounds great together even though the components have a 50 year age difference.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

9 of 10 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

David from New Jersey on 4/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I was a bit hesitant to spend this much on a CD player (as I usually stream music through my Cambridge CXNv2), but I went for it. I inserted one of my favorite jazz CDs, Coltrane's Ballads, and was immediately blown away by the quality of the sound from the CD6007. I don't remember hearing a CD player with so much clarity and fullness. The CD6007 has breathed new life into my CD collection and, for the first time in years, I am buying CDs again. Great CD player!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

16 of 17 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Terry from NINE MILE FALLS, WA on 4/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I wanted to add a cd player to my old 70's stereo system since I have a large collection of cd's and this would give me one more option for playing music besides my record collection. I also wanted to have a player with a USB input so I could lode up a bunch music. This player seems to really well built and the cd tray is nice and solid, the remote control works nicely and has tons of functions. I have this hooked up to an old Luxman pre amp with a Marantz 240 amplifier driving some Klipsch heritage speakers. I felt that at first it sounded kind of bright but after playing with some settings and running for a few days I'm impressed with the sound quality, the onboard DAC sounds pretty good to me with a nice sound stage. It's pretty cool to be able to load 2000 songs on a thumb drive and play that with the random feature, gives you hours of your music and sounds just as good as cd's. I've been a Marantz fan for years and I'm happy I got this cd player, it plays cd's flawlessly and does not disappoint. I would recommend it as an addition to your system for another option for playing some of that old cd collection you might have around.

Pros: Well built, feels solid. Remote is nice, I like the display in the unit as well. USB input, Marantz quality.

Cons: Would be cool if it supported Blue Tooth but not a deal breaker for me.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 11 found this helpful

Great Value!

Sotirios from Cambridge, MA on 4/11/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Accurate and responsible description of the technology, fast shipping, and excellent payment options. I cannot think of anything better!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 4 found this helpful

Astounding

Tracy from Uxbridge, MA on 2/21/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Astounding details and channel separation. This was an upgrade and has brought my CD library back to life.

Pros: Wonderful sound, good options

Cons: Tiny buttons

Crutchfield response on

4 of 5 found this helpful

Outstanding

BRYAN from Asheville, NC on 1/23/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I've been a pretty high end audiophile for almost 50 years & been through lots of gear. My former cd player was a vintage top of the line Rotel RCD 975, which I piped through a Eastern Electric Minimax Tube DAC. It's still a very musical cd player, but as I found out, lacking in definition. Enter the Marantz CD6007. When I first hooked it up, I was not impressed. Lots of treble glare and a harsh presentation. I didn't like it & was ready to send it back. Some of these devices need a proper burn in, so I let it play a cd on repeat for 3 days, then evaluated it. Oh boy. The harshness and glare is gone, and what's left is precise and musical clear-cut definition with very tight extended bass and treble. It's not as warm & laidback as the Rotel, but more analytical. I'm hearing things in my cds that I've never heard before. You can clearly hear double tracked vocals in various recordings; background instruments stand out like never before, the bass is very deep and tight, if not 'fat'. Comparing the Marantz's DAC to the Minimax tube DAC, I have to say I prefer the Marantz DAC. It's not as warm as the Minimax, but the definition and articulation is very impressive. It can sound a little 'crisp', vocals are not particularly warm (the Rotel excels there); but so far it's not fatiguing. In short, I'm enjoying critical listening again, hearing every nuance. While I'm sure there are better cd players available for more $, this unit scores pretty high. So yeah, 5 stars.

Pros: Detailed, articulate presentation. Precise bass and treble. Lots of high end features and flexibility with different music formats. Invites critical listening since you can hear EVERYTHING in the recordings. Very impressive.

Cons: A bit lacking in 'warmth'

Crutchfield response on

30 of 32 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Michael from Cookeville, TN on 1/14/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great CD Player! Really like the 2 filters to select your own listening preference. Solid well built. Music is better than I have ever heard in 25 years.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Waco

Joseph from Waco on 1/13/2022

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

An awesome CD player. I have been waiting for the CD6007 for what seems like forever. I just set it up and I am "blown away!" This is an is amazing player and my CD's have never sounded this good. It's hooked up to a Marantz SR5012 and a 5.1 set of Klipsch Reference Premiere speakers.

Pros: Sound, clarity, build quality. Did I mention sound?

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

A super improvement in sound reproduction

Crutchfield customer from Allendale, MI on 12/17/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This CD player is definitely worth the money. I thought all CD players were the same but I was wrong. This piece of audio equipment added a new meaning to sound quality and excitability. I thought digital music sounded the same on all pieces of equipment. This Marantz CD player takes it to the next level. My CD'S sounded not only new but alive with detail, accuracy, and life like reproduction that I had never heard before.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

7 of 7 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Guest from Chicago, IL on 11/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this to compliment/upgrade from my Yamaha changer which still works great but is getting up there in age. I also considered Rotel. This runs through Evergreen interconnects to a Rotel AV receiver / Zone 2 Amp and a variety of B&W CM speakers (5, 10 and 1). I've been having some fun A/B testing. This is what I've found. Warmer sound, greater separation, detail and sound stage. I'm hearing my CD's very differently. I don't care about SACD so I was not going to drop the cash on more expensive units. Build quality is great. Set up was easy, as is operation. The headphone amp is a nice convenience although I have a separate pre amp installed. Overall this unit is worth the wait.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Walter Szymanski

Crutchfield customer from S Plainfield, NJ on 11/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Overall it's a clear winner.Great detail, dynamics , and a beautifully clear sound. It covers all the bases. Well worth the money.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Frank from Van Nuys, CA on 10/31/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

My major dislike - all the buttons are the same size and too small. The open/close "draw" button and "play" button are the most used and should be much larger for easier access.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

17 of 58 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Buckeye, AZ on 9/8/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is the best CD player ever. It was bought as an upgrade and I can tell the difference! The sound quality is night and day. I am so happy with my purchase!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

8 of 8 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Chubbuck , ID on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Great products, great service,and, always with the customer in mind.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

1 of 4 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Childersburg, AL on 8/23/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Wonderful Marantz CD player if you can get one, purchase it.

Pros: Everything you can ask for reasonably priced CD player, great sound!!

Cons: None

Crutchfield response on

6 of 7 found this helpful

Great Sound & Great Value

Crutchfield customer from Carrollton, TX on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The clarity of reproduction is wonderful. Compared to my old CD player, the CD6007 has made me aware of instruments in the background that were just background clutter on the other CD player. For the price point, this is a great value.

Pros: - Easy to use - Wonderful sound - Appears to be built for the long haul

Cons: - None at this time

Crutchfield response on

15 of 15 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Reno, NV on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Have had the unit for 2 weeks and it has performed great! No issues and the sound is excellent.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

3 of 3 found this helpful

Worth The Wait!

Crutchfield customer from Bloomington , IN on 8/11/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

It took 5 months to receive, but it was well worth the wait! The chip availability caused delays across the board for a lot of equipment over the last year, not just Marantz. Anyway, this thing lives up to all the hype. I was running an old Sony ES multi-disc player as a transport and an old Adcom external DAC which sounded really good, but I was ready for something new and preferred and all-in-one package. The Marantz with the new AKM 4490 chip sounds amazing and definitely a step up from what I was hearing before. Soundstage is wide and there is much more warmth and tighter bass. Pretty amazing piece of equipment at the price point. Highly recommend.

Pros: Overall sound, 2 digital filter options (still deciding which I prefer), build quality; USB on front panel for hi-res

Cons: small display on the front of the unit

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Surprised by what I had been missing.

Crutchfield customer from Valders, WI on 7/28/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Several years ago my Denon CD player died and I bought a cheap player to replace it on a temporary basis. The cheap player worked okay. I don't have a critical ear when it comes to listening to music but this Marantz CD6007 was night and day compared to the cheap player, the sound is so much better I actually prefer listening to my old CDs over other sources again. I just wish I had gotten one of these players sooner. Seemed a bit pricy but is worth the extra money. Like they say you get what you pay for and the Marantz CD6007 is worth what it costs.

Pros: Easy to hook up and use. Excellent quality and performance.

Cons: A bit pricy. Took 4 months to get, but was worth the wait.

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Layton, UT on 7/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I waited 7-8 months for it it finally come in, but it was worth it. Like the reviews I had read, it produced clean and vibrant sound. The Blues sound wonderful again coming through my old JBL 4312s.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

5 of 5 found this helpful

GREAT CD PLAYER

Crutchfield customer from Cambria, CA on 6/22/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The unit was back-ordered for three months. I'm definitely glad I waited. It was worth it! The Marantz CD6007 is fabulous. I had thought that the sound quality of all CD players was similar. With this Marantz player, I learned that's not true. I have a low-end RCA home theater amplifier and two old POLK AUDIO bookshelves speakers along with a new POLK AUDIO TSi CS10 center speaker (also from Crutchfield). I spoke with a knowledgeable Crutchfield representative who told me if I hooked up the CD player with analog connectors, the sound would be processed by my new Marantz player rather than my run-of-the-mill RCA amplifier. That made all the difference. Not only is the sound superb and the disc-loading mechanism super smooth, but the Marantz player also has two choices of filters---to my ears: one more detailed and crisp (Filter 1 option), and one warmer and softer (Filter 2 option). Take your pick. Great information and great service from Crutchfield...and free 2-day shipping. Thank you!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on
Customer review photo Customer review photo

15 of 17 found this helpful

Zack

Crutchfield customer from Bronx, NY on 6/20/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I never knew? What I was missing. So so profound almost Breathtaking!I bought cd players around $300 oh but this is another animal

Pros:

Cons: None whatsoever

Crutchfield response on

10 of 10 found this helpful

Very Impressed

Crutchfield customer from Longwood, FL on 5/26/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The 6+ month backorder wait was worth it given its reproduction specifications and incredible DAC sound clarity. Unfortunately, the AKM chip manufacturer endured a fire at their plant in Japan in October 2020, and lost everything. I looked at a possible DAC CD Player substitution, but nothing came close in terms of DAC quality and the price point.

Pros: DAC sound reproduction Excellent specifications Price Point

Cons: N/A

Crutchfield response on

6 of 6 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Guest from Manalapan, n.j. on 5/5/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Just got my cd 6007 yesterday! Due to manufacture and chip delays I waited 7 months! Let's hope it was worth the wait.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

4 of 28 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Portland, CT on 4/6/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Upgrading from a 1980's Sony CDP-302, which is a great sounding CD player. I immediately noticed what to me is a significant improvement in the clarity and bass response of CD's played on the Marantz CD6007. Playing it through a 1990's Denon DRA-435R 55 watt receiver. Highly recommend.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

13 of 13 found this helpful

Marantz Quality Comes Through Again

Crutchfield customer from Columbus, MS on 3/25/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This unit does everything that the reviews identified. If you have a significant CD collection or really just appreciate the clarity that CD's bring, I would definitely recommend this unit. The soundstage, depth and individual instruments are fantastic. The bottom end is very tight.

Pros: Soundstage Vocals Bottom end Channel separation

Cons: None Sound have bought this unit sooner

Crutchfield response on

9 of 9 found this helpful

Better than the competition

Robert from Trumbull on 2/18/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

For me it's all about the details. I bought this unit to replace an older Marantz player from 10 years ago. Before buying this unit I tried out the Denon equivalent unit, which broke after 3 weeks. After buying the Marantz I realized how similar the units are. I am pretty sure they are both manufactured in the same Vietnamese facility, because a lot of the functionality is similar, down to the LCD layout. Whereas Denon fumbled with that feature set, Marantz hit a home run. For example: an actual eject button on the remote, standby button on the unit (Denon forces you to use remote for standby), eject button brings the unit out of standby (Denon does not), ability to turn off digital output (Denon lets you do this, but only if you also turn the screen off). Sonically the units sound identical to my ears, probably because they use the same chipset. The advantage with the Marantz is the headphone amplifier, upon which they improved greatly since the last iteration 10 years ago. Overall, the player is worth the extra price increase versus the Denon. Very happy with my purchase and I will continue buying Marantz well into the future.

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

43 of 44 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Guest from Rockingham, VA on 2/9/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Seems like a fine piece of equipment so far!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

141 of 141 found this helpful

pure audio

Crutchfield customer from Fayetteville, NY on 1/10/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Pure sound, less the filters and noise. Very streamlined design focuses on the music alone, plug and play the SACDs in your collection, as well as older analog mixed hybrids

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

55 of 153 found this helpful

well worth the money

Steve from NINE MILE FLS, WA on 1/7/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

This is a two part review. One for the player, and one for Crutchfield. Part one, the player. I originally ordered a NAD C568, as the Marantz was out of stock. The NAD was good, but not better than my Oppo BDP-103, so I couldn't see shelling out that much money. I ordered and later received the Marantz. Right out of the box it was great, better clarity than the Oppo, and it seems to get better with every play. The mechanism is smooth, and fast. Finds tracks right now. I prefer filter 2, as it has a little more detail. I could close my eyes and flick the filter from 1 to 2, and could hear the difference 9 out of 10 times. I'm also running a tube preamp and EL34 tube amp with Klipschorns, so I can really hear the details. I think for the money, you won't find a better CD player. Also, for the folks that complain they can't plug in their ipod or iphone..just get a 3.5mm to RCA cable at your local retailer or such, and plug in in directly from your earphone jack to your preamp. (newer iphones will need the earphone adapter that came with them) Part two, Crutchfield. Re: the NAD I returned that player. Crutchfield has the 60 day free listening policy, which is very generous. This is the first item I have returned in over 30 years of doing business with them. They also shipped the Marantz overnight(!) delivery as it took some time to get it from the manufacturer. Their reps are friendly and helpful. If I am to rate Crutchfield, I'd give them 10 stars on a 5 star scale!

Pros: You have a filter choice. Also, the remote may be "light" but it's very functional. Nice to have the eject button on it!

Cons: none that I can find

Crutchfield response on

36 of 176 found this helpful

San Diego

Peter from San Diego on 1/4/2021

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I bought this cd player to replace an NAD machine that was constantly misbehaving, and I couldn't be happier. I have an NAD amplifier, 40 watts, and B&W speakers, so I was looking for a cd player that would be of equal if not better quality, and the Marantz CD6007 exceeds expectations. It delivers a clear, precise, yet warm sound. Strongly recommended.

Pros: Superb sound.

Cons: None.

Crutchfield response on

29 of 31 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Naperville, IL on 12/27/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Replaced a McIntosh MCD 7008 and was pleasantly surprised of the depth and smoothness in sound. Hope the build quality is half as good.

Pros:

Cons: Remote could be totally backlit.

Crutchfield response on

25 of 28 found this helpful

Marantz 6007 CD

Crutchfield customer from Newport News, VA on 12/7/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

So far so GOOD!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

148 of 155 found this helpful

LANCASTER

Jeffrey from LANCASTER on 11/29/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

The CD6007 has excellent definition. Not only can you hear obscure passages in the music but it has depth also. One aspect I find lacking and according to a review I read points this out to my ears the vocals especially female seem to be a bit lacking. Not forward and lacking a bit of breath. All in all a wonderful unit

Pros: depth, timbre, signal to noise, separation, resolution of each instrument

Cons: Vocals(being very picky)

Crutchfield response on

38 of 47 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Taylorsville, NC on 11/17/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

I like it! I replaced an older Sony SACD player that finally bit the dust. It was a little higher end and more expensive when new so, as far as sound quality, the new Marantz is very close but but the old Sony had a little more "punch". Didn't need an SACD anymore and at this price point I'm quite happy with the Marantz. Clear neutral sound. All good!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

28 of 35 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Monrovia, CA on 11/16/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Outstanding addition. I did not realize CD players cold make such a difference in sound quality. It made my system come to life and justified my BW speakers.

Pros: Great sound quality.

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

25 of 27 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from San Jose, CA on 11/14/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Live my Marantz CD6007 it's the best CD player I've ever head, both in design and functionality. I'll be back here to purchase the matching receiver soon! Highly recommended!

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

19 of 22 found this helpful

If you wanted the best most reasonably priced CD player this is it!

Crutchfield customer from Ferndale, MI on 11/12/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Not much to say other than it lives up to all the hype and provides amazing audio playback and, all things considered, the best bang for the buck available for an audiophile.

Pros: Exceptional audio

Cons: None!

Crutchfield response on

24 of 27 found this helpful

Marantz CD6007

Crutchfield customer from Rumford, RI on 11/11/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Happy

Pros:

Cons:

Crutchfield response on

151 of 159 found this helpful

Excellent!

Crutchfield customer from Kentucky on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

Sounds fantastic, excellent build quality the only negative is the USB port does not play from my iPod or iPhone seems like it would not be that hard to add that feature.

Pros: Sound quality Build quality

Cons: Limited USB port

Crutchfield response on

16 of 19 found this helpful

CD Elixir

Gus from TORONTO CANADA on 11/6/2020

Verified customer (What's this?)
Verified employee review (What's this?)

You can teach old CD,S new tricks,Unbelievable Punchy bass (no boom ) highs and mid-range are alive at any volume.A well built solid feel to all functions and operations. Love it I have listened to some of the tunes for almost sixty years and am hearing things never heard before. Fantastic KUDOS Marantz. Buy it before Marantz realizes the mistake they made on the price.

Pros: Can not think of any thing bad

Cons: My cabinet is black and it disappears.

Crutchfield response on

22 of 25 found this helpful

Compare the sound